We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid hotel. Nice breakfast. Competent staff.”
Review of Nak Nakara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nak Nakara
Ranked #4 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Solid hotel. Nice breakfast. Competent staff.”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights after spending a week in the hills with no electricity and minimal amenities. Wife and I thought a decent, modern hotel would be a nice treat. Were able to book two nights day we called, but they were full after that since it was the weekend then.

The staff at the hotel were very sweet, helpful, and competent. English language skills are good and their main desk guy helped me book rooms at another hotel in town when theirs filled up.

Rooms are comfortable and worth the price, which includes a breakfast buffet that's quite decent. They also have the buffet open till 10am, which is nice when you're getting a late start on the day.

Note: wasn't able to get a wifi signal in the restaurant where breakfast is served so if you're like me and like to read up on the news over your coffee you'll need to make arrangements in advance.

The whole place is just a solid, well-run hotel with most modern conveniences. If you're coming from the roller-bag, wine-and-steak-every-night tour, this place might not meet expectations. But if you're looking for a reasonably priced hotel with good rooms and service but no frills, a cut above most guest houses, then this is your place.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nak_Nakara, Manager at Nak Nakara, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your admiration and inspiration. It is delighted to help guest and delivers the best service to guests. I am sorry about the poor signal in the restaurant. If you would like to get the better signal, the other side of the restaurant which faces up the lobby would be good for wifi signal. We are sorry for the inconvenient. Thank you for your kind and optimist heart, we all staff remember you two and we admire you too. You are the best customer we ever have. Please come visiting us again in the near future. We wish you good luck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    307
    75
    11
    1
See reviews for
112
352
70
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
britain
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The location was good, staff were helpful and attentive. Rooms were clean and hotel felt safe.

There was no pool although we knew this when we booked, however compared to other places we stayed it was expensive for what it was. Breakfast was quite poor and sadly we wouldn't stay again if we returned. However sadly we wouldn't go out of our way to stay in Chiang Rai again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nak_Nakara, Manager at Nak Nakara, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your suggestion. we would love to improve ourselves to satisfy the customer. We are sorry about the pool. We promise to build it up this year. Therefore, there might be noisy from a construction during slow season this year. However, we try to start working after 9am and finish the task before 5pm. I am sorry for an inconvenient in the near future. Besides, we try the best to improve our breakfast. If you have anu suggestion, please not hesitate to let us know by e-mail to naknakara_hotel@hotmail.com
We are glad to hear your opinion and thank you for your kind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This really sums up the Hotel.Our check-in was a nice experience,friendly and efficient,and we were given a street map with lots of info on the local restaurants,shops,markets etc etc,very useful for our first trip to the City.Our room was spacious,clean and simply furnished,had tea and coffee supplies,refrigerator and air con.The beds were comfortable and everything in the room worked !!We were on the top third floor,but there are no lifts,so ground floor rooms would be better if you have mobility issues.There is a very pleasant central garden courtyard,with tables and chairs.The hotel is well situated for local amenities.The most memorable part of this stay was the Staff,helpful,positive and a ready smile, plus it is really good value for a 3Star Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nak_Nakara, Manager at Nak Nakara, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your supportive review. We are appreciated you love staying here. If there is any specific suggestion you could let us know by e-mail to naknakara_hotel@hotmail.com
We were delighted to serving you. If you come to Chiang Rai again, Please let us serve you in the future. Our staff is willing and happy to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We only ad one night here but hotel room was brilliant and beds nd en suite was fantastic

great night sleep nd great breakfast following morning!!

Would recommend this hotel to anyone young or old nice gardens and chill out area too!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Avril G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nak_Nakara, Manager at Nak Nakara, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Nak Nakara as the pleasure destination.
We are glad you like the time staying here.
Although it is a short period, we believe that you have a wonderful time here.
We are looking forward to serve you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Good hotel, staff were very friendly, rooms were clean and tidy. Breakfast was very good with lots of variety. I was just there for one night but would recommend- I booked here based on reviews of others.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank KSuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nak_Nakara, Manager at Nak Nakara, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for a supportive review. We are appreciated that you love our breakfast. Every morning, we try to ask the satisfaction and comment from the guest to collect the idea in order to set menu for breakfast. If you come again next time, please tell us what special would you like to eat. We would love to response right away if we have ingredients in the kitchen. We wish to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Big rooms, clean, pretty good breakfast buffet. Very friendly and helpful staff. We checked out, went on a hilltribe trek and came back the next day in desperate need of a shower before getting the bus to Chiang Mai. They were booked out but were nice enough to let us use their standalone shower for free.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nak_Nakara, Manager at Nak Nakara, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your supportive review. We are happy you love our breakfast.
We are so sorry that the room has been booked out that day. If we had the room available,
we would have given you a room. Besides, although most hotel policy set the check in time 2 PM onward. For Nak Nakara hotel, we are appreciated to allow guest early check-in without fee if we have the room available. Therefore, you may ask for room available next time for early check-in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 108 in Chiang Rai
499 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
10.8 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
186 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 108 in Chiang Rai
993 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nak Nakara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nak Nakara

Property: Nak Nakara
Address: 661 Uttarakit Road | Wiang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Nak Nakara 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2012, Nak Nakara Hotel guarantees guests with comfortable 70 rooms. The hotel provides public facilities such as Free Wi-Fi, Parking lot, Computer with internet and in-room facilities such as LCD TV, Hair dryer and safety box. Throughout the day you can enjoy the relaxing atmosphere in the garden.The hotel also has a swimming pool for adult and kids. Nak Nakara is located 10 minutes walk from downtown, Chiang Rai Old Bus Station, Night Bazaar and the Golden Clock Tower. Chiang Rai Airport is 10 minutes away. With its convenient location, the hotel is easy to access to the Restaurant, Public Park, Minimart7-11 and Hill tribe Museum within 3 minute walk. At Nak Nakara, we provide the best service to ensure guests' happiness. The tour can be arranged by front officer at the front desk. Also bicycles are available for rental free of charge. The hotel offers strength signal free Wi-Fi in public and free Wi-Fi in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nak Nakara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing