We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a "home"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
City Home Guest House
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed in a single room with a shared bathroom. When I checked in after 2p.m. and wanted to freshen up after a long journey, I walked into a bathroom which has not been cleaned. The smell that came from the toilets was terrible. The rooms were big and basic, with hardwood floors, and seemed clean. But when I got on the bed to take a nap later that afternoon, I saw that the sheets were stained and dirty, and it smelled. I called reception and asked them to change the sheets. The receptionist did not seem very happy about it, but I insisted. And after I had taken her to my room and showed her the dirty sheets, she laughed and left. No 'sorry about it'. Definitely not a place I'd recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for City Home Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

This guest house is currently being renovated. I would check before you arrive whether they have rooms available.

Tel: 053 600155

Located just round the corner from the bus station and the night market.

Their prices are very reasonable if you book on line. They have two sets of prices. The dorm room (140 bht) was clean, newly painted and had good size lockers.

Clean toilets and showers. There is hot water.

Wifi is strong in the dorm.

Free coffee in the morning.

Please be aware that the local council is currently replacing the water/sewage pipes around town. Therefore at this moment the street outside the guesthouse is being dug up. This should be finished in a few weeks. Please note that they start work early and finish late.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10_Downing_St
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Big room, but wi-fi didn't work in it, badly stained sheets, a/c not working properly. First time ever, I called Agoda for assistance. For the same money, I have a spotless room with a nice clean bed.

Room Tip: wouldn't stay here if I was paid to do so.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warmbeerhater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

The rest of the rooms were sold out so my friend and I (coming in late from chiang mai) were tired and exhausted so we came here after reading reviews. The dorm style rooms were sold out so we stayed in a standard room, 2 beds no AC.. Complete rip off. Don't try to come here if you need Internet to do further research about your trip. It hardly works. 600 baht for a sht room. The best part about it was that it was really really close to the bus stop/ the night bazaar (which I completely recommend- go eat the hot pots / spicy soup..) / and all the bars / ect.

Anyway! After we got up in the morning and walked down the street a bit toward the 101 highway (I believe), and found the best hostel to stay at for only 100 baht and the staff was amazing and it was still super close to everything.

So.. When staying in chiang rai. Don't worry about booking your hostel first. Just walk around a little and you'll find some amazing places and great deals close to the main part of the city. Most of these places are not listed [in chiang rai] , as it is a much smaller, and more charming than chiang mai or bangkok, plus the country as a whole is still catching up to becoming Internet savvy and online marketing. Have a great time in chiang rai! We loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlixandraL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The IYH City Home is a functional and basic place to stay if you want to visit local attractions such as the White Temple, the Black House or go for a day trip to Myanmar (Burma). Its proximity to the local bus station makes this very handy. Its also right next to the night market- its s very tourist orientated market with a nightly music which you can hear from the hostel courtyard and most of the room so maybe not good if you're a light sleeper but it finishes around 11. The staff try to be helpful but most speak little english- very friendly though. Cleanliness is what you might expect from a hostel but free tea and coffe and wifi make up for this. Lockers are available in dorms but not double rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carys m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We paid 600 bhat per night and stayed for two nights. We've stayed in places that could be considered as better value for money, and places that were not as good. The staff are very friendly and you get everything you need and a little more; very nice bathroom, tv (but not really any English channels), free tea and coffee in the lobby, air-conditioning, tiny balcony... The only advice I would give is to ask to be in a room with a strong wifi signal. We were on the top floor and struggled to maintain a reliable connection. There is a laundry service that was excellent value (30 bhat per kilo; instead of 40/50 bhat which seems to be the average in the North) I would stay here again if I were to visit Chiang Rai again in the future.

Room Tip: Check your wifi signal before accepting that room as the one to stay in. The top floor has a weak si...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

The staff in this place are really helpful, friendly and pleasant, however the facilities (wifi hardly works at all, 'free cable TV' advertised in English doesn't have any English channels, air-con doesn't turn off - and in the colder nights this is a bit of a problem!) could do with updating. Our room is pretty big and the bathroom is clean with a decent shower. Haven't seen any other rooms but I think we have one of the nicer ones. Laundry is a very good price here too. Great location near the night market and the main 'strip' of town, plus the bus station is around the corner.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms on the main road side are the nicest ones.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RawlingStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.1 mi away
Wangcome
Wangcome
#30 of 109 in Chiang Rai
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 109 in Chiang Rai
513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kanlaya Place
Kanlaya Place
#14 of 149 in Chiang Rai
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Norn Nung Len Cafe & Hostel
Norn Nung Len Cafe & Hostel
#19 of 149 in Chiang Rai
12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercy Hostel
Mercy Hostel
#3 of 149 in Chiang Rai
241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Huan Kawin Hostel & Bistro
Huan Kawin Hostel & Bistro
#40 of 149 in Chiang Rai
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Home Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Home Guest House

Address: 868 Phahon Yothin Road | Wieng, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 149 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Rai
Price Range: £12 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the city center of Chiang Rai, near the famous Night Bazaar and close to restaurants, shops and bars. The entrance to the guest house is located just off the main street, where a peaceful and open green interior awaits our guests.Includes complimentary internet access in the lobby & FREE WIFI in common areas (and most rooms), and free use of the kitchen facilities available to guests. We have 20 air conditioned rooms with TV, some with a balcony and offering views of the night bazaar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your City Home Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing