We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Up Market Budget Accomadation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baan Jaru

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baan Jaru
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Up Market Budget Accomadation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

For those who need top class budget accomadation Baan Jaru ticks all the boxes,spotless,comfy, large rooms,TV,A /C.and fresh cooked eggs for breakfast!!!. I won,t elaborate further previous travellers have done that. If you want to get lost just ask Toddy to program your GPS,(joke) he did it for us and we finished in the mountains on a dirt track,seriously though the people here are terrific, you will not be disappointed .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 71years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
185
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Can't say enough about the kindness and understanding of the family who run this guesthouse. I had to change my booking twice and they went out of their way to assist me. Toddy, in particular, was very helpful and encouraged me to contact him at any time throughout my trip if I was having problems. I was always offered free use of a bicycle every time I went out and Toddy's English is excellent which makes such a big difference.
The rooms are simple, clean and comfortable with efficient air conditioning and TV that has some channels with programs in English. Free water available at all times. The mattress wasn't quite as firm as others I have experienced throughout Thailand which was a welcome relief for my back.
Breakfast is in the garden area and Toddy will help you with toast. Eggs can be made any way that you like. Green tea and instant coffee is available. Breakfast is pretty basic but it's enough to start the day.
The location is excellent. Near the bus station, night market and the fabulous clock tower. Easy walking distance to other down town sights as well as local 7/11s for snacks. Lots of small bars and restaurants near by as well as coffee shops.
At the end of my stay, I was given a lift to the bus station as my luggage had grown significantly. This was very much appreciated.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter although I could still hear my neighbours coming and going. Not the fault...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellight_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The guys that run this place are seriously amazing. So welcoming. So helpful. Upgraded my room due to a booking issue. They are located just around the corner from clock tower and markets and the bus station!
In the morning I sat with them and went through every what to do and must dos. Even telling me what was worth doing - love the truth. He explains stories of people out on mopeds getting lost - they had no way to contact the owners - he was so stressed and said if only they called I would Of driven to the mountains! Such gracious people. The rooms are basic but great. Exactly what you need backpacker or needing a room
To Your self . Seriously don't stay anywhere else. It's worth every penny. All though brekkie was basic.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

The accommodations are flawless: brand new, comfy beds, great bathroom and AC! Super close to the night market, various bars and good eats (must try The Lounge). The owners are unbelievable! The fluent English speaker gave us great travel advice and even offered to come pick us up if we got into any trouble. One night we even had a few beers with the owners and a few other guests! We will be sad to say good-bye to Baan Jaru!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We just stayed there one night before we went to Laos but it was simply perfect. The room is big and really clean (with balcony) and the bathroom was one of the nicest we've ever had on our whole trip. The owner is a really nice guy who's fluent in English. He gave us the advice to go for the Saturday night market at the walking street (whicht turned out as one of our best market experiences in SEA). The bed and breakfast is perfectly located to the centre and also close to the bus station. Breakfast is included in the price. The only thing that I would recommend is probably using real coffee instead of instant - but just my 2 cents.
Make sure you get to know the owner's dog ;).

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nintschi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax Region, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We love this place. We stayed here for two nights total. Bed comfy, staff really friendly. Great breakfast in the morning. They have free bikes to use if you stay with them. We used these every day. They are great for getting around. Free water in your room.
They have a few little dogs that are super sweet and cute. I would recommend this place 100%.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadianbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is a gem of a hotel. A family run bed and breakfast. The owners are friendly and make you feel at home.Clean, comfortable rooms in a quiet area. There is a nice breakfast in the common area out in front of the hotel every morning. This hotel is great value for your money.

This hotel is in a great location, it is a 5 minute walk to the bus terminal, the Chiang Rai night market, and bars and restaurants.

If I was in the Chiang Rai area again, this is the place I would stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wiang Inn Hotel
Wiang Inn Hotel
#13 of 108 in Chiang Rai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Jaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Jaru

Property: Baan Jaru
Address: 1003 Jetyod Street, Chiang Rai Thailand 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baan Jaru 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Baan Jaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing