We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We stayed at the Dusit island at our first day at the north. Very good hotel, spacious room (actually a suit) good service, very beautiful view of the river. Away of center town but close enough to walk ( they drive you to the outside road and from there you either take a TUK TUK or five munutes walk to the city center). It was one of our best stays in Thailand.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    303
    118
    35
    9
See reviews for
150
323
49
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lier, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

This was our fourth stay since 1998; 13 years ago Dusit Island Resort was “simply the best” hotel in Chiang Rai. However during the last years a few brandnew top-hotels have been build (The Legend, Le Meridien, Imperial River House), so competition is high. We booked a standard “superior” room, including breakfast buffet at booking.com for 2950bt/night, but prices go up and down.
Hotel is located on its own island in the Khok-river, 2km from night market and central bus station … if you are fit enough this will be no problem to walk this short distance, for lazy people there are plenty of taxis and tuktuks throughout the city or you can take the shuttle service of the hotel (not for free : 40bt/pp). Our room (30m²) was comfortable, very clean, and quiet at night, with view on the Khok river. Excellent bed. Good and silent airco, TV, fridge. Large bathroom with separate bath and shower, all amenities, adequate and clean. Wifi available but at crazy rates : 535bt/day.
You can take a huge breakfast buffet inside or outside on the riverbank. During the day you can relax near the giant swimming pool (ocean-like), most of the time you will be alone. Sauna, fitness room, tenniscourts, super-large garden.
We have stayed in a few other 3* and 4*-hotels in Chiang Rai (Wiang Inn, Wang Come, Laluna, Rimkok resort), but Dusit Island resort is by far our favourite. For those people who have complaints about this hotel : don’t foolish yourself if you want 5-star service for a 4-star price, but go to Le Meridien and pay at least 2,5x the Dusit rate !

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ludovicvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patong, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stay in a deluxe room with a good view of river and mountain but no balcony. Yes as other said impressive lobby but room need to be renovated. Air cond and carpet were smelly. The shower also outdate and rust. The hotel facility is good, big clean swimming pool and good service. They provided a deliver to night bazzar and pick up from Airport.

Room Tip: Deluxe is better with good view which is the best part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jess5549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

The Dusit Island is one of the top hotels in Chiang Rai but that still doesn't make it a top hotel. The lobby is impressive until you are delivered to your room. The hallways were not air conditioned and the carpets were dirty and in need of replacement. Our room seemed shabby for a hotel of this caliber however when I registered my disappointment to the hotel manager he was very quick to acknowledge our concerns and immediately set about to rectify the situation. Even though our stay was only for 2 nights he moved us to the Executive Suite and insisted on treating us to a traditional Thai feast in the hotel restaurant. Service like that makes up for a lot of cosmetic flaws. Be sure to ask for the most newly renovated rooms when booking.The breakfast buffet had many Western and Asian specialities to choose from and the staff works hard to make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: Room 904 was terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellerQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Though the hotel likes to call itself 5 star, it's getting a older and I like most these days consider it a very good 4 star. While the rooms could use some modernization touches, overall it is a great place to stay. Scenically located on an island in the river just 5 minutes from the town center, rooms are good, huge and beautiful swimming pool, decent fitness room and excellent Thai service all around. Food and beverage service is typical Dustit quality (which is a good thing). Hard to beat in Chiang Rai for the price.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WorldGolfTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

I had ten days here and was reluctant to leave at the end. There was a special on suite upgrades and the corner suite I had seemed very good value at around 3,000 Baht per night including wifi. The staff were lovely and the room and view so nice I had a hard time getting out to see the sights. Staff arranged golf for me at Santiburi. I would go back just for the peace and quiet. If you are a golfer try the army Mengrai course just around the corner.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BJH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Wonderful hotel. Very friendly and helpful service, really can't fault the staff.

Room was large and generally clean, though the carpet could do with replacing. Stayed in a Deluxe King, very roomy, and we considered to be reasonable value for money (paid about $140/night with b'fast and unlimited in room internet). Great view looking out over the river, though our balcony was also right next to the cooling towers for the hotel air conditioning, which made it quite loud (you couldn't hear them inside the room).

The hotel brought me a b'day cake on our last day, which was a nice touch.

The only downside was that the hotel was a bit of a walk from the town, about 30mins to the bus station. You can get a pick-up taxi from the bus station to the hotel for about 60baht, which is ok. A bit cheaper for one of the bike taxi's, which sit outside the front enterance to the resort.

Pool was HUGE, with a nice pool side bar.

Overall, if you don't mind the walk to town, it's a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexandJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
10.2 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
1.0 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 109 in Chiang Rai
491 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 109 in Chiang Rai
979 reviews
1.7 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 109 in Chiang Rai
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai

Property: Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
Address: 1129 Kraisorasit Road | Vieng Subdistrict, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Rai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai is Situated on an Island in the Mae Kok River that flows through central Chiang Rai, Thailand's northernmost province. Located next to Chiang Rai Town and less than 45 minutes from the Golden Triangle where the borders of Thailand, Burma and Laos meet, Dusit Island Resort provides a gateway to explore the varied sights and sounds of the northern region. With easy access to the mountains, forests, rivers, ancient temples and colourful hilltribes, many of the region's major attractions are within a day's journey from the resort.The hotel's decor and furnishings also reflect the diversity of norhtern Thai styles. For special functions, guests can enjoy traditional dining on the floor while leaning against multi-coloured triangular cushions. The Mae Kok River provides a spectacular natural backdrop visible from all the guest rooms, as well from the rooftop restaurant, The Peak. Primarily a resort hotel, the Dusit Island Resort is also fully equipped to host business meetings, seminars and a variety of social functions.Whether travelling on business or for pleasure, no trip to northern Thailand would be complete without a stay at Dusit Island Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Island Resort, Chiang Rai Hotel Wiang
Dusit Island Hotel Chiang Rai
Dusit Chiang Rai
Chiang Rai Dusit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing