We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing homely about this House”
Review of Jansom House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Rai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jansom House
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I absolutely agree with joshkinnersley's review. I too was persuaded to try the Jansom House on the strength of its glowing review in Lonely Planet which claimed it had "spotless, spacious rooms" and was "excellent value."
That was not my experience. I had a very basic, rather grubby, average-sized room with a poky, en-suite shower room. For what was offered, I thought it represented poor value especially when, for the equivalent of UK£3 a night more, you could stay at the modern, comfortable and welcoming Diamond Park Inn, two minutes' s walk away - which I moved to the following day. Literally within an hour of my arrival, I was planning my escape. I hadn't been impressed with the unwelcoming woman on reception - the sort who make you feel as if they're doing you a favour by offering you a room. As for breakfast: it was a case of help-yourself to instant coffee, toast, butter, marmalade - and a banana. The whole attitude of the guesthouse seemed to be: take it or leave it. To which my advice to other travellers would be: leave it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pcl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Jansom House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Chiang Rai and headed to Jansom Guest House, upon the recommendation of Lonely Planet. We thought they were quite generous with their glowing review. We were greeted by a miserable receptionist, who remained equally glum and rude from arrival until check out. Our room was basic, gloomy and smelt a bit damp. We had high hopes for the free breakfast, but this was just a banana and DIY toast and marmalade. Not a terrible place to stay, but certainly much better options in the area and didn't live up to the misleading Lonely Planet review.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank joshkinnersley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

A few of us stayed here on a golf trip & the location was spot on, at the end of the road from the main bar area.
Whilst I wouldn't give it 4 star (TA very good), for the price it is better than average.
For 500bt a night I feel some people expect too much. The bedding was clean, mattress surprisingly wasn't rock hard, shower was reasonable & according to my mates, tv had some Western channels. There is also free wifi, which some expensive international hotels don't offer for free. Basic tea/coffee & toast & jam & banana's for breakfast. My room could have done with a lick of paint, but that was about the only negative.
There isn't alot of room to park if you're in a car. Laundry shop diagonally across the road.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the temple, or you may wake at about 5am.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ningaloo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Good area, basic rooms, they smell a bit. Nothing fancy, but cheap and cheerful. If you're looking for a basic place to stay that won't strain your wallet then this will do. It needs work, but you're not paying so much.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Aarnold L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Location given you get what you pay for, not more, not less.
Room basic, bed bad matrace, bathroom to asian standards, hot water if not in peak hours.
Staff could be more friendly and give a smile, but they are not unfriendly.
Basic set breakfast, self servive, in new build room, clean.
Booked a private tour, was good car and good driver with good english. Recommended!

Room Tip: Higher floors are nicer!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Werner r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

rather clean, wifi working very bad, breeakfast "free" is just bread, marmelade and banana. Staff very unpolite when see that u dont want to make trekking with them. Lonely planest suggests it as incredibly clean..well..just an old hotel, rather clean

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikolo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, 2 mins from night life, 5 mins for night bazaars.

The hotel is clean but would be due for a little refresh. (A bit of moisture between tiles in bathroom)

Personal are nice but no extra.

The price was ok for me (550 THB) AC, hot water including breakfast: coffee, toast, jam, banana.

Because of location, I think it a good option for people are in Chiang Rai for a short periods.


Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Honesty5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercy Hostel
Mercy Hostel
#3 of 149 in Chiang Rai
241 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
11.4 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
751 reviews
0.6 mi away
Laluna Hotel and Resort
Laluna Hotel and Resort
#8 of 109 in Chiang Rai
867 reviews
3.7 mi away
Jansupar Court
Jansupar Court
#12 of 149 in Chiang Rai
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jansom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jansom House

Address: 597 Jedyod Rd, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 149 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Rai
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Jansom House Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing