We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Wiang Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wiang Inn Hotel
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Tel Aviv
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We came to this hotel with not so much expectations considering the low price and we have been positively surprised .
The hotel is well located close to the night market, restaurants...
Free WIFi (working fairly well comparing to other hotels in Thailand)
Beautiful lobby.
Rooms are spacious and globally well equipped & furnished (considering the hotel price) with Tea/coffee kit. We booked and got 2 rooms with connecting door.
Breakfast is OK offering a wide choice of dishes (local and continental)
Competent and friendly staff: after checking-out and leaving the hotel, the hotel has managed to reach our guide to inform us that the chamber maid has found our smart phone (it was highly appreciated).
Conclusion: Considering the price & value offered, hotel definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    264
    215
    49
    10
See reviews for
70
238
69
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for one night with my big family. At first, I thought because this is a 4-star hotel they must be concerned with the maintenance. But, I was absolutely WRONG. My auntie and my cousin trapped in the elevator for almost an hour. The technician was very slow and they seems like they didn't know what to do because they kept doing the same things although it didn't work.
I just wish they've changed the elevator and learn from this problem.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiwa_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Rai hotels

sydney
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We are an older couple and stayed at the Wiang Inn for 3 nights in July. There is very little we could find to fault this hotel. It was set back from the street and the room overlooking the pool was so quiet. The foyer, bar area and dining room was a sight to behold and our room was clean and nicely maintained - and a good size too. The bathroom was a little dated but it was always clean. We found the staff to be more than helpful and the shuttle to the airport was a bonus - we had to pay for it but after having to negotiate fares for 3 weeks we were more than happy to pay a set fee. We did not have to pay for wifi the desk staff gave us the password on check in - there was a router right outside our room - and maybe that helped because we never had a issue with speed or usage. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast each morning and never tired of it because we felt there was plenty of variety for us. Proximity to all the important things was great, sightseeing, the bus station ( in walking distance just around the corner) the night and walking street markets, the river, restaurants and shops (7 Eleven included). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and actually rated this hotel as the best hotel of the 5 we had stayed in during our time in Thailand. We would gladly recommend this hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoblesSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Second visit to this hotel. For the price it's great value. Your enter the hotel and its 5 star but the rooms are dated and need renovating. To be fair it appeared a wing was blocked off and being refurbished during our visit. The pool is huge and inviting but lacks shade. For little expense some huts and trees would make this area a lot better. Breakfast was included and no problems. Staff friendly and would stay again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magpieman4361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campo Real, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed here for 1 night and we in the hotel a total of maybe 10 hours as part of a 2 day 1 night tour to Chiang Rai from Chiang Mai, so we didn't pay for the hotel individually and don't know how much it cost.

The room was clean, beds comfortable, water and coffee/tea included and we slept well. No outside noise was heard from our room, nor noise from the hallways.

We got wifi connection in our room, the breakfast was buffet and all I need in the morning is eggs, toast and coffee so breakfast was great for me. The location was central and we walked to the night market in 5 minutes. Staff was very kind and sweet. The road in front of the hotel is under construction, so be careful, especially families when walking at night as there are big canals and holes in the road!!

If you can imagine a Las Vegas hotel, you can imagine the Wiang Inn. Carpeted floors, karaoke bar, large lobby, conference rooms, tour desk, the only thing missing are slot machines! We never used the pool, but it looked clean.

Overall, I think the hotel is a good deal and I'd stay there again. The only worrisome thing is the manager stopped replying to reviews in May, so I wonder if they are still taking opinions into consideration to improve the hotel. I hope so as I always take TripAdvisor reviews into consideration before booking!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sinacism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We spent so much time looking for a place to stay, which was in town and suited our needs. We booked the Wiang Inn hoping it would be ok. We had nothing to worry about. The check in was easy the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine. The pool area was never busy and the pool is a good size. We had no complaints at all with our room. Restaurants close by in any direction and the night market is about a 4 minute walk from the hotel. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chuckyJellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We hadn't booked anywhere to stay when arriving in Chaing Rai so we literally just saw this hotel and stayed here because we had been travelling non stop for two days. We paid 1800 Thai baht per night which I think is overpriced as I'm sure you can stay somewhere else in the area for cheaper which would be just as good. The bedrooms where nice but the bathrooms where dated and in need of a refurb. The shower was awful and the bathtub didn't look very clean and for the price we was paying in Thailand I'd expect everywhere to be spotless. The breakfast is rubbish, the most decent thing to eat is toast! The hotel must have been getting work done to it as one wing of the 4th floor was all boarded up with cardboard and red tape which looked awful, if I was the manager I'd get that seeing too as it doesn't create a good impression for new guests! The stay was just average, not impressed but wouldn't rule out staying again if I couldn't find anywhere else to stay.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 109 in Chiang Rai
491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hi Chiangrai Hotel
Hi Chiangrai Hotel
#14 of 109 in Chiang Rai
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 109 in Chiang Rai
173 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
1.4 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wiang Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wiang Inn Hotel

Property: Wiang Inn Hotel
Address: 893 Phaholyothin Road, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wiang Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Wiang Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiang Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing