We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baan Soontree Resort
Ranked #19 of 181 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This place is a gem.

Quiet location. Excellent accommodation. Super clean, lots of gleaming woodwork. Lovely small pool, great little exercise room. Beautifully tended grounds. Friendly and hard working staff. Very good breakfasts. 20 minute walk (or easy tuktuk) to town centre and night bazaar area. Excellent WIFI.

Great value. Wish we could have stayed longer. Bravo.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

We recently spent 1 night at Baan soontree, Lovely breakfast and helpful, friendly staff, Very comfortable room ,Best value......
It's a peaceful place. Really enjoyed this hotel and would definitely return

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Super place to stay just a 15 minute walk from the center of town in a residential neighborhood. Jeep, our checkin receptionist was kind & efficient & spoke & understood english well. The rooms (we stayed in a bungalow), were spacious, spotlessly clean & well set out for traveller's needs. The included breakfast was sufficient: good coffee, fresh fruit, toast, croissants, cereal, jams, eggs cooked as you like, & hot choices of sausages/fried rice/vegetables that varied daily. The pool was spotless although too cold to swim during our stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit here & would highly recommend it.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Veematic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Our family stayed in this property and we all liked it.
My husband and I stayed in a larger bungalow with a cozy sitting room, and large bedroom.
The bed (not comfortable for me,) would be appreciated by those who like extremely hard mattresses. The bungalow and overall property was very clean and well maintained. The small pool looked inviting for a dip, though it was not warm enough to use. The staff was very friendly.
The breakfast was very limited, and as a vegetarian did not have much choice at all.
Normally this property would be quiet, however for both days we were there, it was noisy early in the morning and at night from a busload of other guests talking loudly outside. Yes it was not near the center of town, but that's what we wanted. Overall it was a good value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chickie-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We have stayed here several times. It is best to have your own transport to get to the resort but then you have found a nice and quiet place to relax still near to activities in the city. The only negative is that the breakfast is somewhat limited and has mostly pork dishes whereas we as family can not eat pork. The place has a nice swimming pool although somewhat cold in the winter.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Lovely tranquil setting, we found the receptionist Prai very helpful, always respectful with a warm smile, she was great in making suggestions for local food, keeping our luggage safe while we were out and ordering a taxi for us.

As far as the venue is concerned you would be better off having your own transport. I would come here again and again however next time I would hire a car.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Davedski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

A surprisingly great little property hidden off an alley. You pull in and enter a little oasis. Super clean pool, decent (but small) bfast buffet, and spacious, clean rooms with plenty of storage and very cold air conditioning! Each room is an independent bungalow, so you don't have to worry about next door noise. Not really walkable to much, but easy to get to everything with a scooter or tuk tuk. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiggerhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.5 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
197 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
768 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 108 in Chiang Rai
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hi Chiangrai Hotel
Hi Chiangrai Hotel
#9 of 108 in Chiang Rai
104 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
1.1 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 108 in Chiang Rai
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Soontree Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Soontree Resort

Address: 47 / 6, Moo 12, Soi Bua Community Prasanmit, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Price Range: £24 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Soontree Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Baan Soontree Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing