We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (850)
Filter reviews
850 results
Traveller rating
320
346
132
42
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
346
132
42
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chinese restaurant peak restaurant the river island cafe separate bath and shower organic garden tuk tuk huge pool night market breakfast buffet travel agent beautiful hotel lovely grounds spent one night tour group large hotel northern thailand
Filter
Updating list...
257 - 262 of 850 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The grounds the rooms the restaurants, just gorgeous. I would definitely return. Everything is elegant, big, lush grounds, I never made it to the pool it was just not in the program.
Don't forget to get a massage every hotel you stay at, as these are bargain priced and really good.
Love Thailand

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WantToSeeItAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear WantToSeeItAll,

Warm greetings from Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai!

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I was absolutely delighted to read your comments about your recent experience of our hotel. It is particularly wonderful to read such complimentary remarks about you definitely return.

We were most pleased to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dusit Island Resort in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

we stayed in a landmark suite. Beautiful view, nice, large, clean room. Good swimming pool. Nice breakfast restaurant with excellent buffet. Very friendly staff. Walking distance from town and night market.Excellent value for money. Don't use their shuttle which is a bit of a rip off at 60BHT per person. A metered taxi came to pick us up to go to the night market. The meter price was just 37BHT.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruno1234Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Bruno1234Brussels,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us on this website. We were delighted that you selected Dusit Island Resort for your stay in Chiang Rai.

I am delighted to read that our hotel exceeded your expectations and will ensure your kind compliments are shared with my team members.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We booked into the Dusit Island Resort, only because none of the better hotels around the city centre had any vacancies. They gave us a large corner room which was very nice and ridiculously large, but it had so much wasted space and was poorly designed e.g., it contained a kitchenette (bench top, sink, cupboards etc.), which seemed to have no real use because it had no oven or cooktop and so you couldn't cook anything, and the fridge was tiny. The wardrobe was in the bathroom, and so what could have been a large spacious bathroom with separate bath and shower, ended up being quite small and pokey with nowhere to hang a towel or robe, plus the robe itself was quite small. Yet there was so much un-used space in other parts of the room - very strange. The staff were very friendly, but the one and only meal we had in the hotel was terrible. On our first night, we arrived quite late and so decided to just order a light meal from the bar/lounge area, we ordered a 'gourmet' burger, and a ham and cheese panini, both of which were so bad as to be almost inedible. The price of drinks was also quite exorbitant. Overall our stay was nice, but very expensive, and if we had the choice gain, would definitely book into a more reasonably priced hotel much nearer the city centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river on one of the higher floors
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Shane W,

Warm greetings from Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feed back with us on TripAdvisor. We always appreciate receiving quest comments so that we strive to maintain the highest standard of service for our guests.

I do acknowledge your comments regarding the burger and the ham & cheese panini at Gourmet and I have taken action with all concerned to improve our standard of service.

All staff and management team were most pleased to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

big and comfortable hotel, quite near to chang rai centre. Rooms are BIG, everything is quite elegant also in the hall. We had the new year's dinner here, there was a show in the very big garden beside the swimming pool, and the food was exremely good, with an infinite international choice.
Same thing for the breakfast. Really nothing to complain about this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pettaspagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Pettaspagna,

Thank you very much for leaving your comment on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read that you had a most enjoyable experience and it will be our pleasure to share your kind comments with all our team members.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Thank you again for selecting Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Somebody described the Dusit to me as “faded elegance” which I think sums up the Dusit well. The lobby and bar area are still very grand and the properties pool and gardens are beautiful in an idyllic setting beside the Mae Kok river. However the rooms are a time-warp and the bathrooms very tired. However the rooms are a decent size with very comfortable beds and pillows, finally a hotel in Thailand where the beds are not like sleeping on a wooden plank.

The service was hit and miss and seemed to cater most for the well to do locals, however there were many excellent Staff members. We ate many meals at the Dusit which we all delicious and good quality, my only complaint was the extremely high cost of alcoholic beverages. Breakfast was a wide selection of Western, European and Asian style dishes.

We were there over Christmas and the Dusit had a lovely Christmas tree in the lobby, there was also several Christmas dinner and drink events held and all hotel guests received a small stocking with treats, I thought this was a really nice touch and was also great having 2 young kids away from home for Christmas.

The tour desk can organise day trips for you, there is a lot to do and see in the Chiang Rai area. If you plan to go on an elephant ride it is cheaper to book the boat through the hotel and arrange your own elephant when you hit the elephant village, this way you can also ride the elephant for as long as you wish. Don’t miss a visit to the White Temple and Black House, whilst the Night Bazaar is a great place to buy handicrafts and souvenirs

Sometimes getting a cab or tuk -tuk into town took a while but the 15-20 minute walk is nice and you also pass through a very lively locals market.

I wouldn't rule the Dusit out but next time would probably go for something more modern or in traditional Lanna style.

Room Tip: River views are nice
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyKate_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear SydneyKate_40,

Thank you so much for leaving your comment on TripAdvisor. We were delighted that you selected Dusit Island Resort for your stay in Chiang Rai. It will be my great pleasure to share your review with our team.

We always appreciate receiving quest comments so that we may review our performance and strive to maintain the highest standard of service for our guests.
Thank you again for your kind review and we hope to have an opportunity to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews