We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place and value for the room”
Review of Baan Warabordee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baan Warabordee
Ranked #20 of 165 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place and value for the room”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The place has a great location as it is just a 5 to 10 minutes walk to the bus terminal and night bazaar. There are also great eateries along the same street. The shop at the corner of the road opens till late at night in case you hunger for a late night supper. It is off the main road, down a quiet lane, so the surrounding is quite peaceful but also means that walking back in the dark when it gets too late.

Room and bathroom are clean and wifi is free with good connectivity. There are some work going on in the day but if you are out sight seeing like me, it doesn't really bother you.

I've got a double bedroom for 500 baht which is spacious for me. Totally worth it even though there is no breakfast included. But you can get any good food once you step out to the main street.

The staffs are helpful suggesting to me places of interests in the city and how to get from place to place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YzWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    41
    22
    9
    1
See reviews for
11
52
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

A friend and I was on a 2-night trip to Chiang Rai and off the bus, we started looking for the nearest accommodation. We started with Chote Home Gallery at the end of the road, they offered a double bedroom for 500-baht but the lobby looked really dodgy that we passed the offer. We tracked back to the next guesthouse, Baan Malai which offered the same room for the same price. The room looked great but it's only available for 1 night.

In the end, we went to the opposite guesthouse, Baan Warabordee and got a double bedroom for 500-baht per night. The room came with 2 single beds, air-conditioner, bathroom with hot shower, a small television, a mini fridge and free wifi. Towels were provided and rooms are cleaned daily.

Positives:
- Clean room
- Very comfortable beds
- Located near the bus station and night bazaar
- Helpful staff

Negatives:
- Breakfast not provided although coffee/tea's free

There might be cheaper alternatives if you care to look around but having that said, if I'm going back to Chiang Rai, I wouldn't hesitate to stay in Baan Warabordee again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Xien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at Baan Warabordee for just one night while on our way to the Laos border, and we were very pleasantly surprised! It was beautiful with a cute garden and a lovely place to sit. There was internet access in the lobby and the staff were incredibly friendly and easy-going. The room was very clean and nice, the bed was super comfy and the bathroom was nice and clean. The place is a couple minutes walking from the very center of town, so it's a great location, and we felt quite safe. We'd definitely recommend it to other travelers!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lkelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The place is clean and quiet, and only a few blocks from the bus station. However, they overcharge in comparison to other equally nice places and then charge extra for wifi, extra towel etc... They do have A/C for 100THB extra and prices were cheaper for those coming on same day vs. people who book ahead. Parking is available if you have a car.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHY1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed at Baan Warabordee for one night only. The best feature is its location as it's 7 minutes walk away from the bus station and night bazaar and on a quiet residential street. The rooms were fine, if unexciting, and had AC, fridge and cable TV; the bathrooms could do with a little updating. Even though this was budget-priced, it did not seem particularly good value for money compared to similar guesthouses we'd seen in Chiang Mai as breakfast was not available on the premises and wifi was charged extra. Overall, fine for a night or two...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2012

A great little guesthouse with helpful staff who help you to organise drivers and tours if you wish. Clean, pleasant rooms and a courtyard garden. It is very popular so well worth booking ahead. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Triple rooms were large, with a big fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimnkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
134 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Overall, a nice small low-budget hotel, with beautiful courtyards and nice rooms. Unlike some of the other cheap hotels we stayed at during our trip, this hotel had lots of character and charm. We'd definitely stay here again. The only downsides: no breakfast (buffet at the fancy hotel down the road was decent, or plenty of street vendors around), and the location was down a long back road which was pretty dark at night. That being said, lots of the city was still easily walkable despite the final road walk.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheInternationalLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.8 mi away
Ben Guesthouse
Ben Guesthouse
#21 of 109 in Chiang Rai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wiang Inn Hotel
Wiang Inn Hotel
#13 of 109 in Chiang Rai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.2 mi away
The North Hotel
The North Hotel
#36 of 109 in Chiang Rai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 109 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baan Bua Guesthouse
Baan Bua Guesthouse
#14 of 165 in Chiang Rai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grandma Kaew House
Grandma Kaew House
#3 of 165 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Warabordee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Warabordee

Property: Baan Warabordee
Address: 59/1 Moo 18 Soi Sinpanhart,Phahol Yothin Road | Rop Wiang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Warabordee 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baan Warabordee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing