We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ben Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Le Patta(Chiang Rai)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nak Nakara(Chiang Rai)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$35
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Pine Resort(Chiang Rai)
US$44
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
49
90
48
26
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
90
48
26
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolguest housenice poolbit out of the wayvery nice place to staystayed here for nightsclock towerrooms are basiclow seasonmin walkhot waterwhite templetowntaxifridgethbagoda
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed at Ben GH approx 4 years ago and the management/owner were great but not this time around the new owners are Thai/Chinese and are not as helpful. The garden and surrounds are very nice, the pool is good but when we stayed over a weekend most of the time is was closed due to cleaning why not do this on a week day when it could be a bit quieter. At the time of booking our stay with them they had advertised free transport to the bus station when departing the guest house, this has been removed from the website now because they cannot offer that service without charging. The cable TV has very bad reception and is a waste of time switching it on. I know if I come back for a visit to Chiang Rai a next time I will not be staying there for a third time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SabaideeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We loved this little gem. It was spotless. The staff were great. It had an okay on site restaurant. There was a nice pool to cool off in after a day's exploring. It was only 10 minutes walk into town.
The beds were clean and comfortable. No problems to get extra pillows and towels.

Room Tip: Highly recommend Ben's. It is value on every level. We would go back if we return to Chiang Rai
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janlorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

It s a clean guesthouse that all the tuk tuk know! Which is very convenient. The place is quiet unless u sleep next to a group of american girls watching katy perry s concert on their laptop! However the management is greedy and hey will not help you unless u pay for the sevice! I had to walk with heavy luggage because I didn t want to pay 30 bahts (no more money) to call a tuk tuk... I asked for hot water and I was wondering if they would make me pay for that! The breakfast is not included and I would suggest to have it outside the guest house. I was satisfied by this place but I am sure you can find better places in chiang rai (with a more helpful management).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BabyCParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We loved this place. We booked here cos I stayed here 20plus years ago – well it is pretty much the same, but the surroundings have changed – it used to be surrounded by fields – now it is surrounded by guest houses. Staff are lovely and we arranged tours and cars & drivers and all good. We booked best room – VIP – about $39 AUS – we had a nice bedroom and a really big lounge room with extra TV, and balcony. Because most travellers probably don’t want to pay for VIP, we really had the whole floor to ourselves. Nice pool, and although out of town, staff were happy to get us a taxi or tuktuk whenever requested. Pool is wonderful – but, many people from other guesthouses would come to the pool in the afternoon. Also – when we stayed, they were obviously trying to make some extra cash – so every afternoon the pool was filled with young children having their swimming lessons. We ate here one night, when we had had a big day, food is poor, it seems the local staff will make you some noodles, but really, not good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SampaulMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We're a family of 5 and we stayed at Ben Guesthouse for 2 nights in August 2013. It's a great place and the staff is friendly. A little way away from the shops and restaurants (about 20mns walk) and in a quiet location. It has a nice swimming pool and the facilities are basic but clean. At about 17-18GBP per room per night, it's excellent value. Breakfast is not included but the menu choice and prices are very good. We would recommended it. Don't miss the clock tower in the centre of Chiang Rai !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gilles V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews