We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baanbaramee Guesthouse
Ranked #63 of 184 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Everything about our stay here was lovely; the owner, room, free breakfast, location! What more do you need? A great choice for a stay in Chiang Rai and highly recommended. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roblund3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

STAFF....fantastic. The landlady is super sweet and helped me out with so many things. You can really see that for her you are more than just a paying guest, she actually cares about you and tries to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

ROOMS...super clean bathroom, a great shower and lots of space. The matress was pretty hard but that seems to be the case in most places.

BREAKFAST...everything you needed was there, including toast, fresh fruit etc. Coffee and tea are available all day which is great. The breakfast area is also really cute so I enjoyed just having a cup of coffee and talking to the staff every now and then.

LOCATION...its a good location, you can reach everything easily on foot, couldnt ask for more!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julesfromgermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Baanbaramee was a very nice, clean guest house in Chiang Rai. My room was spotless, had a great hot shower with strong water pressure and a TV. Outside my room was a lovely balcony (communal) with little table and chairs. The guest house also offers free breakfast of toast and jam, pasta with veggies, and fruit. There is also free coffee and tea all day.
I arrived in Chiang Rai suffering of stomach flu. I was supposed to only stay a night and move on, but was unable to travel more due to my illness. The landlady, who speaks english, saw that I was unwell and offered to drive me to the hospital or pharmacy. She later came to my room with extra water and bananas, told me which room was hers and that if I needed any help not to hesitate and she would do whatever she could. What a great lady!!!!!!!!!
The only downside to the guest house is that the mattresses are too firm, but that is the norm around here and I have experienced that in all guesthouses in Thailand in this price range. This is my first review after two years of travel because I was so blown away but her kindness. I saw one review here that said there was a loud karaoke bar nearby that disturbed their stay, I did not experience this at all and say that anyone who travels should always have earplugs anyways! I wish this business nothing but continued success.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 007Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The rooms were very nice especially for this cheap price we did not expect it like this. The stuff was friendly and helpful, breakfast was really good, easy but everything you need. Coffee, tea and bananas all day long. We told them that we need to go to Chiang Khong and they organized a minivan which was even cheaper than the bus (the driver just came from there and needed to go back anyways - so it was a win-win- situation)
we asked the reception what is possible to do and as everything was too expensive for us, he keep on telling that we should do this and this... after some time it really became annoying!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKirchschlager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This guesthouse truly deserves a fives star rating for all the right reasons.

SERVICE - superb! We arrived early and were greeted with the best customer service I have received by a long way and far exceeds the average Thai standards! Gave us a map when checking in and advised on all the best places to eat, drink and visit! Staff were very attentive and very helpful!

LOCATION - excellent, a 5 minute walk from the bus station which is crucial as most people use this as a stopping point between the Laos border and Chiang mai! within 2-3 minutes walk you were right in the centre of everything yet quiet enough to enjoy a good nights sleep!

ROOMS AND CLEANLINESS - rooms were very spacious with a good size bathroom and extremely clean and included a good size fridge! Great flatscreen TV however only downer was no english speaking channels!

SURROUND AREAS! we didnt want a touristy day trip but wanted the two must do's! Elephant ride/treck and white temple! Every tourist agent offered us nothing less than 1000 baht to get there and back! That is way over priced! My advice is to book them seperate! Best way is to book transport seperately with completely different Songthaews or Tuk tuks as they will try and charge you for a full day/half day rather than a return journey when combined. We got a songthaew return to Ruammit Karen village elephant camp for 300 baht, came back and then to the White Temple for 200 baht return. Over half a days worth of transport for 500 baht! Exactly what we wanted!

Whilst visiting Chiang Rai, this guest house delivers and exceeds on customer service and in terms of value is one of the best I have stayed at! If I ever returned i would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This guesthouse is really lovely, with nice and clean rooms with hot shower. The hostess is very nice and helpfull, she helped us with our travel plans to Laos and even printed a map for us, very sweet. Also a pleasant surprise was that they give you free breakfast in the morning. You can make toast with jam and butter, they have fruit, orange juice and sometimes they even make eggs and sausages and ricesoup! Also you can make coffee and tea all day, it was great.

Room Tip: We chose a room with 2 single beds and aircon because those rooms are bigger than the ones with a do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sigrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

Baan baramee is a small guesthouse located just off the main road. The rooms are clean and also have a fridge which was great. Breakfast is simple toast and bananas which was good enough for us.
Overall the cheap price and clean rooms make baan baramee a great place in Chiang rai.

The only con was that there are dogs barking really loud throughout the night.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManonChiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.3 mi away
Na Rak O Resort
Na Rak O Resort
#2 of 165 in Chiang Rai
226 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
0.4 mi away
Laluna Hotel and Resort
Laluna Hotel and Resort
#8 of 108 in Chiang Rai
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
0.8 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
808 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chezmoi Homestay
Chezmoi Homestay
#29 of 184 in Chiang Rai
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baanbaramee Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baanbaramee Guesthouse

Address: 28/18 Soi Sinpanhant Phahol Yothin Rd., | Tambon Rop Wiang Amphoe Mueang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Price Range: £15 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Baanbaramee Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing