We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing dreamt wedding in Legend Chiang Rai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Legend Chiang Rai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Legend Chiang Rai
Ranked #5 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing dreamt wedding in Legend Chiang Rai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Being a couple French-Chinese, we had our 3 days wedding celebration in the Legend Chiang Rai Boutique River Resort and Spa with close family and friends. It has been an amazing experience.

Some of the guests arrived earlier, to visit the surroundings, and some even extended their stay as they have been completely charmed by the place. Indeed, the resort is very quiet, located just on the border of the river, the rooms are very comfortable, the entire resort is well taken care of, the food in both restaurants is very good and tasty and the staff is mostly very friendly and helpful (we really feel the sense of service of the staff).

Speaking of staff, we would like to give a special thanks to the 2 ex Club Med GO Hoania and Eve. They did more than the extra mile for us to feel at home and they always kept smiling even when we were having last minute requests and being stressed by the wedding. They were even foreseeing our requests, a big + for the wedding preparation...
They have been the key component of the success of our wedding.

We had also massage a couple of times, and most of our guests did as well, it was very nice having the thai massage outside facing the river. You could find it a little bit pricey vs outside massage locations, but isn't it priceless to be facing the beautiful river, having the sound of nature around you, and not being obliged to get a taxi or tuk tuk right after being so peaceful and relaxed ?

In summary, it has been the perfect place for the most important day of our life. And more than us, it is the guests, all of them, who have been dithyrambic about the resort and our wedding celebration.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cédric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    380
    104
    29
    3
See reviews for
137
545
32
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed 3 weeks at a pool villa at the Legend and we enjoyedthe at the resort
It was exactly what we were looking for and we enjoyed every single minute at The Legend.The hotel is run a discreet but very efficient way and we could always feel how the staff stands behindthe GM.

Below a short list of the positive points according our feelings:

- Location and design of the resort
- Generous setup of the pool villa
- You feel in the countryside despite the short distance to town
- Tranquility within the resort
- Maintenance and cleanliness of rooms, garden and other public facilities
- Variety and quality of food in both restaurants
- Legendary Thai attitude of your well trained, helpful and attentive staff

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminTheLEGEND, Social Media & reservation at The Legend Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Mr. Alain,

Sawasdee from Thailand.

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted to learn of your appreciation of The Legend Chiang Rai services. I will be sure to share your feedback with our team. They will be delighted to know what a positive impression they had upon your stay.

Hopefully , we'd be honor to be a part of your birthday as we did this year again.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon for another wonderful stay,kindly contact us directly for the best deal at reservation@thelegend-chiangrai.com.

Best Regards,
Suchaya T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papendrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

This was a very nice hotel, along the riverside. Very nice rooms with all the comfort and good beds. Nicecly located. All rooms have a privat terras. WiFi everywhere easy and good. The breakfast was excellent in the outside area with view over the river. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald-pieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminTheLEGEND, Social Media & reservation at The Legend Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving The Legend Chiang Rai such a wonderful review, your feedback gives us a lot of valuable insights on what is important to our guests.

The pleasure was ours to welcome you and we look forward to once again extending our warm hospitality to you and your partner when you return to Chiang Rai in the future.

Best regards,
Suchaya T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

The location on a quiet bend of the river makes it a great place to relax. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. They could use a little overall maintenance though . We splurged for a river front villa that was very nice but had a slight moldy smell... But overall, our stay was very pleasant. The restaurants were basic but good. They have a shuttle to the night market (small charge) but they don't bring you back...Fortunately,there is always a tuk-tuk hanging around.
The staff is courteous and attentive. Would stay again ,definitely.

Room Tip: If you can afford it ,splurge and get the River View Villa. Well worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SanFranciscoPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminTheLEGEND, Social Media & reservation at The Legend Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Greeting from The Legend Chiang Rai!

How wonderful to hear that you had a pleasant time with us! This is what we work hard for, to fulfill each holidays with joy and memories.

Of course, We'd love to have you back again,please send us directly an email on " reservation@thelegendchiangrai.com" for availability. Best Price guaranteed.

Have a wonderful day in San Francisco!
Suchaya T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

If you wonder where to stay in Chiang Rai, the Legend will be for sure a good choice.

The Rooms are very nice (we were in the upper floor) with external shower and surrounded by a very well maintained vegetation. It can be pretty cold at night (we were there in December 2013 and the whole region was experiencing exceptional cold temperatures) so make sure to check temperature at night/in the morning before you go there and to bring the appropriate outfits!
The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was very good, with a nice view on the Kok River!
I'd definitely stay there again if one day I go back to Chiang Rai.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seraph1Lampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminTheLEGEND, Social Media & reservation at The Legend Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Paikan07,

Thank you very much for choosing The Legend Chiang Rai during your stay in Thailand.

We appreciate your compliments on TripAdvisor, that you enjoyed the facilities as well as the best service from our team members. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon at our property,please contact us directly at reservation@thelegend-chiangrai.com for the best price.

Kind regards,
Suchaya T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
176 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Nothing bad to say about the Legend. Had a wonderful stay. They really shouldn't charge for shuttle to the night market but at least they have a shuttle. Very nice room,good breakfast and beautiful grounds.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank AdventureMonkey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminTheLEGEND, Social Media & Reservation at The Legend Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Sawasdee ka!

Thank you very much for your comment about your recent stay with us and we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful and enjoyable time at The Legend Chiang Rai.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.
Best Regards,
Suchaya T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
268 reviews
265 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 641 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in early November ‘13 before crossing over to Laos. We have been to Chiang Rai many years ago and wanted a comfortable and relaxing base to re-explore the city, but we didn’t need something right in the heart of the action. The Legend fit this very well, and we found the positive TA reviews to be very accurate.

The hotel takes good advantage of its location on the river. The attractive pool area, for example, overlooks the river, as does the open-air restaurant. The rooms are spread out in several buildings in the beautifully landscaped grounds, some in two-story blocks and others in just one story buildings. This distribution makes for a quiet and peaceful setting even with a fair number of guests.

Our room (#261) was a single story “deluxe” room with a nice view of a lily pond and a comfortable open porch with a table, chairs, and a unique swinging divan. The room was very large, well-laid out, and attractively furnished. The king size bed was firm but comfortable. There was a separate area for a desk and a bar with coffee maker. The huge shower was in its own room, screened to the outside but private. A nice design touch was that there was a separate small room for the toilet. The vanity and dressing area were again separate from the sleeping area, with plenty of storage and a safe. The vanity had a single sink with a good amount of counter space. The now included wifi worked very well but kept requiring a new log-in. The a.c. was effective but hard to regulate (too cold for us) and somewhat noisy.

The buffet breakfast was outstanding, with a large array of Asian and European dishes, an egg station, and lots of fresh fruit.

Unlike other reviewers, we found the staff to be very helpful and accommodating, despite some of them not speaking English very well. Also, though it is true that the hotel is popular with tour groups, they never bothered us because they usually arrived late in the afternoon and left early the next morning, and the spacious distribution of rooms kept noise to a minimum.

The hotel’s location requires a tuk-tuk or taxi ride to most tourist places, but these are easily obtained through the hotel desk, and there is a hotel shuttle to the night market. A few tips --taxis can be cheaper than tuk-tuks to some destinations, something we found out near the end of our stay: Also, even if you’re a bit tired of seeing historic Wats, still go to the White Wat outside of town – it will surprise you (you can get there by bus, tuk-tuk and taxi, all for about the same price for two). The tourist information office not far from the Legend is one of the most helpful we’ve ever encountered, for example giving us detailed information on how to take a bus from Chiang Rai to the border crossing town of Chiang Khong. Finally, take advantage of the free tourist bus that leaves from the monument square and visits many important sights. It was really quite good.

All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Legend very much, and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NaMakani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminTheLEGEND, Social Media & reservation at The Legend Chiang Rai, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Aloha NaMakani,

Many thanks for choosing to stay at The Legend Chiang Rai and for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor community.

We are very happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and how nice of you giving useful tips to our future guests!

We do hope that we will have the privilege of welcoming you back to The Legend Chiang Rai in the near future.Please let us know about your next reservation at reservation@thelegend-chiangrai.com.

Have a wonderful day!
Suchaya T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
0.6 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
10.3 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
0.9 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legend Chiang Rai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legend Chiang Rai

Property: The Legend Chiang Rai
Address: 124/15 Moo 21 Kohloy Road | Mae Kok River, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Rai
#2 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Legend Chiang Rai 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location:The Legend Chiang Rai is located directly on the Mae Kok River, secluded from the city, yet within 5 minutes driving distance from the city center. The immediate environment is relatively undeveloped providing a tranquil, natural location ideal for a river resort & spa. The property gives a panoramic view to the near-by hills and mountains. The riverside across is largely undeveloped and preserved with large rain trees and lush vegetation.Accommodation:The resort features 78 lavishly appointed studios and villas offering king size or queen/single beds, designed to allow for maximum connection with the environment, opening up to nature – yet providing uncompromising comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Legend Chiang Rai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legend Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
Legend Chiang Rai
Legend Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing