We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel in a good location - good for overnight stay”
Review of diamond park inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
diamond park inn
Ranked #66 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The hotel was in a good location - close to the city centre and within walking distance of the night market and bus station. The room was clean and the bathroom was a little on the small side but the bed was comfortable and we slept well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzieLee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stopped here to break up our trip from Burma border run. It was close to the night market, and our driver chose it. The room had lots of room for luggage to be stored.bed was comfy, but the padding underneath was stain ridden. Shower/bathroom space was very small, but they provided soap. The breakfast that was included the next morning was small and just ok. The coffee was horrible! Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Although the rooms are clean and I did sleep good, due to the weird attitude of the staff in regards to breakfast and hot water I will not come back here.

Location is good in the city centre and they have private parking. The all building is a bit old, as the rooms are also a bit old.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChangNoi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This place is far from the guest houses with personality that I prefer. It was impersonal and the type of place you would have expected to have stayed in on a school trip. It has a halls of residence type feel about it and noise echoes through the corridors. The rooms are boring, dated and could do with a fresh coat of paint. Even so, the place is clean and is not trying to be something it's not. The location is perfect and only a short walk to the night market and bar street. It served me perfectly fine as a crash pad for a few days but I wouldn't go back.

Also, there are two Diamond Park Inn's - this one being the hotel, and the other one with a pool just up the road. Owned by the same people and not far apart; the resort being slightly further from town up a side road. I considered transferring to the resort but decided to stay put in the hotel as I checked in late and didn't realise until the next morning. I didn't have any need for the pool during my short stay and my preference was the convenience of the main road location. Had I known before checking in, I probably would have moved.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjlovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

rooms were basic but clean. Bed comfortable. Staff in hotel friendly. Toilet facilites were based on a wet room but no problem with hot water - had to be careful as floor was very slippery for a while after showering.Lighting in rooms could have been brighter. The breakfast was disappointing, the catering staff were very slow. Overall for 3 nights the hotel was fine. Would consider staying again

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank persie127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Our mattress could have been a little bit more firm, but it was not bad

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Our hired driver from Chiang Mai brought us here to evaluate the place before agreeing to stay here. (Speaking of which, we recommend our driver as he was pleasant, and not pushy to bring us to typical tourist attractions that we are not interested in; do message me for contact details).

The staff at the front desk was friendly and showed us the rooms beforehand. For THB 550/night for a twin room, the price was reasonable. This hotel is 3-storey high, and does not have an elevator. The hotel is approximately 5-10 minutes walk to the night bazaar. The street from the night bazaar to this hotel does get quite quiet and deserted at night, so walking in a group is advisable. Or perhaps, it was the low season, thus the quiet streets and the rather empty hotel.

The room and attached toilet are clean. There is an air-conditioner in the room, but it was rather old and provides sufficient ambient temperature. The TV in the room was mostly Thai channels and one Australian channel. But these are not causes for complaint as we were mostly not in the hotel. At the reception, it is stated that there is free wi-fi, but we could not receive the signal in our rooms on the third storey. The signal was clearer at the corridor and on the ground floor. Hot water, as well as instant coffee and Milo, is available for free at the hotel lobby.

This place is suitable for those on a budget, and it is good location to the night bazaar.

Room Tip: Do ask to see the rooms first to help make up your mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biancajill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
3.3 mi away
Diamond Park Inn Chiangrai Resort
4 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#2 of 108 in Chiang Rai
216 reviews
14.9 mi away
Chiang Rai Valley Resort
Chiang Rai Valley Resort
#54 of 108 in Chiang Rai
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Wiang Indra Riverside Resort
Wiang Indra Riverside Resort
#50 of 108 in Chiang Rai
253 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
4 mi away
Laluna Hotel and Resort
Laluna Hotel and Resort
#8 of 108 in Chiang Rai
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to diamond park inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about diamond park inn

Address: 903/1 Moo 4 Tumbol Viang Muang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range: £1 - £1 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — diamond park inn 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your diamond park inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing