We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really gem”
Review of Kham Thana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kham Thana Hotel
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Really gem”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

EVERYTHING NEW!
Huge and shiny clean rooms
:-)
The floor made from shine marble and the shower is fancy to.
only 2 issues that reduce the pleasure of staying is:
1. breakfast trying hardly to fit to western taste and the result is poor.
2. quite far from city center and night bazar and need a taxi/rickshaw to return to the hotel if you miss the hotel van (surcharge)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Assi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    37
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
37
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Chiang Rai has dozens of very good hotels, and this one doesn't lower the standard. Didn't get the best out of the place because it was cold and we were only in transit, but what a splendid looking place. The room was spotless, huge and I slept well on the big bed. Secure parking and good central location. Breakfast ok. There was a big team taking a 4WD Adventure tour based in the hotel, but there was no hassle checking in or out.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brimpsfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We came with Thana Jeep Adventure. We were welcomed with cold refreshing apple juice. Lobby and pool area are very impressive. The room was very big, amazing shower, king size bed. Average food- breakfast and dinner. Lot's of Mosquitos- come prepared.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Moshe_and_Mor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I and my wife arrived there in lately afternoon. Warm welcome and prompt service from receptionist. Swimming pool in the middle of hotel. Large room and convenient facilities. Khun Paiboon General Manager gave us a good memorable. He greet to us at restaurant and also to every guests. Good food and Cozy atmosphere. Plan to be back aging in mid of June.

Room Tip: From the North corner and first floor which room's balcony close to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siwach007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Hey all.
I stayed here by chance and turned up without a booking dripping with sweat as I had walked around 2 miles to get to it. The reception were helpful if their grasp of english was shared between the two staff on duty and I was offered a room at 1200 thb, which seemed wholly reasonable.
The hotel looks quite new and quite grand from the old style colonial reception hall with pillared supports and ornate decor. Floors were marble, clean and furniture colonial and well kempt. The rooms for me were acceptably sparton and had TV, table, bed (of course) balcony or patio area depending on floor. The hotel provides toiletries and these are acceptable even if you have to hold them while washing as theres no shelf!
The evening i spent in the bar with a large bottle of chang around 90 THB or 2 gbp. The pool is nice although beds are limited to around 8 for entire area and the dining hall for dinner and breakfast is rather like an orangery of old.
Locally not a lot to be found although out of the front of the hotel and turn right 2/3 local night spots and eateries can be found with acceptable live music provided by karoake and thronged with local professionals or a small bar in another hotel across the road. For the record, there was only me in this one, with all activity focussed further down the road on the left hand side.
Its a trot from the airport, but its without the usual BKK traffic and Chiang Rai manages to retain some provincial town feel rather than city.
So barring one or two unfinished painting and plastering around light switches the room was acceptable, clean, tidy and very peaceful, apart from the occasional 'gecko' sound emerging from the undergrowth - The Breakfast though sucked lemons - The staff were not altogether altogether and the food was rice rice and some cereal. Accepting Thai breakfast on healthier foods than we have on diet months all year round, the western palatte doesnt emerge from our overnight cocoons without a hearty breakfast and definately a downer on the stay. If you like fruit, rice curries and dodgy sausages then its ok. But isnt that why we travel north. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ground floors have access to small table and chairs on patios whilst higher floors have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewportYfenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

New and clean hotel
Colonial style
Very nice staff
Breakfast and dinner are nice. The only disadvantage is that you need to pay for water at dinner. A nice little pool
Not found within walking distance of entertainment areas but can be a short trip to get there

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moran b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.4 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 109 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 109 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 109 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
12.1 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
1.0 mi away
Hi Chiangrai Hotel
Hi Chiangrai Hotel
#14 of 109 in Chiang Rai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kham Thana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kham Thana Hotel

Property: Kham Thana Hotel
Address: 651/8 Moo 24 | Rob Wieng Subdistrict, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kham Thana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kham Thana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing