We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kong Garden View Resort Chiang Rai
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Earth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing stay”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The first impression was good, the place was pretty and the room looked nice. Staff was friendly too. Unfortunately, the rest was disappointing. The staff called our room after 10pm when we were already sleeping to ask if we had paid for our room (and we had, the same day). Couldn't wait for the next morning? After that we noticed the restaurant had started playing music very very loud, so loud that we could hear it even after we put earplugs. This continued still after midnight, after which I finally fell asleep.

The shower was leaking, had no hot water and no pressure.

In the breakfast buffet everything was cold and there was only instant coffee.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateToTravel, General Manager at Kong Garden View Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear valued guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your holidays.

We are terribly sorry for the inconvenience you were caused while staying at our property. We take important note of your feedback in order to correct these issues. We admit that it was our staff's mistake since he didn't record your payment so he could not close the account. If he couldn't find where the extra money came from, he could not have gone home that night. We have already notified and worn him out about this problem he caused you. Moreover, we are also apologize for the loud noise you heard. It was because there was a wedding at our restaurant which is open air. We actually don't have it often. However, we have to apologize you for this problem as well. About the breakfast, we are still trying to find the method to keep the food warm at all time. We would very much appreciate your comments and we sincerely apologize for this inconvenience.

We will be sure to take your valuable feedback on board to seek for improvement whenever possible. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Panawan Panpattanasawat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    22
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
15
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed at the Kong Garden View Resort Chiang Rai in late November 2013 for three nights.

The best part about this hotel are the rooms. They are new, clean, and very nice for the price paid. The only con we found about the rooms were the walls were not very sound proof. Unfortunately our first and last night there the guest next door had the TV on all night which was very annoying as the sound passed right through the walls. Other than that the rooms were very nice. We stayed in the cheapest room in the main part of the resort on the second floor.

The need for help comes in two parts. The front dest staff and the restaurant staff/food.

First the front desk - None of the staff could speak ANY English (we did meet one girl that could - I think she was new, but she should really be the manager at the front desk). Seriously, every time we arrived back at the hotel we were greeted with silence. Like they were hoping we would not ask any questions and just walk on by. It was awkward, because we had lots of questions and what better place to turn than your hotel.

Second the restaurant - Again the staff could not speak ANY English. It was very very very pricey and it turned out to be one of our worst meals on our entire trip. Ordering was a nightmare as well. You could tell they really wanted to serve us and treat us special, but not knowing any English made it so difficult for them. Even the parts on the menu written in English was not helpful for them. We would point to the English words and they would try so hard to figure out what we wanted. The whole experience became frustrating as we ended up with things we did not want, the food costs so much, and there is nothing to do but go with it.

The breakfast at the hotel is odd too. Run by the same restaurant staff. Each morning you have to pick up your breakfast tickets and hand it to the restaurant staff. Then it is buffet style. They had the typical Thai/Western breakfast choices on silver serving trays. The bizarre part was everything was cold. Even the eggs, soup, and rice - all cold. We found out why the next day. They don't keep an eye on the heating candles under the trays. They blow out and they just leave them - let the food become cold. This is just bad service. All they need to do is keep them lit. And they had plenty of staff (from my perspective) to do it.

NOTE: I do not expect the hotel staff to speak perfect English. I am comparing it to other places we stayed in the area, places we ate at (even local food spots, etc.) I do think they can improve on this.

Lastly, the hotel is a quick drive out of Chiang Rai. You have to have the hotel call for a Taxi Meter at least 30 minutes before you want to go. This was pretty smooth each time we wanted a taxi (through the language barrier). Although our last Taxi Meter driver tried to charge us 20 extra baht on top of the cost of the transfer. We refused to pay as none of the other drivers did this, he accepted. This is true with all the Taxi Meters and Tuk Tuks - just need to pay attention and make sure the fare is either Meter alone -or- pre-agreed upon cost prior to taking the ride.

All in all we thought the hotel really was nice especially for the price. We liked that it was a bit out of town. We would not eat at the restaurant again. We would probably stay again - hopefully they have some new English speaking Thai's on the staff by then.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTravelRound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KongGardenview, General Manager at Kong Garden View Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear guest,

It was a great pleasure having you as our guest at the Kong Garden View Resort.

First of all, we would like to apologize for any problems caused to you during your stay with us. We truly thank you for your comments. It is very important for us to acknowledge our guests opinions. We strongly agree with you that English-speaking staffs are very important to hotel and restaurant business. We will try our best to improve our services and hopefully, you will give us the opportunity of changing the less positive impression with which you have left our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Chiang rai and our hotel again in the future.

Best regards,

Panawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torreon, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This hotel has all the elements to merit top rating: clean, super excellent and friendly service, a first class restaurant across the lake, beautiful grounds, great a/c. It's tempting to just keep it a secret. I've waited a year to post this because we had a bit of a snag with the pictures and you really have to see it to believe it. We loved this hotel and the staff, they were all so fantastic. Would have appreciated at least one English news channel but I can live with that while on vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lagunera10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KongGardenview, Manager at Kong Garden View Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and we're happy to know that you had a great time here in Chiang rai! You are such a lovely guest! Thank you so much for very friendly and thoughtful comment. We will work on our TV channel. Hopefully, we will have it before you come to visit us again. :) We're looking forward to seeing you again in the future. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Kong Garden is a beautiful hotel. We had a stunning room with lake views, a balcony and an enormous comfortable bed. The hotel restaurant is excellent and the staff were polite and helpful. It is a ten minute songthaew journey from the centre of Chiang Rai but for the money you save staying here it is well worth being a bit further out. Really can't recommend King Garden highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicae12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valkenswaard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This is a new hotel with good sized, clean rooms. It is in quitesurroundings with a nice garden. We paid 22$ incl bfast for a twin room.

The bfast is spicy Thai style but also eggs, sausages, toast and fruit for us foreigners. The restaurant try hard to please you and food selection is quite good and reasonably priced; we spent less than 1000 THB for 4 people. They prepared a special dish on request of our vegetarian guest.

A disadvantage is the location, if you do not take their shuttle (9am, 6pm, 9pm) you need to book a taxi. This takes a 15 minutes wait, so book in advance!, and 70 THB to town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dutch g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The hotel is $22 USD a night for their basic room. Hotel staff is polite and works hard to please. New property. There is still work going on to finish the hotel.
Attached restaurant has good service and adequate food.

Rooms lack sound proofing. People talking in an average tone in the next room can be heard word for word.
One night there was karoke in the restaurant which lasted until 1am. Easily heard in the room.
Each room as an electric water heater for the shower. The heater is undersized and to keep the water warm a minimum water flow must be used.
Each day the room gets a half roll of toilet paper. You have to ask for more.

3 stars. No more no less but excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed a night in a deluxe room for THB 800. We arranged for pickup at the airport (200 THB), which went flawlessly and was done by a really nice guy who seemed to be the night manager. The transfer took about 30 mins. If you arrive from BKK after dark, forget walking into the city. Transfer to and fro is about 100 THB each. Apparently taxis sometimes won't come out to the hotel, in that case the really nice hotel staff takes care of the transfer with a hotel-owned car (same rates apply).

We had a decent stay, though there was certainly nothing deluxe about the room except maybe the AC. The mattress was borderline okay while the bathroom was about the same quality we later saw in significantly cheaper guesthouses during our trip.The building and the premises are fairly nice, but I couldn't find much of the romance some of the other reviewers talk about.

Mind you that a hotel located at a pond means mosquitos and the room was not equipped with a net. When we approached the staff about this we were given an electric squatter accompanied by some chuckling. A decent dose of no bite made sure we were only bitten once or twice that night, though. The breakfast is about as minimalistic as the other reviewers have suggested, btw. You'll probably end up ordering from the menu or hit some place in the town if you transfer out of Chiang Rai in the morning,

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcmorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.0 mi away
La Belle Hotel
La Belle Hotel
#32 of 109 in Chiang Rai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
1.8 mi away
Meesuk Residence
Meesuk Residence
#27 of 109 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ben Guesthouse
Ben Guesthouse
#20 of 109 in Chiang Rai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
PAN KLED VILLA eco hill resort
PAN KLED VILLA eco hill resort
#31 of 109 in Chiang Rai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
2.5 mi away
De Hug Hotel & Residence
De Hug Hotel & Residence
#11 of 109 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#63 of 109 in Chiang Rai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kong Garden View Resort Chiang Rai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kong Garden View Resort Chiang Rai

Property: Kong Garden View Resort Chiang Rai
Address: 134/11 Moo 3 | Rob Wiang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kong Garden View Resort Chiang Rai 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kong Garden View Resort. We are located just 3 kilometers from the midst of Chiang Rai and we are providing a comfortable room for you with great circumstance. You can take a rest with the lake view, green natural and you can try delicious food for Chakom restaurant. We are looking forward to see you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kong Garden View Resort Chiang Rai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing