We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a gem in northern Thailand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial River House Resort
Ranked #6 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Visited the Imperial River View Hotel in Chiang Rai in January 2014. This hotel is still a very well maintained clean and efficient establishment and possibly one of the best hotels in Thailand. Staff are courteous and friendly, check in is quick and easy and the setting is beautiful. A very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kingsley293916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Kingsley 293916,

Thank you very much for these wonderful comments. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and love our resort very much. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest in our Resort and truly hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in Chiang Rai and to stay with us once again in the nearly future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Imperial in December 2013. Our standard room was large and comfortable, with views overlooking the pool and the lovely river (all rooms face the river, which is a nice touch.) The service was absolutely excellent. I had tried without success to arrange a rental car for a 3-day road-trip outside of Chiang Rai, and all of the major brands, plus a few smaller local places I tried, were absolutely booked. I called the hotel and they were able to get me a car for the same price. Additionally, the breakfast buffet was excellent. The only tough thing is the location; it's a solid 40-minute walk to town. So we rented a moped (this was much more convenient than the shuttle bus.) But we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms face the river, so you really can't go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pilotguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Pilotguy1,

Thank you very much for your warm words and lovely comments towards our resort facilities and services. In fact, we are so happy to learn that your recent stay with us was full of impression. Therefore, it is our pleasure to welcome you as a guest in our resort and truly hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back here again for your next visit to Chaing Rai.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I really enjoyed this hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and tastefully furnished. The pool looked lovely as well, although it was too cold to use while we were there. The breakfast was better than at most hotels I've stayed in in Thailand. The location on the river is lovely but isn't super convenient because it's on the wrong side so it's a long way to get into town. The hotel does a great job with a cheap shuttle bus, but it would be even better if they had bycicles for guests to use or a boat to ferry people directly across to the other side of the river...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank city0fangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear City0fangels,

On behalf of our management and team, thank you very much for your great comments regarding our facilities and services you were experienced at our resort, I am delighted to know that you enjoyed breakfast as well as it was a pleasure to welcome you at the hotel.
As per your suggestions regarding the bicycle or ferry, these ideas are very useful for our future development purpose. By the way, I truly hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to Chiang Rai and to stay with us once again in the nearly future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Great hotel with huge modern comfortable rooms and a lovely pool. Hotel is out of the central town but a shuttle bus runs regularly into town and the cheap taxi's or tuk tuk's are always available. Also has a gym.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Diane B,

Thank you very much for your kind encouraging comments. I was delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments made me feel very appreciated, thank you so much for your warm words.

Please be assured that we always share all and any guest feedback among our team, and they were particularly pleased. Thank you for taking the time to write down these kind comments.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to Imperial River House Resort again in the nearly future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The hotel is great, rooms are clean and big. The staff is helpful and friendly. The pool is very nice, especially after a day sightseeing is a swim in the shade perfect. Breakfast is good and fresh. The garden around the hotel is very nice and good for a walk after breakfast. The surroundings of the hotel is nice and quiet, I loved it. You can walk to town centre but it is better to use the shuttle bus service from the hotel. From town to the hotel I used taxi or TucTuc, never a problem to find one.

Room Tip: I had a room with river view but I guess that all the rooms are good. My room was completely painted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thailand_fan_Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Thailand_fan_Eric,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest in our Resort and truly hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in Chiang Rai.

Looking very much forward to being at your service again in the nearly future. Take care!

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Having lived in Thailand for 8 years now, I am not side tracked with smoke and mirrors when it comes to getting what you pay for here.......Value for money. There are so many hotels and resorts in Thailand where the best thing about them is there web-sites........

Happily the Imperial River House Resort, Chiang Rai is not one of those. I only spent one night with wife, friends and there two young boys.

Not a lot to say but it's clean, has friendly staff, great location, quiet, great pool, great room, great bed.................And the breakfast is OK.

I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Bill253,

Thank you very much for your kind sharing time and great experiences on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest in our Resort and we are delighted to know that everyone in your family enjoyed their stay with us. Your 2 boys- both of them are lovely and charming. By the way, we all look forward to welcoming your family back to stay with us again for your next visit to Chaing Rai.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Lovely grounds. Lovely welcome. Lovely room. Lovely view.
We thoroughly enjoyed our one night here. Wish it could have been more. We enjoyed breakfast and found there was enough for us to choose from. We didnt get to explore the area very much as we were on a day tour but it looked quite central.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank MelanieAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear MelanieAP,

Thank you very much for your warm words and lovely comments towards our resort facilities and services. In fact, we are so happy to learn that your recent stay with us was full of impression. Therefore, it is our pleasure to welcome you as a guest in our resort and truly hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back here again for your next visit to Chaing Rai.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
0.8 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
826 reviews
1 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
0.2 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 108 in Chiang Rai
1,036 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 108 in Chiang Rai
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial River House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial River House Resort

Address: 482 Moo 4 | Rimkok District, Chiang Rai 57100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Rai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range: £76 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Imperial River House Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish boutique resort with 39 spacious river view rooms, full facilities and homely Thai style services. It is situated along the Kok River. Only 10 minutes away from Airport and town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Imperial River House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial River House Resort, Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
River Hotel Chiang Rai
River Resort Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing