We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RELAXING!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Imperial River House Resort
Ranked #6 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Junction, CO
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“RELAXING!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed at the Imperial River House Resort in Chiang Rai for 3 nights and we enjoyed every minute of it. The resort is located next to the Kok River and our room had an incredible view of the pool and the river behind it. The pool was very large with nice cool, crystal clear water. It felt SO good to take a dip in it after a long hot day of touring the area.

The room was large, comfortable and very clean with a nice comfortable bed. There was plenty of hot water and the shower was very nice. The included breakfast buffet was very good as well, with plenty of fruit, meats, eggs, breads, etc. The service was also excellent.

On the last day, we had booked a taxi to the airport, but they never showed up. The receptionist asked the driver to take us to the bus station right away so we didn't miss our bus. The entire staff was very professional and courteous, always making sure we were taken care of.

My wife and I HIGHLY recommend The Imperial River House Resort if you are looking for a relaxing place to stay when you're in Chiang Rai.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms (#409) near the end of the hallways were quiet and offered an excellent view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear gdirst,

We gladly appreciate the time that you spent to write the generous feedback following your recent visit to our resort. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and very grateful for your posiive comments regarding our lovely property, nice swimming pool, large comfortable room and fresh breakfast.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to Chiang Rai again in the future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager
Tui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    160
    27
    7
    2
See reviews for
81
217
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

This hotel was very lovely and nestled right against the river. Unfortunately in Thailand, that means mosquitos. The pool and patio area are so lovely but it's a shame that they are nearly unusable as soon as the sun sets if you don't wish to be eaten alive. The rooms and the rest of the hotel are also lovely and comfortable, and we enjoyed our stay here very much.

It is completely away from the town, however, so dinner plans were tricky on a night that we didn't wish to venture far. The hotel restaurant menu was not appealing to us in the least so we ended up having pizza delivered.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GoBlueBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear GoBlueBoston,

Thank you so much! Your warm words are really very much appreciated. I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay very much especially with our room and pool. Your constructive comments regarding our food at the restaurant also very useful.

However, I do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Chiang Rai once again

Sincerely yours,
Pimonphatt J,
Horel Managemenr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Large and airy foyer staffed by very competent, friendly and helpful staff. Very spacious, comfortable and well equipped room with a view over the pool to the river. Only had lunch and breakfast at the hotel and both offered a very wide range of foods. Large pool and extensive gardens. We stayed here on our last night in Thailand and we're not disappointed. A very nice hotel to finish a very interesting trip. Could not fault the hotel and would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone wanting accommodation in Chiang Rai

Room Tip: We had room 406 - well away from the administrative part of the hotel so quiet - ensuring a good nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Noela R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely experience at our resort. Your warm words regarding our helpful and friendly staffs, superb room, meals and facilities are very appreciated for all of us. As you recommended, our resort, rooms and pool is one of the best in Chaing Rai

By the way, we do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you to Chiang Rai and to stay with us again in the future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at this lovely hotel for two nights. Its location on the river, nice grounds around it and the wide open and airy layout make you feel immediately welcome. The rooms are large and well furnished. The moment we stepped out of the room, we had a beautiful view of the river. It is also a short tuk tuk drive away from the centre of the town.

We enjoyed our breakfast in the restaurant (Tara), which overlooks the lovely grounds. The choice of food items, the omlette station and attentive service made the first meal of the day very enjoyable. We also had lunch in the same restaurant, sitting on the patio under an umbrella. All the items we ordered were excellent. These included the Papaya salad, Tom Yum soup, Pad Thai and h Malaysian chicken curry and roti. Every item was prepared fresh and had lot of flavour and tasted wonderful. The cold beer went well with the excellent food.

Our check in check out were handled efficiently.

This is a wonderful place to stay in to relax and enjoy Chiang Rai and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curiousrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear curiousrover,

Thank you very much for your kind sharing your beautiful moment at our resort. Your review is one of the warm and encouraging comments we have recieved. Thank you so much for highlighting our resort atmosphere, the lovely breakfast and foods at the Tara restaurant as well as the efficiency of our staffs.

It was a pleasure to welcome you as our guests and I am delighted that we made your stay special and memorable. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again for your next visit to Chiang Rai.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austwell, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Visited the Imperial River View Hotel in Chiang Rai in January 2014. This hotel is still a very well maintained clean and efficient establishment and possibly one of the best hotels in Thailand. Staff are courteous and friendly, check in is quick and easy and the setting is beautiful. A very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingsley293916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Kingsley 293916,

Thank you very much for these wonderful comments. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and love our resort very much. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest in our Resort and truly hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in Chiang Rai and to stay with us once again in the nearly future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Imperial in December 2013. Our standard room was large and comfortable, with views overlooking the pool and the lovely river (all rooms face the river, which is a nice touch.) The service was absolutely excellent. I had tried without success to arrange a rental car for a 3-day road-trip outside of Chiang Rai, and all of the major brands, plus a few smaller local places I tried, were absolutely booked. I called the hotel and they were able to get me a car for the same price. Additionally, the breakfast buffet was excellent. The only tough thing is the location; it's a solid 40-minute walk to town. So we rented a moped (this was much more convenient than the shuttle bus.) But we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms face the river, so you really can't go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilotguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Pilotguy1,

Thank you very much for your warm words and lovely comments towards our resort facilities and services. In fact, we are so happy to learn that your recent stay with us was full of impression. Therefore, it is our pleasure to welcome you as a guest in our resort and truly hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back here again for your next visit to Chaing Rai.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

I really enjoyed this hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and tastefully furnished. The pool looked lovely as well, although it was too cold to use while we were there. The breakfast was better than at most hotels I've stayed in in Thailand. The location on the river is lovely but isn't super convenient because it's on the wrong side so it's a long way to get into town. The hotel does a great job with a cheap shuttle bus, but it would be even better if they had bycicles for guests to use or a boat to ferry people directly across to the other side of the river...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank city0fangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear City0fangels,

On behalf of our management and team, thank you very much for your great comments regarding our facilities and services you were experienced at our resort, I am delighted to know that you enjoyed breakfast as well as it was a pleasure to welcome you at the hotel.
As per your suggestions regarding the bicycle or ferry, these ideas are very useful for our future development purpose. By the way, I truly hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to Chiang Rai and to stay with us once again in the nearly future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
0.2 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
2.0 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial River House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial River House Resort

Property: The Imperial River House Resort
Address: 482 Moo 4 | Rimkok District, Chiang Rai 57100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Rai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial River House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish boutique resort with 39 spacious river view rooms, full facilities and homely Thai style services. It is situated along the Kok River. Only 10 minutes away from Airport and town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial River House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial River House Resort, Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
River Hotel Chiang Rai
River Resort Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing