We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambiance, good staff”
Review of Salungkham Cuisine

Salungkham Cuisine
Ranked #66 of 345 Restaurants in Chiang Rai
Cuisines: Thai
Description: Large local BBQ type restuarant in Chiang Rai, with indoor and outdoor dining and outdoor grill area, which I ate at in December 09 and April 2010. Phone is 0-5371-7192 and fax is 0-5360-2155. Judy LaBuda (Chiang Rai DE)
Restaurant details
Description: Large local BBQ type restuarant in Chiang Rai, with indoor and outdoor dining and outdoor grill area, which I ate at in December 09 and April 2010. Phone is 0-5371-7192 and fax is 0-5360-2155. Judy LaBuda (Chiang Rai DE)
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We had lunch here - just walked past and found it. Good food (not outstanding but that might be our choices) - fast service; nice outdoor seating area and the BBQ looked great but we coulnt figure out how to order any of it. Not a great deal of English spoken.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fairhsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is a very busy restaurant! Loads of local should incite you to go but in Thailand, locals eat everywhere. The food is good to very good and typical northern. The staff was very young but good attentive. Only downside is they wouldn't let us pay by credit card for less than 700 baht (our bill was 695)...

Thank wakeuptoreality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Ate here twice during my 5 night stay in Chiang Rai on the recommendation of my hotel (The Legend).

First time on October 29, 2013 and it was AMAZING!
Started w/ the Northern Thai style spare ribs and had the medium hot Green Curry for my main entree. Flavors were excellent & medium hot was just at the edge of my heat tolerance. Singha beer helped take the edge off, as did the ice cream for dessert.

Staff was very friendly but seemed inexperienced in dealing with non-Thai diners, which seemed odd because the menu did have accurate English translation which we found extremely helpful (my friend and I were the only Western diners that evening).

Second meal was on November 1, 2013 and again food was excellent and prices were a bargain. Staff still seemed perplexed, though the manager(?) did recognize us from our previous dinner a few days before and helped us through the ordering process.

A quick cab ride from hotel and would highly recommend this restaurant for a slice of REAL Northern Thai dining to those visiting Chiang Rai.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank victrometer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The meal was delicious, the staff was friendly and helpful and it was a great evening. We wanted to sit in the garden, but the rain forced us inside. There was a very large number of choices to pick from and all were great. The frog legs were finger lickin' good!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This place was highly recommended by most gastonome and local chiangrai. Typical northern architectural building & decor. Food taste good, service was fast & attentive and furthermore, not too hot for tourist. give thumb up..

Thank ANDAMANPhuket_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salungkham Cuisine also viewed

Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 

Been to Salungkham Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing