We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil dream”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Legend Chiang Rai
Ranked #5 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Tranquil dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2009

Chiang Rai is a charming town, seemingly the true Thailand. It is perfect for exploring the beautiful North, and much smaller and less developed that Chiang Mai.
The Legend is just outside town, totally quiet, and overlooking the river. It is a boutique-type hotel whilst staying kid friendly with laid back atmosphere.
Hotel can organise wonderful trips to explore the villages, elephant riding, golden triangle etc.
Worth checking whether suitable for young kids, especially accomodation - perfect for older kids.

  • Liked — fantastic huge outdoor shower room.
  • Disliked — interconnecting rooms not available with 3 kids
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    386
    110
    30
    3
See reviews for
140
553
33
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2008

This is a small, boutique style hotel in a very 'Thai' style. A little way out of town beside the river (there is a rvier terrace) - you will need to use the half-hourly shuttle bus for 50 baht pp to get into town - I recommend a Tuk Tuk back for about 80 baht for 2.

Excellent rooms arranged in small blocks in a very nicely landscaped setting. Lovely gardens and very well kept.

Suites were excellent. Very large wet room shower with separate toilet and washing / dressing area.

Lovely 'infinity' pool with the river as the backdrop.

Excellent breakfast, but drinks and evening meals quite expensive, far cheaper to go into town.

A very nice, quiet and relaxing place - excellent quality.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank CheltenhamSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2008

If you want peace, tranquility and luxury, I recommend you go to the Legend. Very few hotels offer quality and service of this standard (and at this price).

From the minute you check in you are treated with fantanstic service from the reception staff which continues with the porters and restaurant staff. All greet you with a friendly Sawadee Ka in that way that Thais make you feel so welcome.

The pool is a fine size, ie not too big or too small and overlooks the river. The price too is not bad, ie around £100 per night for a suite including breakfast.

We stayed in one of the villa type rooms, ie a seperate bungalow which has a living room / bedroom plus wet room with ensuite jacuzzi. Buildings are in the Thai style set in a leafy setting.

Don't be put off by the apparent proximity to the aiport, there are a) very few flights into the airport and b) very little noise from them when they do land / take off.

In general if I am ever back in Chiang Rai, I'd definately check in here again.

  • Liked — The high quality of service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valais
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2008

It's difficult to find a better resort than the Legend in Chiang Rai !
Everything is perfect and you really feel the real Thailand, not like the the big hotels in Phuket ! The North of Thailand is the best place to go if you want to know what the country is : not too many tourists, very good and spicy food, the people are so friendly and you can go everywhere (not risk at all!). If you go shopping, there's less choice than in Phuket or Samui, but the quality is much better and ït's very, very cheap !!! The Legend is not a "huge" hotel and there're few people around the swimming-pool, and it's so beautiful, in a really "thai" style with all the services you could need : massages, restaurant, nice breakfast, people aware about everything, shuttle bus, and so on ...
It's still wild, and every day is a new adventure !!! We will sure come again to visit a little more this part of Thailand as we stayed only 1 week; but we had time to visit many things and we even cross the Myamar border as well as we made a little visit to Laos ! We are a family with two little kids, and they were very happy too with this hotel and the area; every evening we went with them in Chiang Rai to the Night Market and to eat Thai Food without any problem, and nice attractions to discover : it was a really GREAT experience for the whole family and we'll sure come again in Chiang Rai and in this "superb" hotel !!!

  • Liked — Thai Style / Service / Situation
  • Disliked — Nothing : everything's perfect !
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PatValais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2008

Been at Legend for 2 nights during my honeymoon in August 2007.

It was just amazing. The apartment was great, with a full room dedicated to the thai shower, a nice balcony with a table and 2 chairs with a view on the gardens of the resort which are really fantastic.

The best thing of the hotel is the feeling to be in the middle of the jungle which is especially strong at nights when you can hear all the noises of the jungle.

The food served at the restaurant is a bit disappointing given the high quality you can easily find in Thailand and the high standards of the hotel. The restaurant has however a magnificent view on the river, which really compensate the poorness of the food.

The hotel has also a pier where u can get boats to visit the river.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JQuintana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
Level Contributor
237 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 500 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2008

Booking this hotel was not easy. Despite numerous emails backwards and forwards, when we arrived, their was no record of our booking.
However, we were offered a standard double room which was ok and reasonably comfortable but looked VERY tired and frankly though originally when new this resort must have been quite a hot place to stay at, it now looks a little dated and the rooms really need a re-design as they are also badly planned with lots of doors going nowhere and a huge wetroom that is not really what one expects with only a moderate shower and enough room to get lost in.
The public spaces are ok and the pool is sizeable and in a good position overlooking the river. This river is a bit dull though, with no activity of note. The breakfast is no more than satisfactory.
What really rankled was the lack of a shuttle service to town which is quite a way off - more than a walk in this heat. Their were tuk tuks but no evidence of their availibility. Their was a distinct out of season feel.
Overall, one gets an impression of a 3-4 star resort that needs an overhaul.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — The rooms and the breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Lemniot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernay, France
Level Contributor
235 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2008

I had an excellent stay at the Legend where I spent 3 nights last March.
This place is unique ! The location of the resort was fantastic. I stayed in a private pool villa by the river. The room was clean, well equiped, large and private. Gardens were beautiful.
The service was excellent. I tried a Thai buffet at the restaurant and the food was very good.
Overall I recommend this hotel. I hope to be back soon.

  • Liked — Privacy, scenery, food and sevice
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BELLIFONTAINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
0.6 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
10.2 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.9 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legend Chiang Rai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legend Chiang Rai

Property: The Legend Chiang Rai
Address: 124/15 Moo 21 Kohloy Road | Mae Kok River, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Rai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Legend Chiang Rai 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location:The Legend Chiang Rai is located directly on the Mae Kok River, secluded from the city, yet within 5 minutes driving distance from the city center. The immediate environment is relatively undeveloped providing a tranquil, natural location ideal for a river resort & spa. The property gives a panoramic view to the near-by hills and mountains. The riverside across is largely undeveloped and preserved with large rain trees and lush vegetation.Accommodation:The resort features 78 lavishly appointed studios and villas offering king size or queen/single beds, designed to allow for maximum connection with the environment, opening up to nature – yet providing uncompromising comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Legend Chiang Rai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legend Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
Legend Chiang Rai
Legend Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing