We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here while visiting the Golden Triangle and it was very comfortable. I have stayed at the Dusit Thani in Bangkok and found them similar but would still prefer the latter. Dusit Island provides all the comforts but does tend to cater for the Chinese palate a little more - with the selections at the Breakfast buffet and the Chinese restaurant. The pool is enormous and the Pool Bar a real favorite at the end of the day All in all, it is very clean and comfortable and a gem amongst the other Hotels in Chiang Rai. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Robert A,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us on this website. We were delighted that you selected Dusit Island Resort for your stay in Chiang Rai.

I am delighted to read that our hotel exceeded your expectations and will ensure your kind compliments are shared with my team members.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    301
    118
    34
    9
See reviews for
149
319
49
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We went in Chiang Rai for a family trip. We stayed in Dusit Island Chiang Rai hotel and it was a very good experience. The staff is very friendly, the surrounding area is quiet and country side feeling.
The Chinese restaurant down stair is very good, try the Pékin Duck !! Good wines selection at the lobby bar, lounge ambiance. The breakfast outdoor, by the river is very nice.
Rooms are comfy, try the suites, we stayed at 323, super nice with a child, can watch TV, enjoy the room while parents still resting.
Very good overall experience.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Jessy L,

Thank you very much for leaving your comment on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read that you had a most enjoyable experience and it will be my pleasure to share your kind comments with all our team members.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Thank you again for selecting Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Sadly, we only had one night here, as I could have stayed here much longer. It is a little out of town, but 100 Baht in a Tuk-Tuk is all it costs, or take the hotel bus which leaves every hour.
Comfortable rooms, good breakfast, pool bar and amenities were outstanding.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the pool. Its a nice sight in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernieBogtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear BernieBogtrotter,

Thank you very much for leaving your comment on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read that you had a most enjoyable experience and it will be my pleasure to share your kind comments with all our team members.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We loved this place! It seems like it's from another era. We had a beautiful view of the river and gorgeous swimming pool. The room was very comfortable and our bed gave us the best sleep since arriving in Thailand. It's all rather grand and we felt pampered. There is even a wee man with a lovely courteous smile who brings the elevator for you. We didn't eat there but took a tuk tuk for a 5-10 minute ride into the main city area where there were nights markets going on from about 6pm.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Heather M,

Warm greetings from Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai!

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I was absolutely delighted to read your comments about your recent experience of our hotel. It is wonderful complimentary remarks about a wee man with a lovely courteous smile.

We were most pleased to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dusit Island Resort in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Good points...
Nice public rooms

Bad points...
Out of town, bedrooms and bathrooms dirty, very old fashioned, carpet and curtains smell of smoke, staff are rude and the island they refer to is bordered a smelly canal of waste water.
Bedroom full of mosquitos, towels hard as sandpaper, beds all saggy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank June F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear June F,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai on TripAdvisor. We always appreciate receiving quest comments so that we may review our performance and strive to maintain the highest standard of service for our guests.

We are sorry to learn that our service during your stay cannot meet your satisfaction. Our guest satisfaction is extremely important to the hotel and your comment is a major concern for us. We apologize for this situation and we have taken action with all concerned to improve our standard of service.

All staff and management team were most pleased to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phetchaburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife, son and I have stayed at this hotel three or four times previously as it offers a relaxing and natural environment in the middle of the Kok River.
Arrived on the day of the Thailand's biggest earthquake in living memory and so were glad to find that the hotel was so well constructed.
After the initial shock, we made a beeline for the fire escape which we were pleased to find unlocked and the way down free of obstruction - something I wouldn't be so confident of in many of the kingdom's hotels!
The hotel management and staff were superb, no sign of panic and plenty of reassurance. A couple of complimentary drinks to steady the nerves were very much appreciated.
Resisted the temptation to shorten the stay after another aftershock and glad we did as we felt no more trembles. It also meant we had the opportunity to enjoy the excellent Chinatown restaurant on two occasions and also The Peak on 10th floor. During our six days, we also spent plenty of time at the large pool, ping-pong table, fitness centre and on the tennis courts.
Not too busy while we were there, possibly due to people relocating after the quake? Our message would be, don't be put off by a once-in-a-lifetime natural phenomenon. The hotel showed itself to be well-built and also thoroughly prepared in the event of any emergency.
A special thank you to the general manager, Khun Mana, for his genuine care and concern for our well-being throughout our stay. We'll be back before too long without a doubt.

Room Tip: Rooms with river views offer picturesque photo opportunities. Also, try Chinatown restaurant at le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AjarnJonM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear AjarnJonM,

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences on this website. We greatly appreciated receiving that our hotel impressed you during your stay. We were delighted that you selected Dusit Island Resort for your stay in Chiang Rai. It will be my great pleasure to share your review with our team.

All staff and management team were most pleased to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepperton
Level Contributor
76 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here in 1998 when touring with Kuoni so were pleased to return although only for 1 night. Our tour guide arranged for us to have a bit more time at the hotel to enjoy the lovely grounds & swimming pool. Our room was large & lovely with free Wifi. The hotel was far from full & we were the only ones on the bus down to the Night market. We sat outside on the terrace for breakfast where there was a wonderful spread. After breakfast, the lift-boy took us up the ‘Top Deck’ & unlocked the doors so we could enjoy great view.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyWalker09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear HappyWalker09,

Many thanks for staying with us again and for selecting Dusit Island Resort as your hotel in Chiang Rai. It is particularly wonderful to read such complimentary remarks about our hotel on this website. It will be my great pleasure to share your review with our team.

All staff and management team were most pleased to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
1.0 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 109 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
1.7 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 109 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 109 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai

Property: Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
Address: 1129 Kraisorasit Road | Vieng Subdistrict, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Rai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai is Situated on an Island in the Mae Kok River that flows through central Chiang Rai, Thailand's northernmost province. Located next to Chiang Rai Town and less than 45 minutes from the Golden Triangle where the borders of Thailand, Burma and Laos meet, Dusit Island Resort provides a gateway to explore the varied sights and sounds of the northern region. With easy access to the mountains, forests, rivers, ancient temples and colourful hilltribes, many of the region's major attractions are within a day's journey from the resort.The hotel's decor and furnishings also reflect the diversity of norhtern Thai styles. For special functions, guests can enjoy traditional dining on the floor while leaning against multi-coloured triangular cushions. The Mae Kok River provides a spectacular natural backdrop visible from all the guest rooms, as well from the rooftop restaurant, The Peak. Primarily a resort hotel, the Dusit Island Resort is also fully equipped to host business meetings, seminars and a variety of social functions.Whether travelling on business or for pleasure, no trip to northern Thailand would be complete without a stay at Dusit Island Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Island Resort, Chiang Rai Hotel Wiang
Dusit Island Hotel Chiang Rai
Dusit Chiang Rai
Chiang Rai Dusit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing