We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”
Review of Baan Norn Plearn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baan Norn Plearn
Ranked #10 of 184 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 June 2014

From the moment we arrived we felt relaxed and well looked after. The staff were available to assist us whenever we needed and went above and beyond when it came to finding someone to take us to a local children's home. Their level of English was good, in both speaking and understanding. Our rooms were side by side as requested when booked. Rooms were clean and fresh with cold air con, hot showers and comfy beds. Breakfast is as it says, a help yourself and clean up afterwards approach but we didn't have a problem with this and it was never crowded. The shared living spaces and gardens are just lovely!! A great place to relax and chat about the day and take in the atmosphere. Easy walk to the Saturday night market just a few blocks away. We look forward to revisiting sometime to a home away from home, they made us feel like part of the family :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

I came across this place by accident, and I was very pleased that I did so. The staff is very helpful in spite of the fact of some of the do not speak English, and I love its quirky and charming decor. I definitely will stay here again the next time I visit Chiang Rai.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank liwinglau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The staff is very friendly. The location is good. Walking distance from temples, restaurants. The garden is nice, quiet and the room was oke. We had a room upstairs. We thought it was al little bit noisy. The breakfast you have to make it your one and that's fine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tristan7706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

A nice place to stay convenient to the town. The breakfast is lovely.
The staff and management could not be friendlier . If any fault it would be that the outside lights shine into your room at night. The TV is tiny in a large room but no English channels

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderers37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

My mother and I loved this place! The reception was so sweet and helpful. They had warm showers, comfy beds, and great aircon. The breakfast was sufficient. It is in a great location and they provide free bikes to take out and explore the city with attached baskets for your belongings. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank kelseykauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Expectations were running high after reading the many positive reviews on tripadvisor but it easily met all of them. We didn't encounter any noise issues but it wasn't busy when we were there and we had nobody staying in the room above ours. The rooms and gardens were delightful and the whole place had an individual and eclectic charm, which is the reason we choose guesthouses over hotels when possible, irregardless of price.
Phoy, who owns Norn Plearn with his wife, was very friendly and helpful. He took the time to hand-draw a detailed map with clear instructions for finding The Black House, which isn't easy to locate with your own transport. Well worth finding though. Phoy is a genuinely outgoing and amiable host.
The breakfast was excellent. We stayed 2 days but didn't end up cooking eggs as the fruit, sticky rice parcels, breads and Thai dishes were more than sufficient for us. Washing up our dishes wasn't an issue but appeared to be too much of a challenge for some other guests.

The wifi was fine but in my experience this can very much depend on which room your in.

There's limited off-street parking which was an unexpected bonus.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

stayed here 2 nights to visit the Golden Triangle. B&B style where we did our own thing and breakfast was self service. As a B&B it was very much geared around local travellers as nothing was in English but this added to the charm. Was very well located for the night bazaar and restaurants in the evening, would recommend if you want something away from the typical hotel experience

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halli102003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 108 in Chiang Rai
532 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
808 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ben Guesthouse
Ben Guesthouse
#17 of 108 in Chiang Rai
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
0.9 mi away
Laluna Hotel and Resort
Laluna Hotel and Resort
#8 of 108 in Chiang Rai
888 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baan Bua Guesthouse
Baan Bua Guesthouse
#13 of 184 in Chiang Rai
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Norn Plearn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Norn Plearn

Address: 382 Banpaprakan Rd. T.Wiang A.Mueang, Chiang Rai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Price Range: £17 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Baan Norn Plearn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing