We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little city retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baan Soontree Resort
Ranked #20 of 172 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Lovely little city retreat”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

This hotel is a lovely little urban retreat - not in the centre of Chiang Rai but close enough to walk to the centre or a short tuktuk ride. In return, you get a nice quiet location, lovely gardens, cute bungalow rooms, super-friendly service, and a great, sunny pool. We would certainly stay here again if we are back in Chiang Rai in the future!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    36
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
34
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I stayed here for 1 night originally meant to be 3 but I checked out early. I stayed in a cottage with a garden (mainly car park) view, with car for transport.

The room was lovely, actually an amazing cottage, and it was clean. The bathroom area was oddly designed however as the bathroom area was the biggest I have seen in Asia, but there is no separated shower area it is one of those showers which gets the toilet wet too. This maybe would work ok, but the floor drain did not drain, so it flooded the entire bathroom floor and caused a disgusting mess - I let the hotel management know about this and hopefully they have rectified the plumbing issue, but with a bathroom this size there is plenty of room for a regular shower wall.

Wifi was good, TV had no English channels other than Fashion TV and something else I can't remember but not very watchable, and breakfast was ok - toast, fruit, coffee, eggs cooked to order that sort of thing. Pool looked nice but I didn't try it. Staff were nice and responsive.

The killer for me and reason for the overall poor rating is the location. This place (like a few others in the same area) is called a "resort" which conjures up certain grand images, but it is a suburban hotel albeit nicely appointed villas arranged around a carpark and pool (with a strange office building separating the car park from the pool which looks like a portakabin), built within a residential area to the East side of Route 1. There are no shops or eateries within walking distance that I would personally want to shop or eat in. It is located down a narrow brick-walled roadway, next door to homes and you will be waking up to a rooster or barking dogs. Route 1 is not a pleasant road it is an 8+ lane highway and the streets are very dark at night, you either have to drive or get a tuk tuk, I do not recommend walking to the city (and I don't recommend driving in Chiang Rai at night).

A comment on Chiang Rai city itself - I did not find much appealing or entertaining - I was able to find one side street with some bars but that's about it - its like Chiang Mai with the charming old city taken away, rather than an even more peaceful version of Chiang Mai. So if you are planning on staying in Chiang Rai I would not recommend staying in any of the hotels or "resorts" in town except for high-end places the river or for one night on the way through to elsewhere. For value, fresh air and comfort I would recommend staying out of town in one of the more rural hillside resorts.

Other than the bathroom plumbing issue, this property looks fabulous and shows itself well on the website so kudos for what the owners have tried to do here within the four walls of this small property - but once outside those four walls, I was very uncomfortable and unhappy with its location for more than one night.

Room Tip: ask for pool view. garden view overlook the carpark the garden is just a few plants no grass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ringspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We spent two nights here when in Chiang Rai. Lovely spacious room and bathroom, OK breakfast (enough choices for us including fruit and eggs), welcoming and very helpful staff. Short inexpensive tuk-tuk ride to city centre. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banglamung
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

A nice little resort in a quiet neighborhood of Chiang Mai; a bit hard to find however we managed it with the help of our GPS in the car and finally local tuk-tuk guys and enjoyed our stay. Swimming pool, nice and cozy room and proper parking and a good breakfast; everything was just fine.

Room Tip: Go for De-Luxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beersheba, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

we stayed at the resort for one night. Our room was big, clean and with good facilities. The shower was with hot water. The location of the resort is a bit outside the center of chaing rai so you will need to take a tuktuk to get there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

A traditional hotel but more like a group of apartments but charming and with good facilities. We had a separate bedroom, sitting room and bathroom for two people, more comfortable in terms of space than a hotel. The swimming pool was good and had a spa however was only turned on when requested. Well worth trying for a comfortable traditional experience, however transport an issue.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaroleAM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We stayed her 3 night. the hotel was booked via Agoda. Excellent rates.
Our bungalow located next to the pool was very clean and comfortable. This hotel is located in a very quite place. To reach the night market or any other places dowtown, people at the reception will call for you a tuk-tuk. It will cost you 80 baths and 5 to 10 minutes driving.
WiFi is free and high speed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philippe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.8 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
703 reviews
1.5 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 109 in Chiang Rai
175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 109 in Chiang Rai
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 109 in Chiang Rai
981 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hi Chiangrai Hotel
Hi Chiangrai Hotel
#14 of 109 in Chiang Rai
72 reviews
11.3 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Soontree Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Soontree Resort

Property: Baan Soontree Resort
Address: 47 / 6, Moo 12, Soi Bua Community Prasanmit, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Soontree Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Baan Soontree Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing