We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nok's Garden Resort
Ranked #12 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the resort. Nok and Rudi are great hosts and served fantastic Thai cuisine. The location is in the middle of the forest and the bungalows are located at a very nice little pond. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobHKHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

Sitting on the porch of your bungalow, drinking a beer, and admiring the pond is a lovely way to relax after a day of touring the Chiang Rai area. Rudi is very personable and we enjoyed his stories of the area and of his travels. Nok is an excellent cook. Some of her meals were at the top of our dining experiences after three weeks of travel in SE Asia. We rented their motorbike and spent a day touring the countryside based on a map Rudi drew for us that morning at breakfast. The "restaurant" is more like a living room so you feel like you are eating dinner with the family. Rudi lit a fire after dinner which was nice to sit around and talk over plans for the next day.

For the price Nok's is a good deal. The bungalows are neat, but very basic. A firm bed, table, lamp and fan. The bathroom is like summer camp, cement brick walls with a sink, toilet and shower. The shower had just a thin stream of hot water. The bath towels were thin, but adequate.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamiepdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

If you are looking for a relaxing and beautiful setting, then this is it! The bungalows are simple and clean, with a nice front porch overlooking the pond and gardens. The meals were definitely a highlight. It was so nice not to have to worry about having to go out or decide where to eat, and the food was fantastic. It felt like you were joining Nok and Rudi in their home; they were so helpful and interesting to talk to. There are some interesting places to visit with an hour's drive, and the countryside is absolutely beautiful. I just wish we could have spent more time there. I hope to return to Thailand, and I would certainly go back to Nok's!

Room Tip: Each room is the same size, but be sure to be specific about your bed requirements (twins or double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hinda880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We had the pleasure of staying 3 nights at Nok's and couldn't be happier. Set around a beautiful and serene garden and pond, the bungalows are very spacious and well maintained, and each is set apart for guest's privacy. Nok, Rudi and Martina do make you feel like one of the family and it's great eating meals in the communal area to chat with them and other guests. Nok is a fantastic cook - her Thai meals are fresh and tasty and very generous serves too! The surrounding area is beautiful and there are nice walks to take or there is a moto for hire if you like. Nok organised a fantastic day trip around Mae Salong area for us and another guest and came along for the day and it was a pleasure sharing stories and laughs.

We have been travelling around Thailand for 10 weeks and Nok's is a highlight. Thank ypu for looking after the two Aussie boys and we hope to see you again!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank chookas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Nok and Rudi simply couldn't be more helpful. Nothing is a bother and they really went out of their way to help - whether it was arranging a massage or taking me to change money. The evening meals were fantastic and the bungalows are in an idyllic setting. It's a very friendly set up and they do a really good job in treating their guests like an extended family. It was a great first stop in Thailand to relax and get over the jet-lag.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

All I can do is repeat all the praise that has gone before.
Great price, lovely food and homely welcome.
Do not go expecting 5star, it's perfect but in a basic way, and Rudi and Nok do everything they can to accommodate.
Walk around the village and hang out with the locals or hire mopeds and head out to the surrounding towns or go on a tour with Nok etc

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Jens2589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We looked for a 1 night stay close to the temple we wanted to visit the next day. I believe it was the coldest night of the year, but Rudi made a fire
in the big livingroom/restaurant, where all the guest sat at the big table, enjoying the simple but tastful food of Khun Nok. Early morning we had breakfast at 6.30. We were supriced by the low cost of this short but nice stay.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ceesentheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
2.7 mi away
Rimchan Resort Hotel
Rimchan Resort Hotel
#49 of 108 in Chiang Rai
9 reviews
14.8 mi away
PAN KLED VILLA eco hill resort
PAN KLED VILLA eco hill resort
#15 of 108 in Chiang Rai
48 reviews
14.3 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#3 of 108 in Chiang Rai
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Meesuk Residence
Meesuk Residence
#25 of 108 in Chiang Rai
24 reviews
13.3 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
903 reviews
12.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nok's Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nok's Garden Resort

Address: 193 Baan Bo Thong, Soi 6 Phaholyothin Rd | T. Thasud, A. Muang, Chiang Rai 57100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range: £19 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nok's Garden Resort is an idyllic, spacious (8000 sqm), quiet and peaceful resort in Northern Thailand which was opened in December 2007. Our staff speak fluent English, Thai - ภาษาไทย, Spanish - Espanol, German - Deutsch, Italian - Italiano, Dutch - Nederlands. The resort is surrounded by teak and bamboo forest, fruit and grain plantations (orange, pineapple, rice, soybean) and the Doi Nang Lae Mountain Range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Nok's Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing