We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its even better than the reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kong Garden View Resort Chiang Rai
Ranked #25 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“its even better than the reviews”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

just finished staying the night here, everything was as everyone else has said regarding best value but to me that insinuates your sacrificing some quality for value.
In my experience and i have stayed at many different types of accommodation in Thailand as i come here twice a year (Thai wife) it is one of the best hotels i have stayed in full stop. Thats excluding the silly money hotels however, they will be better but at 600bt a night for a fantastic, spacious, modern, clean room you just cant complain about anything.
Stay here, the owners whoever they are take pride in their establishment - they deserve your custom

Room Tip: ring them direct for a booking and price. turned out cheaper than the internet hotel bookings websit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    23
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
15
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
portugal
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

It has to be said that this hotel is really fantastic for the price it charges. Set in nice gardens, it is modern with good sized rooms, well furnished with lots of space to put your luggage and to work on your computer with the very good free WiFi. The beds are comfortable, the bed linen white and crisp and the bathroom with free standing shower is a good size and the staff speak English and are friendly.

There are a few niggles: the main one being it is 3 kms out of the town centre but it does provide free transport into town at 6pm and return at 9pm to have dinner and visit the night market. If you have your own transport its location is very good as it is near two large supermarkets. It is difficult to find as the signposting is not good. The hotel is not well soundproofed and you can hear the people talking and the television in the adjacent rooms and it has no lift. However, our main complaint was the restaurant which is in a very nice building overlooking the small lake in the grounds with some tables out over the water, but the food was poor. Our dinner was tasteless - how can you make Thai food tasteless? I have had a far better papaya salad in Tesco Lotus Food Court. Breakfast was not very good and, as a previous reviewer has said, it gives you cold fried eggs. This is because the chef cooks them in advance, puts them out on a metal tray and then he leaves, so it is impossible to ask for a hot freshly fried egg

However, you must remember it is remarkably good value. You will not find better value. It is a pity the cooking could not be sorted out.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake at the front of the hotel have a much better view for you to take advanta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nickyportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Not much real new to add to prior positive reviews. At this price, this close to the center of town, you will not find better. Start with modernly-furnished rooms, balconies, a garden resort-style setting, add-in an expansive open-air, better quality restaurant overlooking a lake (ish), plus excellent wi-fi (bandwidth). Bonus: A few ducks hanging out and rabbits running around like happy idiots in the morning.

Very quiet: No traffic, nor constantly barking dogs or roosters. But, as previously mentioned, you will need your own transportation. About 10 minutes by scooter to Night Market, for point of reference.

As others have pointed out, "Kate" (Panawan), sort of the by-default concierge / guest relations person, due to her excellent English skills, very positive demeanor and innate charm, is great. Beyond the usual (and often not real) smiles of typical hotel staff, Kate genuinely seems to be out to insure that the guests are happy. You will see this tangibly noted in other posts. In our case, we went down on a motor bike (minor), took a few bruises, that evening she showed up at room with a topical cream she picked up for us. We tried to pay, but she said: "Don't worry, very inexpensive.)

About English -- I have noted other reviewers disparaging lack of staff English language skills and will here respectfully say: Get serious. You are paying less than US$30 a night for very nice, very clean, Western-friendly accommodations and furnishings in a pleasant semi-resort-style setting, easy secure parking, onsite a decent open-air restaurant, a polite (if shy) staff, very good housekeeping services with an adequate breakfast and the evening opportunity to have reasonably-priced, higher-level Thai food overlooking a little lake and fountain... did I mention at less than $30 a night? (Average rate date of this writing.)

Room Tip: If you require strong wi-fi connection, perhaps ask for a room near router. (Bandwidth I experienced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bennett_Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The hotel is in quite an unexpected place. You seem to be driving through a sort of village/neighborhood and then you turn and all of a sudden you see the hotel. The setting is really beautiful.
When I walked into my room, the first thought I had was, American hotel! There is a counter along one entire wall just like at American hotels. The room and bathroom were very nice. The bed had a duvet cover, which I loved. The hotel is still quite new.
The breakfast was quite Thai, but that did include basic fried rice. They also had fried eggs and toast. They also have room service and don't charge to deliver the food.
My friend and I actually took a little ride in a little boat they had. :)
I paid $18 for the room -- excellent, excellent value!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KaivalagiTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateToTravel, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Kong Garden View Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear KaivalagiTraveler,

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Kong Garden View Resort.

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests. Our hotel is a family business so we decorated the rooms as we like. We are very happy to know that you like our style. :) We are new as you mentioned and we are still trying to improve our services. We are very appreciative of you taking the time to share your experience with us and others. We hope to be your hotel of choice on your next visit to this lovely city.

Have a nice day!

Panawan Panpattanasawat

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phitsanulok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Rooms are adequately furnished and have a nice view of the hotel gardens in front or rice fields at the back. Free coffee in the lobby. Been here several times, make sure to ask for the upper floors so you can open the balcony. Breakfast is very Thai.

Room Tip: Request for upper floor rooms so you can enjoy the view and the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mgccarrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateToTravel, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Kong Garden View Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear K.Karel00,

Thank you from our heart for that you chose us to be one of your favorite hotels in Chiang Rai and have been here many times. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,

Panawan Panpattanasawat

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earth
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The first impression was good, the place was pretty and the room looked nice. Staff was friendly too. Unfortunately, the rest was disappointing. The staff called our room after 10pm when we were already sleeping to ask if we had paid for our room (and we had, the same day). Couldn't wait for the next morning? After that we noticed the restaurant had started playing music very very loud, so loud that we could hear it even after we put earplugs. This continued still after midnight, after which I finally fell asleep.

The shower was leaking, had no hot water and no pressure.

In the breakfast buffet everything was cold and there was only instant coffee.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateToTravel, General Manager at Kong Garden View Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear valued guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your holidays.

We are terribly sorry for the inconvenience you were caused while staying at our property. We take important note of your feedback in order to correct these issues. We admit that it was our staff's mistake since he didn't record your payment so he could not close the account. If he couldn't find where the extra money came from, he could not have gone home that night. We have already notified and worn him out about this problem he caused you. Moreover, we are also apologize for the loud noise you heard. It was because there was a wedding at our restaurant which is open air. We actually don't have it often. However, we have to apologize you for this problem as well. About the breakfast, we are still trying to find the method to keep the food warm at all time. We would very much appreciate your comments and we sincerely apologize for this inconvenience.

We will be sure to take your valuable feedback on board to seek for improvement whenever possible. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Panawan Panpattanasawat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefish, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed at the Kong Garden View Resort Chiang Rai in late November 2013 for three nights.

The best part about this hotel are the rooms. They are new, clean, and very nice for the price paid. The only con we found about the rooms were the walls were not very sound proof. Unfortunately our first and last night there the guest next door had the TV on all night which was very annoying as the sound passed right through the walls. Other than that the rooms were very nice. We stayed in the cheapest room in the main part of the resort on the second floor.

The need for help comes in two parts. The front dest staff and the restaurant staff/food.

First the front desk - None of the staff could speak ANY English (we did meet one girl that could - I think she was new, but she should really be the manager at the front desk). Seriously, every time we arrived back at the hotel we were greeted with silence. Like they were hoping we would not ask any questions and just walk on by. It was awkward, because we had lots of questions and what better place to turn than your hotel.

Second the restaurant - Again the staff could not speak ANY English. It was very very very pricey and it turned out to be one of our worst meals on our entire trip. Ordering was a nightmare as well. You could tell they really wanted to serve us and treat us special, but not knowing any English made it so difficult for them. Even the parts on the menu written in English was not helpful for them. We would point to the English words and they would try so hard to figure out what we wanted. The whole experience became frustrating as we ended up with things we did not want, the food costs so much, and there is nothing to do but go with it.

The breakfast at the hotel is odd too. Run by the same restaurant staff. Each morning you have to pick up your breakfast tickets and hand it to the restaurant staff. Then it is buffet style. They had the typical Thai/Western breakfast choices on silver serving trays. The bizarre part was everything was cold. Even the eggs, soup, and rice - all cold. We found out why the next day. They don't keep an eye on the heating candles under the trays. They blow out and they just leave them - let the food become cold. This is just bad service. All they need to do is keep them lit. And they had plenty of staff (from my perspective) to do it.

NOTE: I do not expect the hotel staff to speak perfect English. I am comparing it to other places we stayed in the area, places we ate at (even local food spots, etc.) I do think they can improve on this.

Lastly, the hotel is a quick drive out of Chiang Rai. You have to have the hotel call for a Taxi Meter at least 30 minutes before you want to go. This was pretty smooth each time we wanted a taxi (through the language barrier). Although our last Taxi Meter driver tried to charge us 20 extra baht on top of the cost of the transfer. We refused to pay as none of the other drivers did this, he accepted. This is true with all the Taxi Meters and Tuk Tuks - just need to pay attention and make sure the fare is either Meter alone -or- pre-agreed upon cost prior to taking the ride.

All in all we thought the hotel really was nice especially for the price. We liked that it was a bit out of town. We would not eat at the restaurant again. We would probably stay again - hopefully they have some new English speaking Thai's on the staff by then.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTravelRound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KongGardenview, General Manager at Kong Garden View Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear guest,

It was a great pleasure having you as our guest at the Kong Garden View Resort.

First of all, we would like to apologize for any problems caused to you during your stay with us. We truly thank you for your comments. It is very important for us to acknowledge our guests opinions. We strongly agree with you that English-speaking staffs are very important to hotel and restaurant business. We will try our best to improve our services and hopefully, you will give us the opportunity of changing the less positive impression with which you have left our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Chiang rai and our hotel again in the future.

Best regards,

Panawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.0 mi away
La Belle Hotel
La Belle Hotel
#34 of 108 in Chiang Rai
37 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ben Guesthouse
Ben Guesthouse
#16 of 108 in Chiang Rai
212 reviews
2.5 mi away
De Hug Hotel & Residence
De Hug Hotel & Residence
#10 of 108 in Chiang Rai
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#62 of 108 in Chiang Rai
50 reviews
2.0 mi away
PAN KLED VILLA eco hill resort
PAN KLED VILLA eco hill resort
#29 of 108 in Chiang Rai
34 reviews
1.8 mi away
Meesuk Residence
Meesuk Residence
#26 of 108 in Chiang Rai
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kong Garden View Resort Chiang Rai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kong Garden View Resort Chiang Rai

Property: Kong Garden View Resort Chiang Rai
Address: 134/11 Moo 3 | Rob Wiang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kong Garden View Resort Chiang Rai 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kong Garden View Resort. We are located just 3 kilometers from the midst of Chiang Rai and we are providing a comfortable room for you with great circumstance. You can take a rest with the lake view, green natural and you can try delicious food for Chakom restaurant. We are looking forward to see you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kong Garden View Resort Chiang Rai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing