We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quite spot in busy Chiang Rai”
Review of Ben Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ben Guesthouse
Ranked #16 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A quite spot in busy Chiang Rai”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We went to Ben Guest house because of the blurb in Lonely Plant. What a very nice place, great clean pool and rooms. The staff were friendly and helpful too. Through them we were put in touch with Big, who I believe is their cousin or something. We hired Big as a guide for the day. I have to say what a winning guy! Really good english, knowledgeble, good sense of humor and also a very interesting man in his own right. He was such a nice person to spend the day with. We were two almost-40 year old single woman on a girls holiday and not for a minute did we feel uneasy or uncomfortable. He was very professional, but relaxed at the same time. We custom made our trip and it was no problem. The clean, comfortable car with air con was a real bonus too. Thank you, Big!

Room Tip: The rooms are functional and clean, and in my view offered excellent value for money. If you are ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShelleyStans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    87
    46
    25
    8
See reviews for
29
87
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

I don't really understand why people wrote horrible reviews about this place...we stayed6 6 days and we had lovely time...room nice and clean, food from restaurant good, perfect location and nice stuff. Wi fi working everywhere and they have swimming pool as well. So I would def come back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babsy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Yes, there is a problem with the location, especially in very hot weather.

There are many good eating places, right near there. And drinking places.

We are hard-bitten old travelers, and were able to walk easily around there.

The staff at the Ben were gracious and friendly, on our seven-night stay.

--


--

Room Tip: Choose an upscale room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YakkinYeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Rooms are cheap but dark, small and loud. Agree with other reviews that the staff aren't super friendly or helpful, or around for that matter.
The food in the restaurant was pretty good, but service was inconsistent.
Lots of mosquitos and no nets or hooks for nets so we improvised.
Far away from most attractions, which for us didn't really matter because we only came to hike but definitely a hike from the night market and temple.
We would not stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravelingcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Unfriendly people are hard to find in Thailand, but we found them in Ben guesthouse.
The room was smelly and full of mosquito's, the toilet was broken and the shower didn’t work properly. The wifi didn't work properly either and the food at the restaurant was not good at all.
This could all be overcome if the staff (except for a few) wouldn't have been so unfriendly, unhelpful and even rude.
The lonely planet recommendation that this was the best budget place in the north of Thailand is absolutely not true. Avoid this place and look for a better one.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M_en_M2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Rai hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

The place looks nice from outside, the staff are patient and friendly, the rooms are clean.

However, the first night was bad as we were given 2 rooms  with a very thin wall. We could hear every move, all the talk, and the  morning coughs from our next door neighbor. So the next morning we asked to move. We were upgraded with a little bit top up. The noise situation was much better. However, the rooms were dark (same as the other ones we were in) and the bathrooms were old and didn't look that clean. 

The pool, though looks clean, it is near the street and the guesthouse's parking space. This means that if you are a bit shy, you might not be using it.

With 850 baht (around US $ 28) a night for the " better rooms", I am pretty sure you can get better rooms somewhere else (and maybe with breakfast).

Though the location is not far from the night market, I doubt that I'll come back to Ben Gueshouse.

Room Tip: Better rooms are room no. 24, 25, 26, 27 ( upstairs). Rooms with noises are those in the wooden buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nuangnoi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
601 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Stayed here one night to visit the white and black temple. The room itself is comfortable, and the shower is hot and has good water pressure. The hotel restaurant is good and the prices are reasonable. While we didn't use it, the pool looked lovely. My only complaint about the hotel is that it's in the middle of no where. Booking websites state that it takes 15 mins walking from the hotel to the city center but we made it in 28 minutes (to the clock tower) and getting around (walking) is very difficult since the city has almost no street signs (in any language) , especially in the area where the hotel is (back roads). The down town area has some signs. There are no other restaurants within walking distance. The staff wasn't very helpful in getting us a tuk-tuk to the temples, they were only interested in selling us their tours which didn't go everywhere we wanted to go. A tuk-tuk from Bus Terminal One cost us 60 baht, to Bus Terminal Two its 100 baht (we asked several tuk-tuks and shared taxis and they all stated the same price and wouldn't budge). The Internet was also slow.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
2.0 mi away
Meesuk Residence
Meesuk Residence
#25 of 108 in Chiang Rai
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lek House
Lek House
#47 of 108 in Chiang Rai
90 reviews
0.7 mi away
The North Hotel
The North Hotel
#40 of 108 in Chiang Rai
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Golden land hotel
Golden land hotel
#64 of 108 in Chiang Rai
14 reviews
1.0 mi away
PAN KLED VILLA eco hill resort
PAN KLED VILLA eco hill resort
#28 of 108 in Chiang Rai
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
B2 Chiang Rai
B2 Chiang Rai
#32 of 108 in Chiang Rai
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Guesthouse

Property: Ben Guesthouse
Address: 351/10 Soi 4, Sankhong Noi Road, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ben Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing