We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wiang Indra Riverside Resort
Ranked #44 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is a terrible hotel range from the location to rooms, everything!

First, the room. My room located at the block 8 of the resort which is freaking far. In order to get to my room, I need to walk at least 10 minutes from the lobby. When I reach the room, it stink. It smell like the room never been used for centuries. Then the shower tap was not functioning. We called the reception and they sent somebody to fix it. The people tried to fix for 30 seconds then left. I tried it but it is not fixed and I have to call them come back to fix it again (luckily they are next door because my parent's room have the same problem). Finally, they fix the thing.

Next, I tried to called to reception for some reason and they can't speak English and I can't speak Thai! I am really frustrated that time!

My advise is NEVER STAY IN THIS HOTEL!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccpy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

Location is near to river, and the best for hotel is wide pool.
Perfect to get in after all day traveling around.

+ wi-fi in reception zone and sometimes goes until room
+ territory
+ massage salon

- need refurbishment for rooms and shower room (rooms are big, but seems like run through many clients)
- TV normally don`t go
- breakfast a bit poor choice

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindawelsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This hotel was a huge disappointment...the rooms were dirty and the bathroom was in desperate need of a reno. The bed headboards were made of fabric and were stained and soiled. The towels were of the standard I use as rags at home. The bathroom had black mold in the corners along with other issues. I would never stay there again and would not recommend it to anyone. I can handle a room that is sparse but I cannot handle dirty!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This hotel was part of our driving package. It very large and caters mainly to large tour groups and is located quite a distance from the center of Chiang Rai.

While the lobby looked promising when we arrived in our room we were very disappointed. The carpets were dirty and shabby, the bathroom was out-dated and the towels threadbare. There is not internet in the rooms and the internet service in the lobby is slow and unpredictable.

The breakfast room is not very clean and the breakfast was not the standard we had come to expect on our travels through Thailand.

As we had arrived late we wanted to go downtown for dinner. When we asked if the hotel could call a taxi for us we were told that they would not. We could use the hotel shuttle service which was THB 100 per person. As we wanted to leave the hotel to eat we paid the THB 400 (there were 4 of us). When we wanted to go back to the hotel the restaurant ordered us a taxi and the price to bring us back to the hotel was THB 40 (10% of the price). Needless to say we felt ripped off by the hotel.

At check out we wanted to settle our bill with a credit card and were asked if we could pay cash. When we said "no" there was a great deal of sighing behind the desk and then we had to wait 10 minutes to settle our account.

This is not what we were accustomed to in Thailand.

If you have a choice of hotel do not stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuAlAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The location is such that it is not easy to go into town, one has to organize local transport. The hotel is filled with tourists.... hundreds arrive every day and are leaving every day, the lay out is such that one has to walk probably for 10 minutes to the rooms. The rooms are not that luxurious but are ok. Wifi only is working in the lobby. Food is served inside and outside. Somehow it seems that all tourists arrive quite late and are leaving early, so the dining sessions - especially breakfast - are very busy. The food is ok. This hotel probably serves the needs of the average foreign tourist.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterpan9_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This is NOT a recommended establishment! We are staying here right now: floor in room dirty, BBC TV listed, not available...... ! Manager tells us it is broken. Reception put phone down twice during inquiry as to what the problem is. The Venue is stunning, but generally looking tired. It needs a real freshen up if foreign travelers are to be encouraged to visit. They boast wifi in public space as well as rooms. This is intermittent and unreliable. What a shame, as we were so, so looking forward to this visit!!!

Room Tip: Check room before unpacking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Heila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stayed here as part of a private tour, so we did not select this hotel.

The massive hotel is filled out by busloads upon busloads of people on organised tours.

We were placed in the middle of a corridor filled with people from the same tour so we were woken by the many luggage trolleys going past at 6AM, surely they would place us separately considering we were booked on our own.

The rooms were tired and old, as was much of the hotel. I'm sure it was once grand in its day, but this charm has since long gone.

Rooms were ridiculously far from the lobby and the hotel is located far away from the centre of Chiang Rai.

Breakfast was poor and the staff at this hotel were the WORST I have encountered in all of Asia. The staff at breakfast refused to even smile at us despite our many attempts. There is a serious problem if all of the staff of the hotel act rudely!

If you are given the choice, select somewhere else for your stay in Chiang Rai!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jak0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.3 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
904 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
1.6 mi away
De Hug Hotel & Residence
De Hug Hotel & Residence
#11 of 108 in Chiang Rai
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Teak Garden Spa Resort
Teak Garden Spa Resort
#14 of 108 in Chiang Rai
178 reviews
1.9 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#3 of 108 in Chiang Rai
240 reviews
10 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wiang Indra Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wiang Indra Riverside Resort

Address: 6 Moo 4, Chiang Rai-Thatorn Road | Rimkok District, Chiang Rai 57100, Thailand (Formerly Rimkok Resort Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range: £36 - £1,095 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wiang Indra Riverside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wiang Indra Riverside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimkok Hotel Chiang Rai
Rimkok Resort Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing