We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for the price, but no more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kong Garden View Resort Chiang Rai
Ranked #27 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Okay for the price, but no more”
Reviewed 8 December 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed a night in a deluxe room for THB 800. We arranged for pickup at the airport (200 THB), which went flawlessly and was done by a really nice guy who seemed to be the night manager. The transfer took about 30 mins. If you arrive from BKK after dark, forget walking into the city. Transfer to and fro is about 100 THB each. Apparently taxis sometimes won't come out to the hotel, in that case the really nice hotel staff takes care of the transfer with a hotel-owned car (same rates apply).

We had a decent stay, though there was certainly nothing deluxe about the room except maybe the AC. The mattress was borderline okay while the bathroom was about the same quality we later saw in significantly cheaper guesthouses during our trip.The building and the premises are fairly nice, but I couldn't find much of the romance some of the other reviewers talk about.

Mind you that a hotel located at a pond means mosquitos and the room was not equipped with a net. When we approached the staff about this we were given an electric squatter accompanied by some chuckling. A decent dose of no bite made sure we were only bitten once or twice that night, though. The breakfast is about as minimalistic as the other reviewers have suggested, btw. You'll probably end up ordering from the menu or hit some place in the town if you transfer out of Chiang Rai in the morning,

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcmorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    22
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
15
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

When my husband and I first arrived at this hotel I had to quickly double check to make sure I got the price right because we couldn't believe it! This place was beautiful yet the least expensive place we had stayed in in Thailand.

The rooms are immaculate, spacious, and come with all the amenities (including flawless wifi). Ours had a balcony which was lovely to enjoy our complimentary coffee on which we could find down in the lobby.

The breakfast (included) was buffet style and out of this world delicious and with both Asian and western options. Again, we could not believe what we were paying for this place. The restaurant for dinner was disappointing for us as the service wasn't great and they forgot to bring my meal out and although I let them know, they didn't bring it out for another forty-five minutes while everyone else's dishes came out. By this point I had eaten my husband's left overs and to their credit, they took it away and didn't charge us for it. His meal was supposed to be red tilapia but was truly just deep fried batter shredded on a plate with no fish to be tasted.

The only drawback could be the location. We felt a bit isolated as a young foreign couple as most of the guests appeared to be there for a local wedding or gathering although the staff made us feel very welcome of course. A taxi ride to town was only 50 baht but the tuk tuks will charge 100 baht to return. This may not be the best place for a backpacker feel or if you are looking to meet other travelers.

Communication in English was a little tricky so it was a bit tough for us to figure out how to navigate ourselves (we rented a motorbike). My main suggestions would be to offer your guests a proper map since the one we were given was a very blurred print off from the computer and it didn't have any streets shown or street names listed around the hotel (they just drew a line into space and wrote "hotel"). We didn't realize this so one night it took us over an hour and a half to find our way back. That same night we had difficulty as well because as you come down the off street you need to turn left into the hotel's road and needless to say, their signs are only in Thai so we kept missing the turn until a local showed us. I think it would be a nice gesture to have a small English sign at the turn, even in marker!

These are small things and really just suggestions. The hotel is amazing and the best deal I have come across in three months of traveling! (I also liked how you could use booking.com to book the room without using your credit card details).

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank NikiandJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Very impressed with Kong Garden in all respects, from the moment a representative was waiting for us at the station.

Exceptionally clean, large, well equipped new double room with great bathroom, great view of the lake, good quality bed. Nothing felt budget about this room - good lighting, quality television, fridge, lots of drawers and storage space, large power shower etc etc

I have never enjoyed such quality within this price range.

Staff very eager to help in English and Thai,

Good food at restaurant.

Good walk to town but scooter hire was sorted out for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jwbabyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esbjerg, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

A hotel of good standard situated a bit off the center of the city. It is too far from the center to walk. The hotel restaurant is situayed in the middle of a pond right beside the hotel in a very nice setting. Breakfast is basic, but included in the price, which is a bargain. Try the restaurant for dinner, it is recommendable. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jensjorgen1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sattahip, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Once you have located the hotel, you are in for a treat, the proverbial oasis in a desert of concrete confusion. The facade is impressive, as indeed are most things about this establishment, including the high ceilinged reception area and the duck laden waters that surround the pier-like restaurant. The bedrooms are roomy with a good balcony and comfortable beds. Dinner in the busy restaurant was a nice experience. The management and the staff are also worthy of a mention with their ever helpful attitude.

The Kong Garden View Resort is not the easiest place to find, it is situated in a built up area, that at first impression is not the best, That being said, within the three days of my visit I was on first name terns with many of the locals, indeed shared a beer or two with a few. It is pretty essential to have a car and a smattering of Thai is also necessary. The shower room is poor, having to shower without shield over the toilet, and the breakfast I rated poor to diabolical, which is surprising after the quality of dinner. Could not even summon a cup of tea, or any fruit, which for me are breakfast dependencies. Nevertheless a very good stay, and I/we will most certainly return..........17/20

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nickthailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.0 mi away
La Belle Hotel
La Belle Hotel
#34 of 109 in Chiang Rai
37 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ben Guesthouse
Ben Guesthouse
#20 of 109 in Chiang Rai
206 reviews
2.5 mi away
De Hug Hotel & Residence
De Hug Hotel & Residence
#11 of 109 in Chiang Rai
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
PAN KLED VILLA eco hill resort
PAN KLED VILLA eco hill resort
#29 of 109 in Chiang Rai
32 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#62 of 109 in Chiang Rai
50 reviews
1.8 mi away
Meesuk Residence
Meesuk Residence
#24 of 109 in Chiang Rai
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kong Garden View Resort Chiang Rai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kong Garden View Resort Chiang Rai

Property: Kong Garden View Resort Chiang Rai
Address: 134/11 Moo 3 | Rob Wiang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kong Garden View Resort Chiang Rai 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kong Garden View Resort. We are located just 3 kilometers from the midst of Chiang Rai and we are providing a comfortable room for you with great circumstance. You can take a rest with the lake view, green natural and you can try delicious food for Chakom restaurant. We are looking forward to see you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kong Garden View Resort Chiang Rai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing