We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial River House Resort
Ranked #6 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

What a great hotel in a beautiful location and garden right in the river in Chiang Rai. Unfortunately we only stayed one night. The room was large and excellently appointed overlooking the pool. The bathroom was big with a full size bath and a separate walk in shower. The was a nice breakfast room with a good selection. The pool was very big and had seats in the water to lounge on. Will have to come back here!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 53Paul53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sirijan S, Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear 53 Paul 53
Thank you very much for your kind sharing time and positive comments in this review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel as well as learning that your stay was enjoyable. Therefore, we all look forward to welcoming you back to stay at our hotel longer.
Looking very much forward to being at your service again in the not too distant future

Kind Regards
Sirijan Sapapak
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stayed with my family at this hotel for 1 night.
The staff is very helpful and very friendly.
The rooms are well equipped with new stuff (furniture, electricity equipment and bathroom).
Breakfast was nutrient with many options.
The hotel's restaurant offers many possibilities of dishes
if we will return to Chiang Rai this is certainty the first choice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Steph181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sirijan S, Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Step 181
Thanks you very much for staying at the Imperial River House and thanks you have taken time to comment our services .it through valuable comment like your very own that we can continue to improve our services to match the demands of our discerning and continued loyalty
Looking very much forward to being at your services again in the not too distant future

Kind Regards
Sirijan Sapapak
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I would go back to Chiang Rai just to stay at this hotel.

Six star at a three star price.

Just a great place to kick back and relax after a day's sight seeing

Rooms are lovely and comfortable, staff very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dancaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Dancaholic,

Thank you very much for your kind sharing time and positive comments in this review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel as well as learning that your stay was enjoyable. Therefore, we all look forward to welcoming you back to stay at our hotel longer.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to Imperial River House Resort again in the nearly future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights in May 2014. I can't recommend this place enough. The staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble, they were all really friendly. The hotel is very clean and well maintained, the grounds are really lovely to wonder around too. The hotel is quite large considering it only has 36 rooms. The pool is also big and crystal clear, was very refreshing after a bit of sun bathing. It wasn't very busy when we stayed so never had a problem getting a sun lounger, but there aren't many.
The rooms are really big and clean, the bathroom is very spacious, with a separate bath & shower.
The location was not an issue for us, we just used the hotel transport to take us into town, nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
There is a good selection at breakfast & we also had lunch a couple of times which was nice, big portions and worth the money.
Unfortunately we stayed when there were several large earthquakes in Chiang Rai. It is very uncommon to get such strong quakes in this area, in fact we later found out that these were the worst for 100yrs in Thailand. It was the first time we had experienced anything like this and was quite scary! The hotel withstood the shaking although there was some damage. The hotel manager & staff were amazing, they couldn't do enough for us. They provided us with complementary dinner & drinks and kept us up to date with the news. Most of the guests ended up sleeping downstairs and by the pool, the staff made sure we were comfortable. They ended up moving everyone to one side of the hotel, we were upgraded to the suite on the fourth floor, it was an amazing room, however being up higher, my wife didn't feel as safe when we had numerous aftershocks. The hotel manager was very helpful and moved us down to the suite on the 1st floor.
I can't recommend this place enough, would defiantly book again if visiting the area.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank j3ffb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear j3ffb,

On behalf of our management and team, thank you very much for your kind sharing time to write this positive review. We are very happy to hear your great comments regarding our resort facilities and services as well as an earthquake management at our resort.

As we all know that Chiang Rai is not namely not an earthquake area, however these days nothing is predictable. With our guest safety in mind so please be assured that we will always provide information, assurance and assistance with a some "heart" put into all that matters.

Since everything now is back to normal so I truly hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to Chiang Rai and to stay with us once again in the nearly future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had a great experience at Imperial River House Resort. Very friendly staff, and very attentive. The spacious room overlooking the river had everything we needed. It was clean and very comfortable. Great value for money. The grounds were very pleasant and easy to walk around, taking in the views and the beautiful shrubbery.
However, we were there in April after the " busy" tourist season so we might have been spoiled I think!
The only issue was that the pool pumps had packed in so the pool was out of action for a few days at the end of our stay and it was very hot! Nevertheless I would recommend this resort to anyone staying in Chaing Rai- a real find and we would definitely stay here again! Can't wait!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear S and A Hunter,

Thank you very much for your kind taking time to share your great experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are very appreciated with all of your comments and please accept our sincere apology once again for the incident that happened with our swimming pool over that time.

We truly hope that we will have a chance to welcoming you back here again for your next visit to Chiang Rai.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Sometimes "resort " can be deceptive and a misnomer. Imperial River resort was indeed a very nice resort. Great friendly staff. Nice clean room and bath. Excellent restaurant. A quiet oasis. Very clean pool. And they make a excellent pina colada!! Would stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLB830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear DLB830,

On behalf of our management and team, thank you very much for your kind sharing time to write this positive review. Since it is our pride to make every moment of our discerning and loyal clientele like yours enjoyable so we are very happy to hear your great comments regarding our resort facilities and services. Thank you very much for given us such a big encouragement!

I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome and to serve the beautiful Pina Colada again to you once again for your next visit to Chiang Rai.

Sincerely,
Pimonphat J.(Tui)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The staff were all pleasant and welcoming. Fast, efficient check in and check out. We were originally given room 406, which was pleasant enough and had two opening windows, but had no balcony - only the rooms and the end of each storey did. We asked to upgrade to a balcony room and paid the extra - another $AUD57 a night - but it was a fantastic room, great views, very private and a huge bathroom, if you are going to stay here, then my advice is pay up for a balcony room. There was no Thai influence that we could discern in the hotel, possibly a slight Chinese one, but in essence, pretty featureless.

Other reviewers have commented that the hotel is isolated. We borrowed the hotel's two bikes twice and biked to Chiang Rai, it took us 15 minutes. At the edge of urban CR is the police station, and both times we asked the sentry at the police station if we could leave the bikes there while we explored on foot, no problem, thus we were not isolated from CR itself. It is true though, that should you want to go and eat street side or explore local markets then there simply isn't anything there. That probably works out well for the hotel restaurant, which serves good, if bland food; and one simply can't fault the service. Breakfast was good, bacon seemed to be available alternate mornings.

On arrival on 9th April, we used the pool and noticed immediately it was a strange colour and slimy. When we moved to our top floor 412 room and looked down on the pool it was very obvious how dirty it was. One morning half it was cleaned and we were surprised to see there were two seats in the pool - we hadn't been able to see that before. The effort to clean up half may have been to much for the equipment though, as the pool (and there is only one) remained closed the whole of yesterday, 13th and was still closed today when we left.

There are no brochures for tours in the lobby but when you open the hotel guest info folder in your room, the hotel does list tours it arranges, in there. The trip we wanted to do to the golden triangle was charged at the rate of baht 3420 plus 7%VAT each; we found the exact tour for baht1000 each, no VAT, and it was a very professional operation. Be wary.

They treated us well, the service all throughout the hotel was delightful (and the pool problem is probably due to a lack of expertise, rather than just poor service). It IS isolated if you like to potter about locally, especially in the evenings; there is simply nowhere to go and nothing to do if you don't got in to Chiang Rai. We would not stay here again for that reason.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank womblewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear womblewa,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate it as it assists us with improving the quality of our products and services.

I do sincerely apologise for the incident that happened with our swimming pool from that you were experienced during your stay. As mentioned in the noticement letter that the heavy strom has damaged some part of our water treatment system while the retreatment process of our swimming pool is still on process. The incident that happened is in fact our of our control so please accept our sincere apology once again.

Thank you very much again for your kind generous review and we will try our best to improve our tour programs and other services to be better and more variety in the future. I and my team look forward to welcoming you back to Chiang Rai again in the future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
0.8 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
808 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
0.2 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 108 in Chiang Rai
1,030 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 108 in Chiang Rai
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial River House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial River House Resort

Address: 482 Moo 4 | Rimkok District, Chiang Rai 57100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Rai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range: £72 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Imperial River House Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish boutique resort with 39 spacious river view rooms, full facilities and homely Thai style services. It is situated along the Kok River. Only 10 minutes away from Airport and town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial River House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial River House Resort, Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
River Hotel Chiang Rai
River Resort Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing