We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but not a good location”
Review of Portside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portside Hotel
Ranked #119 of 185 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This hotel was inexpensive and quite comfortable. I paid for a room with a fan as I didn't think I needed air con in December. And i was right, it was chilly. I got a room on the roof which had great views of the Mekong and the local area, beautiful at sunrise in particular. The problem is that it is completely at the wrong end of town, near the old border crossing. I didn't do my research well enough as there is a new border crossing for tourists and its out of town. To get to where most of the eateries and limited shopping are its about a 15 minute walk, not that I mind walking but it may be inconvenient for some. Its a tuk tuk Ride out to the border and it cost me 200 baht from my hotel. It's right on the main road as well so there was a bit of traffic noise. On the plus side the bed was warm and comfortable. And cheap!

Room Tip: A room nearer the river end will give you less traffic noise but you can't escape the roosters!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicklamport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

This hotel is in a convenient location for Laos border ferry, however it is a long way from restaurants and bars along an unlit road with many dogs.  If you plan to stay in Chiang Khong for more than just an overnight stopover (and frankly I'm not sure why you would) better to stay further from the border in the town proper.

Otherwise the room we had was clean and good sized and had a view of the Mekong, though this was partially obscured by a new building next door.  Tea and coffee is provided free in reception.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKC082013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Very near to immigration for crossing to Huay Xai, Laos.

Rooms are reasonably sized. Shower is strong. Aircon is good. View of the Mekong River. Wifi is strong and free.

5.45am you will be able to hear the roosters sound.

Far from town centre. The nearest decent restaurant is at I Love You Restaurant located at Teak Hotel.

Pricing is very reasonable. Great budget hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianakpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank PundF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pieter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Habitaciones amplias, limpias y buenos ventanal y amplio baño. Muy luminoso y soleado. En el primer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Licla2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stlei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
43.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
45.9 mi away
Laluna Hotel and Resort
Laluna Hotel and Resort
#8 of 108 in Chiang Rai
895 reviews
44.8 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
46 mi away
Chezmoi Homestay
Chezmoi Homestay
#30 of 185 in Chiang Rai
14 reviews
44.9 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Hotel

Address: 546 M.1 T.Wiang A. Chiangkhong, Chiang Rai 57140, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 185 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Hotel Class:3 star — Portside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing