We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
Ranked #7 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Booked in for 3 nights and coud have stayed more. the staff coud not do enough for you from begining to end. Rooms were big and clean, we were lucky enough to have one on the 6th floor with a view of the river with a Wat in the background and the hug pool. Fruit was delivered to our room soon after we arived. The grounds were big and nice to walk around. I had the huge pool to myself duringthe day until people returned from their day trips, it was bliss. Food was delicious, only rawback the island cafe where we ate was cold as the air conditioning was on all the time and was not needed, at breakfast time we sat outside with the sun shining on us because it was so cold in the cafe. The breakfast buffet was really good and food in the evenings didnt go out of the hotel to eat it was so good. Also two of the nights there was entertainment outside in the garden for a large company staff do, this made it very noisy in the cafe where we were eating and when we went to bed. The next night it seemed to be a kareoke for the children again noisy. We would return again but would make sure there were no functions on at the time.

Room Tip: Ask for room higher up and view over river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Harina M,

Thank you very much for sharing on TripAdvisor. We always appreciate receiving quest comments so that we may strive to maintain the standard of service for our guests.

I am delighted to read that our hotel exceeded your expectations. I will ensure your kind compliments are shared to all concerned. Also I do acknowledge your comments regarding the functions. I do apologize for this situation and I have taken action with all concerned.

Thank you again for your kind review and we hope to have an opportunity to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,
Mana Chanhorm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    298
    118
    34
    9
See reviews for
147
318
48
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
154 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The grounds the rooms the restaurants, just gorgeous. I would definitely return. Everything is elegant, big, lush grounds, I never made it to the pool it was just not in the program.
Don't forget to get a massage every hotel you stay at, as these are bargain priced and really good.
Love Thailand

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WantToSeeItAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear WantToSeeItAll,

Warm greetings from Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai!

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I was absolutely delighted to read your comments about your recent experience of our hotel. It is particularly wonderful to read such complimentary remarks about you definitely return.

We were most pleased to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dusit Island Resort in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

we stayed in a landmark suite. Beautiful view, nice, large, clean room. Good swimming pool. Nice breakfast restaurant with excellent buffet. Very friendly staff. Walking distance from town and night market.Excellent value for money. Don't use their shuttle which is a bit of a rip off at 60BHT per person. A metered taxi came to pick us up to go to the night market. The meter price was just 37BHT.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruno1234Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Bruno1234Brussels,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us on this website. We were delighted that you selected Dusit Island Resort for your stay in Chiang Rai.

I am delighted to read that our hotel exceeded your expectations and will ensure your kind compliments are shared with my team members.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
215 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We booked into the Dusit Island Resort, only because none of the better hotels around the city centre had any vacancies. They gave us a large corner room which was very nice and ridiculously large, but it had so much wasted space and was poorly designed e.g., it contained a kitchenette (bench top, sink, cupboards etc.), which seemed to have no real use because it had no oven or cooktop and so you couldn't cook anything, and the fridge was tiny. The wardrobe was in the bathroom, and so what could have been a large spacious bathroom with separate bath and shower, ended up being quite small and pokey with nowhere to hang a towel or robe, plus the robe itself was quite small. Yet there was so much un-used space in other parts of the room - very strange. The staff were very friendly, but the one and only meal we had in the hotel was terrible. On our first night, we arrived quite late and so decided to just order a light meal from the bar/lounge area, we ordered a 'gourmet' burger, and a ham and cheese panini, both of which were so bad as to be almost inedible. The price of drinks was also quite exorbitant. Overall our stay was nice, but very expensive, and if we had the choice gain, would definitely book into a more reasonably priced hotel much nearer the city centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river on one of the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Shane W,

Warm greetings from Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feed back with us on TripAdvisor. We always appreciate receiving quest comments so that we strive to maintain the highest standard of service for our guests.

I do acknowledge your comments regarding the burger and the ham & cheese panini at Gourmet and I have taken action with all concerned to improve our standard of service.

All staff and management team were most pleased to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milan
Level Contributor
212 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

big and comfortable hotel, quite near to chang rai centre. Rooms are BIG, everything is quite elegant also in the hall. We had the new year's dinner here, there was a show in the very big garden beside the swimming pool, and the food was exremely good, with an infinite international choice.
Same thing for the breakfast. Really nothing to complain about this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pettaspagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Pettaspagna,

Thank you very much for leaving your comment on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read that you had a most enjoyable experience and it will be our pleasure to share your kind comments with all our team members.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Thank you again for selecting Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Somebody described the Dusit to me as “faded elegance” which I think sums up the Dusit well. The lobby and bar area are still very grand and the properties pool and gardens are beautiful in an idyllic setting beside the Mae Kok river. However the rooms are a time-warp and the bathrooms very tired. However the rooms are a decent size with very comfortable beds and pillows, finally a hotel in Thailand where the beds are not like sleeping on a wooden plank.

The service was hit and miss and seemed to cater most for the well to do locals, however there were many excellent Staff members. We ate many meals at the Dusit which we all delicious and good quality, my only complaint was the extremely high cost of alcoholic beverages. Breakfast was a wide selection of Western, European and Asian style dishes.

We were there over Christmas and the Dusit had a lovely Christmas tree in the lobby, there was also several Christmas dinner and drink events held and all hotel guests received a small stocking with treats, I thought this was a really nice touch and was also great having 2 young kids away from home for Christmas.

The tour desk can organise day trips for you, there is a lot to do and see in the Chiang Rai area. If you plan to go on an elephant ride it is cheaper to book the boat through the hotel and arrange your own elephant when you hit the elephant village, this way you can also ride the elephant for as long as you wish. Don’t miss a visit to the White Temple and Black House, whilst the Night Bazaar is a great place to buy handicrafts and souvenirs

Sometimes getting a cab or tuk -tuk into town took a while but the 15-20 minute walk is nice and you also pass through a very lively locals market.

I wouldn't rule the Dusit out but next time would probably go for something more modern or in traditional Lanna style.

Room Tip: River views are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyKate_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear SydneyKate_40,

Thank you so much for leaving your comment on TripAdvisor. We were delighted that you selected Dusit Island Resort for your stay in Chiang Rai. It will be my great pleasure to share your review with our team.

We always appreciate receiving quest comments so that we may review our performance and strive to maintain the highest standard of service for our guests.
Thank you again for your kind review and we hope to have an opportunity to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The plusses of this hotel are: location and the huge infinity pool, if you appreciate cold water. The change room is old and has it's wear and tear. There is an ugly whirlpool that does not look very clean. My room was okay, but without spirit, old bathroom. All shades were hanging aloof and I had to ask housekeeping to replace 3 lamp bulbs. At the breakfast buffet I asked one of the employees (trainee) what he was serving: "no clue". The Chinese restaurant did not have red wine on stock which should be the case in a hotel like this. The rice was served cold, and asked for a warm bowl that was served after I finished my dinner. Next day I had dinner in town which was incomparable better quality. Reception was not really very hospitable.

In sum: the place appears to rely on its brand name and package tourism. There is a reason why they offer great discounts through booking.com. So if you want to have a very affordable stay, do not mind the above mentioned details and enjoy it. However, if you expect Dusit Thani Bangkok style, you will be dissappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Bhogi,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to learn that our service during your stay did not meet your expectations.

Your comments on the problems you experienced have been well noted. Please rest assured that your raising issues have taken action with all concerned staff and management to improve our standard of service. Moreover, the renovation project is now under our management discuss. Again, we do apologize for any inconvenience caused.

All staff and management team sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
1.0 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
644 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 108 in Chiang Rai
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
1.7 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
164 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 108 in Chiang Rai
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai

Property: Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
Address: 1129 Kraisorasit Road | Vieng Subdistrict, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Rai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai is Situated on an Island in the Mae Kok River that flows through central Chiang Rai, Thailand's northernmost province. Located next to Chiang Rai Town and less than 45 minutes from the Golden Triangle where the borders of Thailand, Burma and Laos meet, Dusit Island Resort provides a gateway to explore the varied sights and sounds of the northern region. With easy access to the mountains, forests, rivers, ancient temples and colourful hilltribes, many of the region's major attractions are within a day's journey from the resort.The hotel's decor and furnishings also reflect the diversity of norhtern Thai styles. For special functions, guests can enjoy traditional dining on the floor while leaning against multi-coloured triangular cushions. The Mae Kok River provides a spectacular natural backdrop visible from all the guest rooms, as well from the rooftop restaurant, The Peak. Primarily a resort hotel, the Dusit Island Resort is also fully equipped to host business meetings, seminars and a variety of social functions.Whether travelling on business or for pleasure, no trip to northern Thailand would be complete without a stay at Dusit Island Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelbag, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Island Resort, Chiang Rai Hotel Wiang
Dusit Island Hotel Chiang Rai
Dusit Chiang Rai
Chiang Rai Dusit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing