We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed holiday spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Homestay-Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

It is always a pleasure to stay with Toony, Phaet and their lovely two children. The home stay is a nice villa with four rooms and two bungalows with another three rooms. The house is surrounded by a beautiful garden and has a swimming pool. Remember it is a home stay and not a hotel, but most of the time you won't be able to spot the difference. Phaet is an excellent hostess who wants to make your stay a welcome and comfortable one. Toony is very good at directing you to place to visit. They rent bicycles and motorbikes. And although the home stay is well out of the centre of Chiangrai, you don't have to leave the premises as they meals they serve are great. Breakfast is included and enormous. Any complaints? Just tell Toony and he will fix it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nico_Jong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here 8 nights and had a fabulous time. It is in a quiet suburb of Chiang Rai with private residences all around it and beyond rice paddies, countryside and its own temple at the base of an enormous hill.

The place began as Tony and Pat's own home which they extended by building wooden bungalow's in the grounds and letting rooms in the house and the bungalows out to tourists. I think it only has about 7 beds and if you stay here, Pat will make sure you are involved with everything and everyone! She is a great hostess with a priceless sense of humour and gets everyone talking to everyone else. It is so small and friendly! This is the first B&B I have been to where all the guests get to know and talk to everyone else no matter what nationality they were without any constraint at all. Having said that, if you want your own space you can have that too.

The pool and the garden are fabulous - trees, palms, wonderfully coloured flowers and shrubs everywhere - it just makes you want to stay and relax. Breakfast is served on the outside verandah and is cooked to order and very generous. Pat also does lunch and dinner - Thai and western dishes - but I recommend you have her Thai meals which are sooo delicious and very reasonably priced. She will make them as spicy as you want them to be - or not if you don't like it. They were so nice we ate there 5 times out of 8 nights. Soft and alcoholic drinks are available all day. We stayed in a de-luxe bungalow which was roomy, had cable TV, DVD, fridge and mini bar, air con and a fan. There are mosquito nets over the windows in the roomy bathroom - take some repellant as I found there were lots of mosquito's in the northern part of Thailand even in February. It is quite cool at night in early Feb so a light cardigan is also a good idea. The rooms are cleaned daily and water is provided free.

It's probably too far to walk into Chiang Rai but Tony will take you into town twice a day and you make your own way back (tuk tuk about 100 -150 baht). In fact, Tony or Pat will go the extra mile for you if you need it - a guest had a tummy bug and was laid up for a couple of days so Pat went into town and got him some medicines and arranged his bus ticket back to Chiang Mai as he couldn't do it himself. We had to spend a night in Chiangrai on our last night and Tony took us there and hung around until we had booked in and everything was sorted. Lovely personal service if you need it.

Please be aware before you book about how far out of town it is - if you want to walk into Chiang Rai or be near to it this may not be for you. However, if you want a peaceful holiday outside town, with no pollution from tuk tuks etc, and the serenade of chanting monks at sunset every night it very definately IS the place for you. I know we loved it and will be back.

Room Tip: If you only want to stay for a few nights then the indoor rooms are fine. If you want to stay longe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

A nice house with a swimming pool and terrace amidst a lush tropical garden. A spacious and comfortable room with a great bed. Owners Tony & Pat are absolutely charming. Oh and the breakfast is great too! I can only recommend

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stefco213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

The rooms were very clean, location unbelievable with views on the mountains and a big temple, very nice tropical garden with a beautiful swimming pool, very quiet, good breakfast. The owners (a Dutch guy with his Thai wife) both very friendly and helpful. We received even without asking a map of the region with useful tips. I wish all home stays were like this one!:)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kateryna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is our second stay at this beautiful place, first time 2 days and this time for 5 days. And again we enjoy every day, even if the weather was cloudy .
Phaet you are and fantastic host and helpful, we feel that you will do enyting for us.the food you make is super, the rooms are good and big
Toony you is so helpful to arranging tours.
The wiew from the restaurant is very nice,the pool is fine
Again thanks to all your staff.
We hope that we one day will come back again.
We can only recomment this place

Room Tip: This is our second stay at this beautiful place, first time 2 days and this time for 5 days. And aga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsten J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed for 10 days with our two kids 6 and 3 and had a wonderful time. Tony and pat are very welcoming and accommodating, local knowledge is really helpful when exploring the area! We took the bikes and followed the maps provide and had the best time with the kids travelling through rice paddies and small village lane ways - a highlight of our trip to Northern Thailand. The kids where excited to see a swing set after six weeks travel in Asia and also enjoyed the pool. The breakfast here is fantastic, very generous serves and tasty food for dinner too. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JaneE550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

It is always easy to write a good review. Everything about HSCR is great, from the location, to the vistas, to the service, grounds, rooms, owners, etc. We are a family with young children, and we felt very welcome. There are swings, a hammock, a couple balls, a little yard, bikes with kids' seats and a nice, very clean pool, with even a little sectioned off bit for little ones. Across from the property is a lovely rice field and a little limestone mountain complete with a temple at its feet. You can hear the monks chanting at night along with the crickets and frogs. Biking/ walking around the area is dreamy, with all the friendly locals, quiet lanes, river nearby, and pretty agricultural fields, from fruit orchards, to rubber trees, to corn and more. Toony and his wife provide undying hospitality at a level not only expected but beyond. it is so appreciated, because this is not always a given. HSCR is an excellent value bc you get what you pay for yet even more. We wish we could have stayed longer than our 5 nights there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lyndel1374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
3.6 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
770 reviews
4.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
2.8 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
4.0 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 108 in Chiang Rai
1,014 reviews
3.6 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 108 in Chiang Rai
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestay-Chiang Rai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestay-Chiang Rai

Address: Soi 5 nr 240 Ban Hong O, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 157 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Rai
Price Range: £25 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Homestay-Chiang Rai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Homestay-Chiang Rai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestay-Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing