We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful retreat in Chiang Rai”
Review of Baan Rub Aroon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baan Rub Aroon
Ranked #16 of 172 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A wonderful retreat in Chiang Rai”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Baan Rub Aroon was our favorite place in Chiang Rai. It is an island of charm and grace in a highly commercial city virtually devoid of both. Located on a relatively quiet side street on the leafy north side of town, it is an easy, pleasant walk from all the worthwhile temples and the fascinating Hill Tribes Museum, and within reach of the gaudy clock tower and tacky tourist area around the old bus station and night market.

You stay in a classic old Thai home with hardwood floors, high ceilings and shared baths or in new cottage rooms with private baths, including a decent breakfast and use of bicycles. You are surrounded by lovely gardens, the work of the helpful owner, Nong, who treats you as if you were a guest in her own home, which in fact you are. Prices start at 650 baht. There are cheaper places, but few better values.

At check in, Nong will give you a map of local sights, places to eat, including great Thai cafeterias, and instructions on how to reach some of the many out-of-town attractions.

Most of our outings in Chiang Rai, where kitsch trumps culture, were a disappointment, so it was a relief to return each evening to style and good taste at Ban Rub Aroon.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our stay on the second floor of the house. The shared bath is quite nice and there are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juwart01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    45
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
58
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed at this quaint guesthouse for a night. The owner who speaks very good English was ultra helpful and ensured that we were comfortable. This restored colonial house has a homely feel about it and all rooms were large as well as being immaculate. Rooms were very comfortable and after having complimentary use of her mountain bikes, we slept extremely well. Breakfast is served on the veranda which overlooks a large lush garden. I felt the owner treated us more like family rather than guests. I would definitely return to Baan Rub Aroon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

There are plenty of 400-500 baht joints within walking distance of the clock tower, but for about double (can you say thirty bucks?) the BRA has enough character to offset the expense. A quiet street, big trees, well landscaped premises, and comfy beds. Choose the main house rooms with lots of glass windows or the main level separate private rooms....either way, you'll feel safe and cozy. Breakfast is good, motorbikes are young and strong, free bicycles ride well.

The owner speaks good English and knows the area pretty well. Just one word of caution....if you request a tour, insist hat the guide speaks English very well and will educate you along the way. We were disappointed with her choice of guides....he was a one word wonder who turned out to be ...essentially; a driver.

Room Tip: If you don't mind shared bathrooms, the main house is appealing and homey. Otherwise ask for a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onetwor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

This little guesthouse is just lovely - great location, clean rooms and communal areas, friendly staff and excellent value for money. Bathrooms are shared but this is really not an issue as they are kept really clean. We paid around 2100 baht for a twin room for 4 nights and I don't have a bad word to say about this guesthouse. A lovely little sanctuary within the city of chiang rai. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahMoore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We recently stayed four nights at Baan Rub Aroon and we loved it. The first two nights were in a upstairs room in the main house with a shared bathroom. All spotlessly clean and a lovely ambience with the timber floors and shutters. There are also two outside terraces on this level. Then, because we decided to extend our stay, we moved to one of the new rooms in the garden. These rooms have ensuite bathrooms and a nice outlook into the wonderful garden. The beds in both rooms were extremely comfortable. Guests have access to the kitchen anytime and each morning breakfast was served on the front verandah. There was something different each day and always delicious. Nong, the host, is very friendly and extremely helpful. She recommended a Thai massage with herbal compress at a nearby Wat and it was excellent. On our last day she even drove us to the bus station. The location of Baan Rub Aroon is perfect, we walked all over Chiang Rai from there and we were always happy to come back to our lovely home. We would definitely stay here again. Thank you Nong.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kookyrooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights because we had to take our flight, but definetely we would like to stay for ever. The house is big, comfortable and has a good location. Bathrooms and rooms are very clean. Also you can use the kitchen if you want to cook yourself. The staff is so friendly. We had the best time!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Javieralopez85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed at Baan Rub Aroon for three nights and had a great time. If you look online it appears that there are only room available in the large guesthouse, but when I called the proprietor Nong told me that 2 new rooms had recently been built as a standalone unit in the garden. For 1000 bht you get a nice big clean room, comfy bed, AC, and private bathroom with ample hot water. We stayed in room #7.

Nong also gave us lots of useful information, such as where to find food late at night (a 5 min walk away), places to visit during the day (like the 'Black Houses' and White Temple). She also helped us arrange a motorbike rental and cooking class at Cook Thai Yourself (see my other review).

The only downside I can think of was the breakfast, which is a little boring (toast and eggs).

Overall we had a great time and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room #7 and #8 are the new ones with private bathrooms. Try calling to book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jesse and Britt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.6 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
702 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 109 in Chiang Rai
491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ben Guesthouse
Ben Guesthouse
#21 of 109 in Chiang Rai
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baan Bua Guesthouse
Baan Bua Guesthouse
#14 of 172 in Chiang Rai
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chiang Rai Hotel
Chiang Rai Hotel
#8 of 172 in Chiang Rai
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Norn Plearn
Baan Norn Plearn
#10 of 172 in Chiang Rai
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Rub Aroon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Rub Aroon

Property: Baan Rub Aroon
Address: 65 Ngam-muang Road | Tumbol Wieng, Aumphur Muang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chiang Rai, this cosy, clean and affordable guest house is nothing less than amazing. It boasts a beautiful garden which surrounds the city premises and creates a harmonic, peaceful and tranquil atmosphere, thus, making it one of the most livable destinations in Chiang Rai. Baan Rub Aroon - one of the best accommodations in Chiang Rai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Baan Rub Aroon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing