We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boomerang Rock Climbing and Adventure Park

Boomerang Rock Climbing and Adventure Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Many fun things to do: Rock Climbing (top rope), nearby cave trek, 2 zip lines (nearly 200 meters). Climbing for all levels (most visitors are beginners). All routes are top-rope (not bolted). Good quality equipment at site, except we don't stock climbing shoes - though regular tennies or shoes will suffice. The rock is limestone and routes are up to 17 meters. Management offers free ride to town when done. Since opening in 2010 we've kept our rates reasonably low, and have had no injuries. We get repeat visitors. It's a low-budget operation with minimum impact on natural environment. However, safety is #1 and meeting/exceeding challenges is #2. Advance booking recommended.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

There was a lots to see. The well equipped staff answers any questions. My family and I had an exciting time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    12
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We had a very raw but fun experience at Boomerang. This is an adventure park, Thai style. We hiked around the local area with a highlight being a real life bat cave. Our guide (Johnny) was eccentric to say the least. His English was a random stream of consciousness but entertaining nonetheless. The park itself lacks the kind of health safety that most places do in Thailand but in a way that made it more fun as we were allowed to use the facilities at our own pace and as much as we liked. The owner is laid back enough to encourage as much as possible rather than stick to a fixed time period. We all had a great time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mcmartybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brahmburbers, General Manager at Boomerang Rock Climbing and Adventure Park, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Glad to hear of another group having a enjoyable times. The laid-back atmosphere is part of the plan. There are no large red and white warning signs and no guard rails, but the underlying #1 concern is safety. Enjoyment, challenging outdoor activities, pushing your limits, ......are all close runner ups.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Good day - shame about the weather”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately there was a monsoon half way through the day so we couldn't climb in the afternoon but there was still lots to do.

We arrived about half an hour early and no one was there yet. Eventually a Thai guy who has a very interesting interpretation of English came and whisked us off on motorbikes to a nearby cave which we scrambled through. He had a continuous monologue of explanation about the surrounding area; the only bits I caught were "snakes", "mafia" and "opium".

He also took us to a Buddha cave where we found out our fortunes. My girlfriend has a bright future ahead of her, I apparently will not be so lucky.

When we got back to the boomerang site an hour later Ken was there (who was the guy we were supposed to meet) he introduced us to an American volunteer who took us climbing - really nice guy!

We climbed two routes then broke for lunch. The climbing was fun - lots of challenging routes up the mountain for varied abilities. Lunch consisted of fried bananas, yoghurt and pineapple. The utilities there are a bit basic - he used a rusty machete to cut the pineapple.

We then hiked around the mountain for a bit and went to a huge rope swing (AMAZING!) totally unique to Thailand I think.

There a fun zip line too. The rain meant we couldn't climb at all in afternoon which was a shame. Don't think I got value for money because of weather, but I think it's good otherwise.

Overall it's an interesting and fun experience - but very rough around the edges.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Birkhead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brahmburbers, Manager at Boomerang Rock Climbing and Adventure Park, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
We made the best of it considering there were some sprinkles for a bit. Even so, we got to do the zip lines twice and also did a 2nd go on the giant swing, besides all the other fun activities. Glee all around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great fun and nice people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Having just written this review on the day of my experience with this place I can gladly say that my volunteer group and I had lots of fun! The trip started out with a songthaew from bus station near the night bazaar which was probably the least exciting part of the little excursion. Our songthaew driver did not know the way to the park so he had to stop a few times to ask for directions. Meh, but for those taking tuktuks or songthaews know that the trip itself is about 15-20mins away from the station, so depending on your bargaining skills, it should only cost around $1-2.5 dollars equivalent in baht. Our songthaew driver saw that we were going to stay there for longer than an hour and wanted us to pay 60% of what we agreed prior with just the ride there(after agreeing before hand for him to drive us there, wait, and drive us back). Cali(not his actual name, but that's how I recall him because he is from california), the person whom runs the park, saw how the songthaew driving was trying to rip us off and offered us a rideback for free in his car. After talking to the songthaew driver and paying 50% of what we agreed originally for the ride there we started our trip. Tuesday and Lesser (rough thai translation of the names of the thai assistants) started leading us on our trip. Cali had recently fell down a roof and was bandaged and was holding a crutch, so he could not join us for most of the trek, but he still offered to drive us around. Tuesday whom spoke english pretty well was very helpful, he took us to Chiang Rai's beach which was kind of lackluster but eventually lead us to a big buddha statue which was a nice treat. After, we started entering caves near the beaches and trekked through them while taking pictures (the usual good fun stuff). WARNING: wear shoes that will give you some traction as some of the rocks can be slippery, not dangerous, but it will take a bit longer to climb through the caves. Then we heading back to the main camp to do some rock climbing, swinging, and zip lining. The rock climbing was good, fair to note that I am new to rock climbing so it was a little challenging, but a fellow volunteer of ours whom had experience with outdoor rock climbing(she's australian...big suprise>.>) did not have any issues with the rocks. We also got to climb without a rope, although it was not recommended to go high up, we went about half way up the cliff without a rope or a guide just for good fun. The guides constantly reminded us to be careful, and that even they have to be caution if going that high. We really just wanted an awesome view high up...it was=). After hiking back down we were tired and hungry, so Cali offered us yogurt, bananas, and rice cakes, even though it was not part of the agreement. He really does care for his customers. After the rockclimbing we went to the swings, as most of us were curious what this "big swing" was going to look like, so we had no idea what to expect. Once we finished, we hiked up a bit ultil we got to a few platforms on the side of the cliff with one near the base, the guides then connected safety ropes to the harness and were then supposed to jump off the platforms. I'm really not giving the swing justice, but take my words if you've read this much that, it was the highlight of the trip. I even lost my hat during the swing, but one of the assistants looked through the area and found it. After the swings there was zip lining which for anyone who has ever zip lined was standard and entertaining as any other zip line. It was not too long, but a lot faster than most. That marks the end of the excursion. Cali then told us about the showers near the main area, which were extremely useful in the hot temperatures of Northern Thailand. After packing up, the songthaew driver came back even though we told him not to and tried to negotiate a deal with us, we just told him no and got a ride from Cali. Boomerang Rock Climbing and Adventure Park is highly recommended to any adventurers wanting to have fun, but do not expect to be babied everywhere, this park is for those willing to jump off high platforms, zipline through an area extremely quickly, and climb through narrow areas in caves. If you are looking for a relaxing time you came to the wrong page, not to mention the wrong area. The experience was about 4 hours long, there weren't any other guests as it was low season. Cost is 600baht/person, groups are bargainable I believe(but the experience was so nice we all agreed that was 600 baht well spent). In fact after the ride back, we gave cali and extra 100 baht for gas and just because we wanted to. Enjoy your trip!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brahmburbers, General Manager at Boomerang Rock Climbing and Adventure Park, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
It's always good to hear from revelers having a safe and enjoyable time at Boomerang. He and his fellow group members are now official Boomerangutangs. Plus, taking a solar shower outdoors has got to be a unique add-on to any adventure park. Climb on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

I had a great time, it was a little big off the beaten track but our tuk tuk found it no problem. we got to do everything we wanted and it was such a thrill. i hadnt been rock climbing before so was a bit worried but i had no problems with and they were very helpful. There weren't many other people there so there was more time for you to do an activity without delays as well as one on one assistance

Helpful?
Thank jenn_starr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boomerang Rock Climbing and Adventure Park also viewed

Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 

Been to Boomerang Rock Climbing and Adventure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing