We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A top notch hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
Ranked #7 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
279 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A top notch hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

I am sorry we only stayed 2 nights at Dusit Island Resort. The hotel is everything you could wish, quiet, fairly large rooms, fantastic view over the river and the mountains in the horizon from the room, great pool with special form and with a bar (did not use), lavishly rich breakfast with a great choice of delicious foods and fruits, especially the pineapple (the crop of the region) is divine. Well functioning wifi (not my experience from other hotels in Thailand during my visit) and friendly and helpful personnel, which make you feel welcome and at "home". The only disadvantage is the distance to the city, but there is a shuttle for which they charge extra. This feels sneaky at a place like this were everything else is far above the 'normal'.

Room Tip: As high up as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BasicsTouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear BasicsJerusalem,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We were delighted that you selected Dusit Island Resort for you stay in Chiang Rai.

Our team works very hard to ensure that we do not only meet, but also exceed our guest expectations. We endeavor to ensure all our guests experiences are as comfortable and memorable as possible and it will be my pleasure to share your positive remarks with our team members.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    298
    118
    34
    9
See reviews for
147
318
48
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We came only for one night - we sjpould have stayed instead two to experience te place better. The hotel is amazing and the fact that it is located on an island in the MeKhong River adds to its aura. Yet the surrounding outside the hotel at night are pretty dark therefore the feeling of isolation. Apart from that it's an amazing hotel and there are shuttle buses to the attractions of Chiang Rai. Good value!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bendorim5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Bendorim5,

Thank you very much for leaving your comment on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read that you had a most enjoyable experience and it will be our pleasure to share your kind comments with all our team members.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Thank you again for selecting Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Beautiful hotel and we enjoyed our stay. Hotel was part of a Globus Tour package and Globus usually picks good hotels.
Nice location though just a little bit isolated and not near the center of Chiang Rai. Though the isolated location added to the tranquility.
Restaurant at top of the hotel was GREAT. Generally, the food in Thailand did not suit my taste buds and I lost 13 pounds during our three week trip to Thailand (Cambodia and Hong Kong) Best food before the Dusit Island Hotel was Carl's Jr. in Bangkok!
However, the Dusit Island Hotel restaurant was excellent. Food was more or less, American Style and I felt at home. Great service, very attractive dining room but since it was a package deal, I don't know about the prices for the restaurant or hotel.
This was near the end of our Thailand vacation and our tour director arranged hot air balloons for each member of our group to light and launch. Very enjoyable for all of us to watch our lighted craft rise and disappear into the distance. We followed at least ten of the lighted balloons 30 minute flight into the heavens. Beautiful!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Bruce J,

Warm greetings from Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai!

Many thanks for staying with us and for selecting Dusit Island Resort as your hotel in Chiang Rai. We always appreciate receiving quest comments so that we may review our performance and strive to maintain the highest standard of service for our guests.

We were most pleased to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilliGarlic
Level Contributor
161 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is my second stay at this resort, the first being about 10 years ago. At that time, she was in need of refurbishment - something that still hasn't happened. But maintenance has. Many properties go to the expense of building, but struggle with maintenance. While the old fixtures and fittings are all still in place, they seem to have been cared for in a way that has enabled their longevity. Not to say the bathrooms, couldn't do with a revamp (very 80's) and the odd cracked tile, being replaced, but couldn't we all! The rooms are really large, but most lack balconies. I suppose the upside is that it is cheap - I paid less per night than I did 10 years ago!
The setting itself is good - great (huge variety) breakfast buffet on the river, huge pool with a bar, enormous lobby with bar and areas to sit and cool down, a short walk or cycle to the city.
Staff can make or break a place, and this hotel had amazingly caring staff. The factors that have gone into caring for the building have obviously been put into the hotel as well as the staff do this effortlessly, although due to the size of the place, impersonally.

She's a grand, cared-for old dame with a crew who love her.

Room Tip: Get a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChilliGarlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear ChilliGarlic,

Warm greetings from Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai!

Many thanks for staying with us again and for selecting Dusit Island Resort as your hotel in Chiang Rai. We always appreciate receiving quest comments so that we may review our performance and strive to maintain the highest standard of service for our guests. Your valuable comments have been well noted.

We were most pleased to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Dusit Island Resort is without doubt one of which I must recommend. The tranquil, relaxing atmosphere and Thai-style decoration fits in perfectly with the the quiet, countryside location at Chiang Rai. The room was clean with up-to-date facilities and the service was exceptional; perfect combination for those who seek a quiet break from the chaos of the city and still want the comfort from the technology.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Mo S,

Thank you very much for leaving your comment on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read that you had a most enjoyable experience and it will be our pleasure to share your kind comments with all our team members.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Thank you again for selecting Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

After 3 nights at the Dusit Thani Bangkok (see other review) we arrived at this island resort. This hotel was even better than the last and felt very 'colonial'. The staff from doorway, via the lift guy to rooms, breakfast, pool were attentive, courteous and could not have done more.

We went on 2 excursions with Tour East and the guide, Alex, was excellent, his knowledge and English could not be faulted. The 2 were The Golden Triangle/Hill Tribes and The Elephant Ride, going up the Mekong River by long tail speedboat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Steve W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We were delighted that you selected Dusit Island Resort for you stay in Chiang Rai.

Our team works very hard to ensure that we do not only meet, but also exceed our guest expectations. We endeavor to ensure all our guest experiences are as comfortable and memorable as possible and it will be my pleasure to share your positive remarks with our team members.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here while visiting the Golden Triangle and it was very comfortable. I have stayed at the Dusit Thani in Bangkok and found them similar but would still prefer the latter. Dusit Island provides all the comforts but does tend to cater for the Chinese palate a little more - with the selections at the Breakfast buffet and the Chinese restaurant. The pool is enormous and the Pool Bar a real favorite at the end of the day All in all, it is very clean and comfortable and a gem amongst the other Hotels in Chiang Rai. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICR M, General Manager at Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Robert A,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us on this website. We were delighted that you selected Dusit Island Resort for your stay in Chiang Rai.

I am delighted to read that our hotel exceeded your expectations and will ensure your kind compliments are shared with my team members.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mana Chanhorm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
1.0 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
1.7 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai

Property: Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
Address: 1129 Kraisorasit Road | Vieng Subdistrict, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Rai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai is Situated on an Island in the Mae Kok River that flows through central Chiang Rai, Thailand's northernmost province. Located next to Chiang Rai Town and less than 45 minutes from the Golden Triangle where the borders of Thailand, Burma and Laos meet, Dusit Island Resort provides a gateway to explore the varied sights and sounds of the northern region. With easy access to the mountains, forests, rivers, ancient temples and colourful hilltribes, many of the region's major attractions are within a day's journey from the resort.The hotel's decor and furnishings also reflect the diversity of norhtern Thai styles. For special functions, guests can enjoy traditional dining on the floor while leaning against multi-coloured triangular cushions. The Mae Kok River provides a spectacular natural backdrop visible from all the guest rooms, as well from the rooftop restaurant, The Peak. Primarily a resort hotel, the Dusit Island Resort is also fully equipped to host business meetings, seminars and a variety of social functions.Whether travelling on business or for pleasure, no trip to northern Thailand would be complete without a stay at Dusit Island Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelbag, Odigeo, TravelUp, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Island Resort, Chiang Rai Hotel Wiang
Dusit Island Hotel Chiang Rai
Dusit Chiang Rai
Chiang Rai Dusit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing