We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all was great, but the army of tiny ants over taking the bathroom floor”
Review of Golden Pine Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Pine Resort
Ranked #21 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Flint, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“all was great, but the army of tiny ants over taking the bathroom floor”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

A beautiful resort but not a good location. Can't walk into town. Would have given this resort a great recommendation if it weren't for the army of small ants on the bathroom floor biting our feet. Pool area and spa were refreshing

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TuzLaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    59
    9
    7
    2
See reviews for
17
55
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level 6 Contributor
527 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Beautiful hotel and nice location. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, The internet was free but it won't work in the room. The pool was very nice the better place for the internet. The hotel food was good for dinner and breakfast. I was with an OAT tour group.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pvnipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Although this resort is a bit out of town, the surroundings, the pool, the food, the rooms, the staff, etc. are excellent. If you are looking for a relaxing stay, this is the place. We were on an organized tour so worked out perfectly for us. I only wish we could have used the pool, it was beautiful. Wifi was a little sketchy, I had good luck in the bar, the lobby and even sitting by the pool. Their breakfast buffet has everything you could think of. Overall, was a very nice resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ApacheMesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This resort is very far from everything. If you are planning to go into the centre of town the prepare yourself to wait between a good half hour to an hour for a taxi into town which is approximately 17 km away.

The room were nice with big tub and nice pool area. The service was very, very slow, and we had to wait forever for them to come and get our luggage when it was time to leave. It looks like it is a popular stop for big tour busses. I would hate to think how long we would of had to wait for service since when we were there 90 percent was empty. They have no shuttle, no bicycle and understand by little English. There is a little centre call Bandu about 5 km away, You. Can fix the post office but do not plan to go there in the evenings. There is very little and everything is closed

Overall the cost of this hotel was expensive considering we have been I Thailand for more than a month and stayed in at least 6 hotels much cheaper, get locations and definitely better service. If you need a rest then fine but otherwise stay in town. Taxis were 200 baht each way which was expensive considering the rest of Thailand

If you want to go for a rest then it is ok. Ask for a room on the river

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diamondeyhes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by our stay at Golden Pine Resort. Although the rooms are a little dated, the pool was lovely and very quiet in the mornings when all of the tour groups had gone out. The breakfast was very nice and had everything you could want. One of the main drawbacks for us was the lack of wifi in the room- although you could get a signal in the lobby or by the pool. It's a bit out of the way - we had to drive quite a long way to find a restaurant outside of the resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paspoule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placida, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed at the Golden Pine for just a few nights and found it quite lovely. Usually we stay in the center of town -- easier to get to the night markets and other attractions -- but this was a quiet and peaceful lodge in the country. I loved the individual bungalows with their high ceilings...and it has a lovely pool and nice landscaping with lots of tropical foliage. It was delightful to wander around after dark and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank budgaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

The resort is very quiet, with a beautiful pool and nice rooms. It is about 7km from the center but with your own car no problem. Breakfast is good. Diner is expensive according to Thai standards. Very friendly service. I would certainly go back if I where to stay in Chiang Rai again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerardvanHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
4.6 mi away
Teak Garden Spa Resort
Teak Garden Spa Resort
#12 of 108 in Chiang Rai
165 reviews
9.3 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
186 reviews
9.2 mi away
De Hug Hotel & Residence
De Hug Hotel & Residence
#10 of 108 in Chiang Rai
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Grand Vista Hotel Chiangrai
Grand Vista Hotel Chiangrai
#15 of 108 in Chiang Rai
59 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hi Chiangrai Hotel
Hi Chiangrai Hotel
#14 of 108 in Chiang Rai
76 reviews
8.1 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Pine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Pine Resort

Property: Golden Pine Resort
Address: 291 Moo 4 Baan Muang Kham | Nang Lae Subdistrict, Chiang Rai 57100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#8 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Pine Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient located 7 min from the airport and 20 min. from Chiang city. Approved 4* Resort beautiful surrounded by paddy fields. Feature 80 spacious rooms with all amenities, Air-con., Safe & Satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Pine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Pine Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing