We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
Nearby Hotels
Le Patta(Chiang Rai)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Nak Nakara(Chiang Rai)
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$35
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ben Guesthouse(Chiang Rai)
US$24
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (850)
Filter reviews
850 results
Traveller rating
320
347
132
41
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
347
132
41
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschinese restaurantpeak restaurantthe riverthai coffeeisland cafeseparate bath and showerorganic gardentuk tukhuge poolnight marketbreakfast buffettop floorgardens are beautifultravel agenthotel shuttlebeautiful hotelspent one night
Filter
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 850 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The Dusit Island hotel is a wonderful hotel located in Chiang Rai. The rooms and hotel are not particularly modern, but were definitely 5-star when constructed. The hotel entry, rooms, hallways are exceptionally roomy. We had the breakfast included option, which was spectacular. The pool was lovely, but were were pressed for time and didn't spend much time lounging. If you are in Chiang Rai, make sure you get to the night market - very nice experience and a short tuck-tuck ride to and from the hotel. Staff are friendly, and the host/greeter is a lovely man you'd like to simply take home with you. Highly recommend the Thai coffee if you make it for breakfast.

Room Tip: Not sure, we stayed a short time and the room was adequate for sure.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garbo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Garbo_10,

Warm greetings from Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read that our hotel exceeded your expectations. Please kindly ensure your kind compliments are shared to all concerned.

We were most pleased to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night as part of a tour of Thailand and we were sorry we didnt get here earlier in the day to make the most of such a nice hotel, had a swim in the dark though. Didn't eat the evening meal in the hotel ventured out to the nearest restaurant which was very good and very cheap. Amazing breakfast at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol_A_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Carol_A_N,

Thank you very much for leaving your comment on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read that you had a most enjoyable experience and it will be our pleasure to share your kind comments with all our team members.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Thank you again for selecting Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is a good hotel, out of the city centre but only a few minutes in a tuk tuk. It is clean, the staff are helpful and the facilities are good, although whilst we were there the games room/bar was closed and we had to ask as there was no signage informing you.. Pool was very good, by the side of the Mae Kok river and with views up into the hills.
On the negative side, it was very quiet so eating in the hotel was a little dull although the food was good. Also thought the breakfast was overpriced, we got transport to and from town and bought a good cooked breakfast for less than the hotel was charging, having just come from Bangkok it was dearer than there. Also need more beds around the pool although it was quiet there was only about 20 beds which sometimes did get full.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Suzanne S,

Thank you very much for leaving your kind comment on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate receiving that our hotel and service impressed you during your stay. Your valuable comments will be pleasure to share with all our team members and also have been well noted.

Thank you again that you selected Dusit Island Resort for your stay in Chiang Rai and we look forward for your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The hotel is in a good location close to the City, in a garden setting. The staff were good (with the exception of the restaurant staff at breakfast). Reasonable sized rooms. Good bathrooms with a separate shower cubicle. Water flow from shower was pathetic, and temperature kept changing - one minute hot, next minute cold. Food choice at breakfast was reasonable, but the staff were inefficient with providing tea and coffee, and were very slow at clearing used crockery. One morning the milk provided on the table was off. We complained and were given another jug, but this was the same so we went without. The coffee shop however was great, the cakes were fabulous. The swimming pool was large and well presented, but there were insufficient loungers and the water in the pool was the coldest we have ever been in.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Jean B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to learn that our hotel and staff did not meet your expectations. Please rest assured that your raising issues have taken action with all concerned staff and management to improve our standard of service.

All staff and management were most pleased to be at your service and we hope you will give us an opportunity of regaining your confidence in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Great older and very well maintained property that has a lot of character with the well groomed grounds and the older feel. Great views from the room we had looking down on the river. It was great to see the fishing boats and local river traffic when we woke up in the morning. I short walk to the city and all the food was just excellent. Staff I felt where very good and friendly and provided great service. Interesting that this is the most rural hotel location in our Thailand trip and an older property but it had the best internet beating out two places we stayed in Bangkok (15 megabit connection speeds which is pretty amazing all things considered)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Chris P,

Thank you very much for leaving your comment on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read that you had a most enjoyable experience and it will be our pleasure to share your kind comments with all our team members.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Thank you again for selecting Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews