We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (850)
Filter reviews
850 results
Traveller rating
320
346
132
42
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
346
132
42
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschinese restaurantpeak restaurantthe riverisland cafeseparate bath and showerorganic gardentuk tukhuge poolnight marketbreakfast buffettravel agentbeautiful hotellovely groundsspent one nighttour grouplarge hotelnorthern thailand
Filter
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 850 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Beautiful grounds, a fabulous pool, and an lovely lobby welcome you to this hotel. While we found the exterior and lobby to be quite nice, the rooms themselves need to be updated. Though they are large and comfortable, they are in need of a makeover. We stayed here five nights and the location is perfect. You can get to town quickly either by taxi, tuk-tuk or on foot, and it is easy to get to many of the key attractions. It was a good place to locate ourselves, though I am not sure we would stay here again if we came back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Ms. Cindy E,

Thank you so much for leaving your comment on TripAdvisor. We were delighted that you selected Dusit Island Resort for your stay in Chiang Rai. It will be my great pleasure to share your review with our team.

Thank you again for your kind review and we hope to have an opportunity to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Mr. Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This was our second Christmas here in two years and; oh dear! it has gone downhill. There were fewer people and prices had risen, especially for the Christmas Buffet by around 22% from last year, hence a lack of the party atmosphere over Christmas. I have nothing but admiration for the female waiting staff, as the weather was very cold and they had to perform their duties without additional warm clothing, but still kept smiling throughout. Only real complaint would be about the Thai 'super rich' who selfishly park their Porsches and Benz in the loading/unloading area thus inconveniencing the 99% other guests. I put that down to weak management. All said and done, I don't think we shall return next year.

Room Tip: Best rooms overlook the River Kok. Avoid the rooms directly above the waste-water treatment plant.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Mr. Peter B,

Warm greetings from Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai!

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai on TripAdvisor. We always appreciate receiving quest comments so that we may review our performance and strive to maintain the highest standard of service for our guests.

We are sorry to learn that our service at parking area which front of hotel during Christmas Dinner cannot meet your satisfaction. Our guest satisfaction is extremely important to the hotel and your comment is a major concern for us. We apologize for this situation and we have taken action with all concerned to improve our standard of service.

All staff and management team were most pleased to be at your service and we hope you will give us an opportunity of regaining your confidence in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,
Mr. Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Me and a friend decided to go there to have a dinner together.

We took a taxi to the hotel, and took the elevator to the top floor where The Peak steak restaurant is located. The restaurant was completely empty except for a couple of staffs. They seated us at a nice table that for the short time before it get completely dark outside, had a very nice view of the surrounding area. But even after it got dark, the view was still nice with the lights turning on.

We ordered our food and drinks. I first had a very nice and creamy mushroom soup. I had then ordered an entrecôte, but was not that impressed with it since it was a bit tough. I then had the Crème brûlée for dessert that was very good. The price for the food was a bit high related to the quality of the food.

After dinner we went down to the lobby area, where we had some nice drinks and listened to the piano player and some good old standards. I also took a little breather and a cigarette outside the lobby where there were a very nice view towards the swimming pool.

All in all, a very scenic place for a dinner between friends, and would also be a nice place for a romantic dinner for a couple.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sven-Erik1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, ผู้จัดการ at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Sven-Erik1968

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor. We always appreciate receiving quest comments so that we may review our performance and strive to maintain the highest standard of service for our guests.

It is particularly wonderful to read such complimentary remarks about our restaurants; The Peak and Lobby Lounge. I will ensure your kind compliments are shared to all concerned.

We were most pleased to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mr. Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Dusit Island is a great hotel in Chiang Rai
Very good and quiet location in this busy city
It's by the river, so you'll wake up to a beautiful view, and that's the way to start your day.
The staff here is so friendly and welcoming.
I really enjoyed it :-)))

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HagitLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear HagitLove,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us on this website. We were delighted that you selected Dusit Island Resort for your stay in Chiang Rai. It will be my great pleasure to share your review with our team.
We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mr. Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed here two nights as part of a Gate 1 tour.

This is a beautiful hotel, inside and out. Our room was large, clean, and very comfortable. The bathrooms are not befitting a 5 star hotel, however; just OK. It was clean, the most important part. It could use a makeover at this point, we believe.

The breakfast bar was adequate, with lots of choices. For dinner, I recommend ala carte ordering in the Chinese restaurant next to the main dining room. It was about half the cost of the dinner buffet, and was VERY good. One of our best meals in Thailand!

The pool is the size of some lakes - one of the largest I have encountered.

To get to the restaurants downtown takes a taxi or tuk-tuk. Too far to walk. Downtown be sure to eat at Da Vinci's Italian. Very good food there, and a welcome respot from Thai.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Littlera,

Warm greetings from Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai!

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We always appreciate receiving quest comments so that we may review our performance. It is particularly wonderful to read such complimentary remarks about our Chinese restaurant – Chinatown.
We were most pleased to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dusit Island Resort in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mr. Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews