We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (850)
Filter reviews
850 results
Traveller rating
320
346
132
42
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
346
132
42
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschinese restaurantpeak restaurantthe riverisland cafeseparate bath and showerorganic gardentuk tukhuge poolnight marketbreakfast buffettravel agentbeautiful hotellovely groundsspent one nighttour grouplarge hotelnorthern thailand
Filter
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 850 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Me and a friend decided to go there to have a dinner together.

We took a taxi to the hotel, and took the elevator to the top floor where The Peak steak restaurant is located. The restaurant was completely empty except for a couple of staffs. They seated us at a nice table that for the short time before it get completely dark outside, had a very nice view of the surrounding area. But even after it got dark, the view was still nice with the lights turning on.

We ordered our food and drinks. I first had a very nice and creamy mushroom soup. I had then ordered an entrecôte, but was not that impressed with it since it was a bit tough. I then had the Crème brûlée for dessert that was very good. The price for the food was a bit high related to the quality of the food.

After dinner we went down to the lobby area, where we had some nice drinks and listened to the piano player and some good old standards. I also took a little breather and a cigarette outside the lobby where there were a very nice view towards the swimming pool.

All in all, a very scenic place for a dinner between friends, and would also be a nice place for a romantic dinner for a couple.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sven-Erik1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, ผู้จัดการ at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Sven-Erik1968

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor. We always appreciate receiving quest comments so that we may review our performance and strive to maintain the highest standard of service for our guests.

It is particularly wonderful to read such complimentary remarks about our restaurants; The Peak and Lobby Lounge. I will ensure your kind compliments are shared to all concerned.

We were most pleased to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mr. Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Dusit Island is a great hotel in Chiang Rai
Very good and quiet location in this busy city
It's by the river, so you'll wake up to a beautiful view, and that's the way to start your day.
The staff here is so friendly and welcoming.
I really enjoyed it :-)))

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HagitLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear HagitLove,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us on this website. We were delighted that you selected Dusit Island Resort for your stay in Chiang Rai. It will be my great pleasure to share your review with our team.
We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mr. Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed here two nights as part of a Gate 1 tour.

This is a beautiful hotel, inside and out. Our room was large, clean, and very comfortable. The bathrooms are not befitting a 5 star hotel, however; just OK. It was clean, the most important part. It could use a makeover at this point, we believe.

The breakfast bar was adequate, with lots of choices. For dinner, I recommend ala carte ordering in the Chinese restaurant next to the main dining room. It was about half the cost of the dinner buffet, and was VERY good. One of our best meals in Thailand!

The pool is the size of some lakes - one of the largest I have encountered.

To get to the restaurants downtown takes a taxi or tuk-tuk. Too far to walk. Downtown be sure to eat at Da Vinci's Italian. Very good food there, and a welcome respot from Thai.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Littlera,

Warm greetings from Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai!

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We always appreciate receiving quest comments so that we may review our performance. It is particularly wonderful to read such complimentary remarks about our Chinese restaurant – Chinatown.
We were most pleased to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dusit Island Resort in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mr. Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed there for close to a week. Quiet hotel. Lovely property with a river running through it. Medium sized gym and a decent sized pool. Food quality quite poor. Rooms feel dated. Musty smell. Fairly large hotel. Staff friendly. This place is ok if you get a good deal and want a quiet, clean place. Also, nothing nearby so you have to trek to get to any shops/restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shah M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Shah M A,

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciated receiving that our staff impressed you during your stay. Please be assured we will check into issues mentioned to review our performance and strive to maintain the highest standard of service for our guests.

All staff and management team were most pleased to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai in the near future.
Yours sincerely,

Mr. Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I ordered the hotel with mixed emotions because of some of the reviews warning about it being dated . When we arrived the we were so pleasantly surprised! It is a beautiful hotel, with great service , ambiance, pool, views, and breakfast!
True- it is not brand new and the rooms are not the most modern, but it is really a great hotel well worth staying at, and do not fear the reviews about "dated", it sounds frightening but it should not be. We even decided to check out later than we planned in order to enjoy the hotel just a bit more.
We stayed at deluxe rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liatTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, ผู้จัดการฝ่ายประชาสัมพันธ์ at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear LiatTelAviv,

Thank you so much for leaving your comment on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate receiving that our hotel and service impressed you during your stay. Moreover you extended your stay to enjoy our service. Your valuable comments will be pleasure to share with all our team members.

Thank you again for your kind review and we look forward for your next visit at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai.

Yours sincerely,

Mr. Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews