We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort with a friendly elf on duty!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
Ranked #7 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is an old, but beautiful resort with a large garden area and a scenic riverside and pool. The resort has an old style charm with is made more 'tactile' by the presence of a friendly liftman, dressed in the traditional Chiangmai dress with tinkling bells and a tinkling smile, exuding so much warmth that I am tempted to call him the resort's 'elf'. When we first came in, the staff at front desk was just okay in terms of hospitality. In fact they even mismanaged the allocation of the room for us, so we were a bit put off. But this elf was there with such humility and warm hospitality that all our initial disappointment vanished. Finally, the room that we got was nice and spacious. Some furnishing are a bit dated and need replacement- like the lamps, rugs, furniture, but perhaps these are also the things that lend it the old style charm.

The breakfast is a good spread of English and Thai breakfast items and a good selection of cold cuts and fruits. I also liked their Thai tea and hot ginger tea. The breakfast is served in their Chinatown restaurant, where we also had lunch twice, and liked it. Good preparations.

There's a lot of space to walk or bike around and see, including a cute little organic herb garden maintained by the resort. It's nice and the gardener there is friendly. He gave us a few tips on growing lemon grass. They also have a massage place, which on the same campus but not owned by Dusit. These are small charming old style huts with massage beds on the floor. The massage was extremely relaxing but there's no facility to shower inside so we had to shower in our room before and after the massage. We went for a long walk around and outside the resort, along the river bank and it was very nice to see the rugged land around with local thai residences and their life style. Coming back we took a boat ride on the river, which brought us back to the river bank pier by the resort.

Overall, ours was a good experience. If I happen to go to Chiangrai again, I wouldn't mind staying at Dusit island, especially to meet my Elf. I should have asked his name.

Room Tip: Ask in advance for room with the view of the river and pool. Not all rooms have that view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtulaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear AtulaA,

Thank you so much for leaving your comment on TripAdvisor. We were delighted that you selected Dusit Island Resort for your stay in Chiang Rai. It is particularly wonderful to read such complimentary remarks about “Elf”. I think his name is Supap. It will be my great pleasure to thank him in person for your kind appreciation of his services and hospitality.

We always appreciate receiving quest comments so that we may review our performance and strive to maintain the highest standard of service for our guests.

Thank you again for your kind review. All staff and management team were most pleased to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

The manager should be very proud of his staff at this resort. I have lived in Thailand for the past 19 years and have traveled extensively throughout the country and this hotel has been the best. The service from all the staff was exceptional.
Our friends from the UK were very pleased we had booked this hotel and they were also impressed.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Robert E,

Thank you very much for leaving your comment on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read that you had a most enjoyable experience and it will be my pleasure to share your kind comments with all our team members.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Thank you again for selecting Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This hotel is nothing special, but good for what it is: rooms are ok, clean but bit dated with nice beds; service is friendly, breakfast good and location and environment around are just fine. I stayed in the hotel for a business meeting, and it was functional was such event.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank president_kekkonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear President_kekkonen,

Warm greetings from Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read that our hotel exceeded your expectations. Please kindly ensure your kind compliments are shared to all concerned.

We were most pleased to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at the Dusit Island Hotel as part of a tour of Thailand, so we only stayed for one night. Our room was superb, a very high standard....as is the whole hotel, the staff are very attentive and the food is excellent. Wonderful breakfast and the views over the river as the sun was rising made it very memorable. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGeminiTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear TheGeminiTravellers,

Thank you very much for leaving your kind comment on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate receiving that our hotel and service impressed you during your stay. Your valuable comments will be pleasure to share with all our team members and also have been well noted.

Thank you again that you selected Dusit Island Resort for your stay in Chiang Rai and we look forward for your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The Dusit Island hotel is a wonderful hotel located in Chiang Rai. The rooms and hotel are not particularly modern, but were definitely 5-star when constructed. The hotel entry, rooms, hallways are exceptionally roomy. We had the breakfast included option, which was spectacular. The pool was lovely, but were were pressed for time and didn't spend much time lounging. If you are in Chiang Rai, make sure you get to the night market - very nice experience and a short tuck-tuck ride to and from the hotel. Staff are friendly, and the host/greeter is a lovely man you'd like to simply take home with you. Highly recommend the Thai coffee if you make it for breakfast.

Room Tip: Not sure, we stayed a short time and the room was adequate for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garbo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Garbo_10,

Warm greetings from Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read that our hotel exceeded your expectations. Please kindly ensure your kind compliments are shared to all concerned.

We were most pleased to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night as part of a tour of Thailand and we were sorry we didnt get here earlier in the day to make the most of such a nice hotel, had a swim in the dark though. Didn't eat the evening meal in the hotel ventured out to the nearest restaurant which was very good and very cheap. Amazing breakfast at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol_A_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Carol_A_N,

Thank you very much for leaving your comment on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read that you had a most enjoyable experience and it will be our pleasure to share your kind comments with all our team members.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Thank you again for selecting Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is a good hotel, out of the city centre but only a few minutes in a tuk tuk. It is clean, the staff are helpful and the facilities are good, although whilst we were there the games room/bar was closed and we had to ask as there was no signage informing you.. Pool was very good, by the side of the Mae Kok river and with views up into the hills.
On the negative side, it was very quiet so eating in the hotel was a little dull although the food was good. Also thought the breakfast was overpriced, we got transport to and from town and bought a good cooked breakfast for less than the hotel was charging, having just come from Bangkok it was dearer than there. Also need more beds around the pool although it was quiet there was only about 20 beds which sometimes did get full.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Suzanne S,

Thank you very much for leaving your kind comment on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate receiving that our hotel and service impressed you during your stay. Your valuable comments will be pleasure to share with all our team members and also have been well noted.

Thank you again that you selected Dusit Island Resort for your stay in Chiang Rai and we look forward for your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
1 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
829 reviews
10.2 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 108 in Chiang Rai
535 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 108 in Chiang Rai
1,038 reviews
1.7 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#2 of 108 in Chiang Rai
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai

Address: 1129 Kraisorasit Road | Vieng Subdistrict, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Rai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range: £59 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai is Situated on an Island in the Mae Kok River that flows through central Chiang Rai, Thailand's northernmost province. Located next to Chiang Rai Town and less than 45 minutes from the Golden Triangle where the borders of Thailand, Burma and Laos meet, Dusit Island Resort provides a gateway to explore the varied sights and sounds of the northern region. With easy access to the mountains, forests, rivers, ancient temples and colourful hilltribes, many of the region's major attractions are within a day's journey from the resort.The hotel's decor and furnishings also reflect the diversity of norhtern Thai styles. For special functions, guests can enjoy traditional dining on the floor while leaning against multi-coloured triangular cushions. The Mae Kok River provides a spectacular natural backdrop visible from all the guest rooms, as well from the rooftop restaurant, The Peak. Primarily a resort hotel, the Dusit Island Resort is also fully equipped to host business meetings, seminars and a variety of social functions.Whether travelling on business or for pleasure, no trip to northern Thailand would be complete without a stay at Dusit Island Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Island Resort, Chiang Rai Hotel Wiang
Dusit Island Hotel Chiang Rai
Dusit Chiang Rai
Chiang Rai Dusit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing