We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised :)”
Review of coconut's bar

coconut's bar
Ranked #137 of 274 Restaurants in Chiang Rai
Cuisines: Bar, Thai, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: excellent english breakfasts, dinners, sunday roasts, salads, chillies, & the chunky chips are fantastic, very friendly & the owner is english & called kevin, establishment very clean, staff english speaking, pool table & different events for expats, every culture welcome.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised :)”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Just had a yellow curry here and it was delicious!! They play a great mix of modern easy listening music. The pool table was entertaining for my son and husband. Service was good and wifi worked well. Thanks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank morrowfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    16
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast, Fast Wifi”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Yes the place is a bit pricey but the breakfast is quite good, free coffee refills, the wifi is fast and reliable and we actually found the staff (gail?) to be quite friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyrannosaurus_Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expensive drinks and bad tasting food.”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I understand that bars need to make a profit but this bar's mark-ups are unreasonable. It costs almost the same to drink at the Dusit, which is a 4 star hotel! The food is the usual rubbish you find in Thai bars; cheap meat and tasteless sauce. The barmaid was very chatty with her friends, but was very cold to us. Don't worry, I will not inconvenience the staff again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank journeymanClive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad food. Bad service. Boring.”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Came here on our last night, and wish we hadn't. I ordered burger which came with burnt fries and was made with gristley meat. My partner ordered curry which contained rubbery meat and tasted of rancid coconut milk. Girl behind the bar did not look up from her phone, even when we were complaining about the food. It makes sense that we were the only ones in there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank hereandeverything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Very friendly place/bar”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Walking around lost after taxi driver took us to the wrong bar. Stopped and welcomed by the owner , Kevin , who made us feel very welcomed. We spend most nights at this bar as food was very good , reasonably priced and staff were very friendly. Well done Kevin !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Magpieman4361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed coconut's bar also viewed

Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 

Been to coconut's bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing