We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must in Chiang Rai”
Review of Grandma Kaew House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grandma Kaew House
Ranked #3 of 167 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Asia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“A must in Chiang Rai”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Just came back from Chiang Rai and I would like to confirm that, a stay and Grandma Kaew is a must.
Location cannot be better, right in the heart of the city and less than 5 minutes by walk from the downtown bus terminal (there are 2 bus terminals, one near the White Temple and one in downtown.).
Room was spotless, everything white and so so clean. Wi fi is working good.
David and Sonthaya are simply adorable and willing to assist you in the best they can.
The day I arrived it was raining so much that I cannot find the guest house and they came to pick me up by car at the bus terminal, hotelier myself I can confirm that not much professional people as them will do this little extra mile who give a lesson to all of us in this hospitality world. Once again thank you so much for it...
As I am independent tourist and do not like to be much in group, Sonthaya assisted me by founding a taxi driver, able to speak a good level of English and we organized a two days excursions around including the main sightseeings to see. Once again thank you so much for this extra mile who makes my trip simply great.
I can just say: go and stay there, you will not be disappointed.
Great job lady and gentleman...

Room Tip: I stayed in the room 7 who is located on the last floor of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrisinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    53
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
115
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Large, spacious rooms in a relatively new building. 2 floors with 7 rooms. Great value for money. A short walk into the main town streets. A very affable UK/Thai couple running the place. Strong Wifi and attached washroom for doing your laundry. One downer- 100+ satellite TV channels, but not one in English. Overall, an excellent, comfortable stay in the otherwise somewhat grimy and gritty city of Chiang Rai.

Room Tip: Top floor is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rataq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastia, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Good choice, very clean and plenty of tea, coffee and water in the room every day. The owners are very friendly (the husband is english so had a few interesting conversations and he was very helpful, nothing is a problem,they booked a tour for us and booked a taxi the following day for the airport).
The guesthouse is near the night bazaar but also near a great Vietnamese restaurant within walking distance of the clocktower, saturday market etc etc.
Really good for the price and we would definitely go back there !
It would have been nice to have breakfast there but it wasn t a big problem!

Room Tip: We were upstairs in room 5 with a table and chairs on the balcony, very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This place is clean and in a cool little neighborhood that is walking distance from bus terminal #1. We had a problem with the air conditioner, the lowest fan setting still blew quite hard and went right on the bed. The nice big flat screen tv got 160 channels but not one was english. The people were nice and the shower worked well. We liked the fact that they provided four pillows instead of the usual two. The beds were comfortable. If you don't mind cold air blowing on you while you sleep and dont care about tv then this is a perfect choice.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Like the other reviews I found the rooms to be very clean and tidy. I liked how they comp the guests 4 bottles of water instead of the usual 2. Being a bit on the dehydrated side I sucked them all down. I was surprised the next day that they put 5 more in my fridge. More attention to the customer than you'd expect at a 600 baht a night place - and much appreciated.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Richoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Grandma's took a bit of finding but easy once you know - from the bus station just walk past the Scandinavian cafe, turn left at intersection, then first left again then walk for 100m or so and look for sign and alleyway on right. We had a standard double room upstairs which was great. A big bed, and spotless room with fridge and water provided. No food or meals are provided so limited contact with staff or other guests. Location great though and very easy walk to town markets, shops, restaurants. Great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warwick182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

What can I say. It's nice, clean, big, comfortable, and so on... You even get free instant coffee in your room for free.
What you get for your money is absolutely amazing.
Just go there and relax. It's location close to a night market and the bus station is an absolute plus.
Enjoy max

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank boring11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 109 in Chiang Rai
487 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wiang Inn Hotel
Wiang Inn Hotel
#13 of 109 in Chiang Rai
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Na Rak O Resort
Na Rak O Resort
#3 of 143 in Chiang Rai
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baan Bua Guesthouse
Baan Bua Guesthouse
#14 of 167 in Chiang Rai
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Malai Guesthouse
Baan Malai Guesthouse
#4 of 143 in Chiang Rai
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandma Kaew House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandma Kaew House

Property: Grandma Kaew House
Address: 78 Moo 18, Sanpanard Road Soi 2/1, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 167 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grandma Kaew House 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grandma Kaew House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing