We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you need, slightly better than average.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
City Home Guest House
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Everything you need, slightly better than average.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

We paid 600 bhat per night and stayed for two nights. We've stayed in places that could be considered as better value for money, and places that were not as good. The staff are very friendly and you get everything you need and a little more; very nice bathroom, tv (but not really any English channels), free tea and coffee in the lobby, air-conditioning, tiny balcony... The only advice I would give is to ask to be in a room with a strong wifi signal. We were on the top floor and struggled to maintain a reliable connection. There is a laundry service that was excellent value (30 bhat per kilo; instead of 40/50 bhat which seems to be the average in the North) I would stay here again if I were to visit Chiang Rai again in the future.

Room Tip: Check your wifi signal before accepting that room as the one to stay in. The top floor has a weak si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    24
    28
    10
    5
See reviews for
1
25
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

The staff in this place are really helpful, friendly and pleasant, however the facilities (wifi hardly works at all, 'free cable TV' advertised in English doesn't have any English channels, air-con doesn't turn off - and in the colder nights this is a bit of a problem!) could do with updating. Our room is pretty big and the bathroom is clean with a decent shower. Haven't seen any other rooms but I think we have one of the nicer ones. Laundry is a very good price here too. Great location near the night market and the main 'strip' of town, plus the bus station is around the corner.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms on the main road side are the nicest ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RawlingStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Rai hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

The Guest House is very well located and the staff is very nice, they don't speak much english but try very hard to help you, so that's definitely much appreciated. However, the rooms are small and quite dirty, good for a night or 2 maximum but no more.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valentina13983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

This is definitely a budget place, but you can find much better accommodation in Chiang Rai for the price. The location is pretty good; it's very close to the bust station and night market, but the rooms are old and somewhat dirty, and the beds could be better. The showers are, on the positive side, excellent. But overall the place isn't worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhamrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

Although a great 5 min walk from the bus station & night market the hotel itself is pretty poor.

The bathroom was fairly clean but the room could do with a fresh lick if paint or just a wash!! Small room.

It does for 1 or 2 nights as you see the sights but I wouldn't have stayed longer than that.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Little-Red-Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Very close to the bus station, the night bazaar and the city center the location is great! Add cheap and clean dorms, friendly staff, free coffee, fast internet, clean toilet and you have a great budget option in Chiang Rai!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabiompalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

Good location in chiang rai, not far from the bus stationor shopping. Room basic and air con just about ok to take the edge off the high heat. Bathroom was wet room which did take a little while. No breakfast of note.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kevd112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.1 mi away
The North Hotel
The North Hotel
#36 of 108 in Chiang Rai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wangcome
Wangcome
#35 of 108 in Chiang Rai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Norn Nung Len Cafe & Hostel
Norn Nung Len Cafe & Hostel
#22 of 137 in Chiang Rai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kanlaya Place
Kanlaya Place
#12 of 137 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercy Hostel
Mercy Hostel
#2 of 137 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ann Hostel
Ann Hostel
#50 of 137 in Chiang Rai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Home Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Home Guest House

Property: City Home Guest House
Address: 868 Phahon Yothin Road | Wieng, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the city center of Chiang Rai, near the famous Night Bazaar and close to restaurants, shops and bars. The entrance to the guest house is located just off the main street, where a peaceful and open green interior awaits our guests.Includes complimentary internet access in the lobby & FREE WIFI in common areas (and most rooms), and free use of the kitchen facilities available to guests. We have 20 air conditioned rooms with TV, some with a balcony and offering views of the night bazaar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your City Home Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing