We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and a great price”
Review of Baan Bua Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baan Bua Homestay
Ranked #15 of 172 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Great staff and a great price”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed two nights in the dorms. The place was very clean and quiet. Each bed has a fan and an intact mosquito net. Toilets were spotless, and the shower was as well. No bed bugs :)

Upon arrival were greeted by the staff ("Pond" and "Be") who were very courteous and helpful. Their English skills were solid and they set us up with the dorm rooms in a snap. Not sure what others have complained about- no problems here! They also directed us to the night bazaar, the soccer stadium (go see Chiang Rai United), and various other locations around Chiang Rai. They even gave us some bartering tips :)

Overall, if you're looking for value on a small budget, this will not disappoint.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simmon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    55
    23
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
38
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

One of my friends had been here before and highly recommended staying here if visiting Chiang Rai - and I couldn't agree more! The homestay is located in the central part of the city, close to the main restaurants and bars and the train station.

The rooms themselves were lovely - decent size along with the ensuite and very cheerfully decorated, more than worth the price your paying. There's a downstairs table area where you can chill out as well as brochures to look through things to do (I would recommend that Thai Cooking class held by Suwanee). A lot of people stop in Chiang Rai when going to the border - Burma / Laos and this is a great location.

Will definitely be staying here again if I go back to Chiang Rai :D

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AP28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

Location is great - right near everything but tucked away in a quiet back street so no bar, traffic noise.

Owners are very helpful, polite and friendly. Spoke adequate English and offered advice.
Some other reviewers have complained about their English level... But who is in who's country here?

Room I was in was a good size. Has TV, aircon, barfridge. Was cleaned everyday with fresh towels, water soap etc.

It is an outdoor ensuite but it's nice, tiled and clean with hot water. Again - some reviewers complained about this but.. If you want everything just like at home, why bother travelling? Lol

I thought it was a good value stay for the price. Would stay here again.

The only con for me was a pretty hard mattress but some people like that!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisha_Kane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, BC, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Pros-Cheap, fairly clean place. Close to the center of town.
Cons-Ensuite bathroom is outside of structure of house. Very cold taking a shower in the morning. Staff can barely speak any English. Bed is quite hard. Breakfast is not included. You can get a better breakfast elsewhere.

Would not stay here again. We found other homestays close by that were way nicer for just a little bit more money.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiLuvsToTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Pros:
- Nice clean place.
- Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable

Cons:
- Private bathrooms were outside of the room, meaning you had to walk outside anytime you wanted to use the facilities.

Other reviewers complained about the noise. We could hear the neighboring room, but they weren't very loud so it wasn't an issue for us. We stayed in the 3 person room on the second floor. Overall an ok stay, but I would look for another place with ensuite bathroom if I went to Chiang Rai again. Staff didn't speak much E

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liveinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sion, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Simple place, good location, staff efficient but doesn't speak english that much. Clean rooms but cheap building, you hear everything.
But it's also what you wait for this kind of guesthouse.
You can reach the clock tower and the night market within 5 minutes by foot.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ridgeuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I have mixed reviews about this place. I'm currently on my 3rd night staying here and have one more to go. The rooms are small however well kept, with air conditioning in it each room. The beds however are very uncomfortable and I wake up every morning with a sore back.
Like others have said, the floor boards are loud and the walls are thin. You can hear everything, other guest upstairs can be inconsiderate and run on the floor boards which sends noise straight back down. The bathroom is outside with a garden bed which looks nice, but I found a little annoying as I always got bitten by mosquitoes while having a shower, cleaning teeth etc. I found I didn't want to spend more than a minute out there.
Having said that , the location is great, only a 5minute walk to night markets, and the service is wonderful. Clean rooms everyday and new water. However for 700baht a night, you could probably find somewhere better.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 109 in Chiang Rai
491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ben Guesthouse
Ben Guesthouse
#21 of 109 in Chiang Rai
206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 109 in Chiang Rai
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Bua Guesthouse
Baan Bua Guesthouse
#14 of 172 in Chiang Rai
219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chiang Rai Hotel
Chiang Rai Hotel
#8 of 172 in Chiang Rai
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Bua Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Bua Homestay

Property: Baan Bua Homestay
Address: 1047 / 2 Jedyod Road, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baan Bua Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing