We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best budget stay in Thailand”
Review of Baan Norn Plearn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baan Norn Plearn
Ranked #7 of 176 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Port Burwell, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best budget stay in Thailand”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Lovely building with spacious clean rooms. Homey up to date design. Very welcoming.
Generous breakfast buffet, DIY style. Run by a nice couple that are always available and willing to help.
Our best hotel in Thailand

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    30
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
49
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Baan Norn Plearn stands out to us as the best guesthouse we stayed in during our trip to Southeast Asia. It had everything: great location, spacious and clean rooms (+ comfortable beds-- sometimes hard to find), great A/C and wifi, a really nice included breakfast, and very friendly staff. I would absolutely recommend you stay here!! Only little quirk that comes to mind is that in the bathroom in our room, the toilet was right in the center of the area where you shower. I know in SE Asia that it's standard to not have a separate showering area from the rest of the bathroom, but this layout was particularly funny as it was kind of unclear where you should stand to shower. But you just make it work and it's fine, just a little funny! Anyway, definitely stay here!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk - midlandss
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We happily spent 3 nights in a superior room at the Baan Norn Plearn, and it really is exceptional value for money! The location is within walking distance of the main attractions, yet far enough away to be away to be peaceful and made for a great night's sleep. The owners were very friendly and provide a self serve style breakfast is tasty and plentiful - it was nice to try the various Thai foods, and be able to prepare your own breakfast exactly how you want it. The aircon was more than adequate at the hottest time of the year, and the rooms were spotlessly clean, quirky and spacious. We would definitely stay here again if we came to Northern Thailand again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vans998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maribor, Slovenia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We spend there 2 nights and it was great, the only problem was that the women at the reception on the day one could not speak english, but still we could communicate with our hands:):).. It is more a guesthouse with really nice owners, who are really helpful with suggestions of places you have to visit.. Buut the best thing was the breakfast, because they let you use the whole outdoor kitchen to make your own breakfast, although they make a speciality every morning which you can combine with other food.. And you can eat how much you want.. The room was also clean, they cleaned it every day and it was really big for the price we paid... It was really a memorable stay... It is also near the most of the city attractions, it takes about 10 min to get to the night market, which you have to see and also tast the gret food, which they prepare there every evening...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasminaHauptman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Baan Norn Plearn is very central, yet very quiet and peaceful. Rooms are spotless and a good size. Bathrooms also very clean. Lovely undercover seating area and garden. Good a/c. Poy and his boss ( wife!) are genuinely lovely gentle people. Nothing is too much trouble. They were always visable in the background to help, advise and book trips. Good wifi. Breakfast is all set out which you cook yourself, eggs, toast, fresh fruits and Asian breakfast etc. Would recommend this place to friends and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 8. Large, comfortable and away from main social area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PixiBrighton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morzine, France
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Baan Norn Plearn is located off a little side street from the main thoroughfare within short walking distance to the Clock Tower roundabout and the night market. The rooms are spotless and the manager and team extremely helpful. Breakfast is a mix of eggs & toast you cook yourself or guided more to Thai style with soup with trimmings. Good quality bikes are free to use.

Room Tip: The walls are a little thin, so if you're a light sleeper ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed here for just one night. What an fantastic set up, this former kindergarten that was previously run by the family as a kindergarten. They have carefully retained some of the former kindergarten memories which put a smile on your face. Our room was nicely presented both the room and bathroom very large. The owners are very helpful and more than happy to assist you
with anything you need. It has a nice big open planned covered communal area where you can relax or have breakfast. We tried to extend to 2 nights but it was full. I can see why! They have free bikes for hire and they are in top condition. This place is a hidden gem!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 108 in Chiang Rai
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
B2 Chiang Rai
B2 Chiang Rai
#32 of 108 in Chiang Rai
150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hi Chiangrai Hotel
Hi Chiangrai Hotel
#14 of 108 in Chiang Rai
76 reviews
0.9 mi away
De Hug Hotel & Residence
De Hug Hotel & Residence
#10 of 108 in Chiang Rai
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chiang Rai Hotel
Chiang Rai Hotel
#8 of 176 in Chiang Rai
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Norn Plearn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Norn Plearn

Property: Baan Norn Plearn
Address: 382 Banpaprakan Rd. T.Wiang A.Mueang, Chiang Rai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing