We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't recommend this place more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Baan Jaru

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baan Jaru
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't recommend this place more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

The accommodations are flawless: brand new, comfy beds, great bathroom and AC! Super close to the night market, various bars and good eats (must try The Lounge). The owners are unbelievable! The fluent English speaker gave us great travel advice and even offered to come pick us up if we got into any trouble. One night we even had a few beers with the owners and a few other guests! We will be sad to say good-bye to Baan Jaru!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
189
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We just stayed there one night before we went to Laos but it was simply perfect. The room is big and really clean (with balcony) and the bathroom was one of the nicest we've ever had on our whole trip. The owner is a really nice guy who's fluent in English. He gave us the advice to go for the Saturday night market at the walking street (whicht turned out as one of our best market experiences in SEA). The bed and breakfast is perfectly located to the centre and also close to the bus station. Breakfast is included in the price. The only thing that I would recommend is probably using real coffee instead of instant - but just my 2 cents.
Make sure you get to know the owner's dog ;).

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nintschi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax Region, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We love this place. We stayed here for two nights total. Bed comfy, staff really friendly. Great breakfast in the morning. They have free bikes to use if you stay with them. We used these every day. They are great for getting around. Free water in your room.
They have a few little dogs that are super sweet and cute. I would recommend this place 100%.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadianbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is a gem of a hotel. A family run bed and breakfast. The owners are friendly and make you feel at home.Clean, comfortable rooms in a quiet area. There is a nice breakfast in the common area out in front of the hotel every morning. This hotel is great value for your money.

This hotel is in a great location, it is a 5 minute walk to the bus terminal, the Chiang Rai night market, and bars and restaurants.

If I was in the Chiang Rai area again, this is the place I would stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

This place was very new and very clean. My room was spacious and lovely. The owners are very sweet and their son was very helpful, he even made me special breakfast as I can't have toast, and took me to the bus station when I left. This place has the perfect central location but is tucked away just enough to be very quiet and peaceful. I would stay here again, the value and hospitality were excellent.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank JMB723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

What a great place to stay!
Rooms were really well decorated, spacious, spotless, and very comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent, served outside in the very pretty courtyard. Eggs, nice thick toast, fruit, juice, tea and coffee. They also serve something different each day, we had sticky rice and egg custard one day, and spinach and cheese the other.
The hosts were really nice and helpful, generally interested in what you had done and if they could help out with anything - getting you to any sites, or recommending something to do.
All in all had a great stay and would definitely recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Recommended by a tourist office and they were right. Excellent host, goes out of his way that you have a great experience with tourist attractions places to eat.
Room was excellent spacious. Hot shower and Wi-Fi that works.
Staff were equally as good.
What else can I say. Will return here again

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Leon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
0.1 mi away
Hi Chiangrai Hotel
Hi Chiangrai Hotel
#15 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Jaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Jaru

Property: Baan Jaru
Address: 1003 Jetyod Street, Chiang Rai Thailand 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 138 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baan Jaru 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Baan Jaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing