We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location close to night market”
Review of Wiang Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wiang Inn Hotel
Ranked #13 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location, in the centre of town and about 200m from an excellent night market. There are a number of massage parlours on the road outside, we used 'Smile Massage' on the corner right outside the hotel at B200 per hour.
The hotel has quite a palatial lobby with pleasant seating areas, and there is a travel agency (we didn't use it). The breakfast was very good, and we don't know how some previous reviewers managed to find fault with it.
Our room on the 6th floor has a nice view of the town (rooms on the other side look over a car park), it was clean and the A/C and everything else worked well, but the furniture was starting to show its age.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the town ( not the car park!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stickman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

I chose this place for location, wifi and a pool. Guess what, no internet in the rooms, the lobby internet was unconnectable and the pool was filthy and disgusting, which is why it was unused. The staff was not friendly and when i complained they ignored me. I hate leaving negative feedback but i had to in this case. All i wanted was to relax for two days after 8 weeks in Vietnam, Cambodia and north thailand...i went to north instead.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Yvan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed one night int his large hotel. The location was great,but everything else was pretty average. We had a very frustrating issue with the internet and ended up polling other guests in the lobby to prove to the desk clerk that there was an issue. In the face of a revolt, he relented and the problem was fixed shortly thereafter.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BayernTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Having used this hotel as a base a couple of years ago, I returned with friends and we used it as a starting point for visiting the Golden Triangle. We didn't have time to use what seemed like a great swimming pool but we were all happy with our rooms which were spacious although the outlook over the car park is uninviting.
However the location is good for the night markets which have some great food stalls - why eat anywhere else? Due to the time of year, there was also free entertainment at the markets.
The hotel itself is modern with a spacious reception area. Rooms and bathrooms were more than adequate
WI FI was a bit intermittent. Breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms "out the back" i.e. furthest away from reception were very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel. Beautiful reception, very confortable, yet quite small room.
Rich breakfast.
The hotel is well located in the city center.
Non efficient people at the reception. They charged me 60 bath to call a taxi to airport after asked me to call a taki myself. :-(
Good quality/price level.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momimos78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The hotel is conveniently situated near the market and many (food and other) stores. Although the entrance/lobby is not very promising, and if you are on the top floor you have to climb stairs with your luggage to get to your room, the rooms are a nice surprise.

They look renovated and clean. There is free wi-fi in the rooms. The bathroom was a bit small but it had a bath tub and amenities (not top notch but OK). The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was OK. All in all a good experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elle_01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was a brief visit to Chiang Rai. We arrived late afternoon on NY Eve.
Room was pleasant and clean. Bathroom small with only a shower- ( no bath) although compact it was clean and tidy. Complimentary bottles of water provided.
On arrival we were given tickets to the New Years Eve buffet and entertainment evening. We stayed for part of this but were keen to explore our one and only night in Chiang Rai with our tour guide.
Breakfast the following day was adequate with a selection of foods to accommodate different tastes. Toast, eggs, pastries, Asian foods,cereals, yoghurt,fresh fruits. We checked out at 6.30am so this was really a whistle stop stay. Could have happily stayed here longer!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.5 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 108 in Chiang Rai
524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hi Chiangrai Hotel
Hi Chiangrai Hotel
#9 of 108 in Chiang Rai
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
1.4 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
1.0 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wiang Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wiang Inn Hotel

Address: 893 Phaholyothin Road, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range: £33 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wiang Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wiang Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiang Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing