We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous flowers & lovely pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laluna Hotel and Resort
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous flowers & lovely pool”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

So lovely to be able to swim under jungle foliage & walk to reception past carpets of orchids. Chalet type rooms with all the usual furniture. Rather a boring dining room with basic type food. A short tuk tuk ride to the night market.

Room Tip: I thought all rooms had equal merit, no need to pay extra for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    411
    162
    43
    17
See reviews for
134
417
52
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We have spent 3 nights there this week and everything was perfect.
Our bungalow was in a wonderful and peaceful garden, the interior was quite neat even though very simple. The swimming pool is great, the hotel is really quiet and the breakfast is not bad (except the fruit juices which were awful)

The only two cons are :
Terrible wifi. Even though you have a good coverage everywhere, the bandwith is really not enough.
The hotel is at 20-30 minutes walk from town center and night market

Except that, is a great match for the price asked.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Barhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We enjoyed one night at the Laluna Hotel before heading into Laos for our holiday so it was a bit of a stopover between places. We had spent a couple of busy days in Bangkok and the following 10 days were going to be full of activity, so we just wanted somewhere peaceful to recover from the travelling & jetlag and relax before setting off again. The Laluna hotel offered exactly this. The hotel was quiet (not sure if it was the time of year), but we were welcomed at the hotel and shown to our large spacious room (superior garden bungalow) and enjoyed a very relaxing day by the beautiful pool area. The hotel is designed very well with an attractive reception and dining area and the bungalows which are nestled amongst tropical well kept gardens. The buffet breakfast had a good selection of western and local fare and the usual array of juices and tea/coffee. The town centre ie. bus station and night market area is a good 10 minute walk although you can easily get a tuk tuk to and from the hotel. It's about a 10 minute drive from the airport where you can get a metered taxi - cheaper to do this than go through the hotel transfer service.
We stayed slightly out of season and managed to get a very good deal through Agoda. Even the rates on their website are not unreasonable for the grading of the hotel, but certainly there are always deals to be had through the usual discount hotel websites.
I would recommend staying here for a peaceful and relaxing stay and certainly would look at returning if we ever visited Chiang Rai again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t2000Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Laluna in mid August 2013.We had a pool view room and they are semi- detached bungalows. The room was a fair way from the reception but there were not many rooms occupied whilst we were there and it was a pleasant walk to and from the front of the hotel through some lovely gardens. Some of the plants were simply stunning with their beautiful flowers. Walking through the pathways at night was an unforgettable experience. The hotel itself was a bit of a step away from the centre of town but we had a car so it was no problem for us. There was a restaurant not far from the hotel and we ate there on a couple of occasions and the food and service was good. There is a little shop directly in front of the hotel and the elderly owners are simply wonderful people. We were always greeted with broad smiles and a small tip was greatly appreciated by them. So much so that they insisted on buying me a beer on my last day there, which I was honour bound to accept. At the end of the drive-way out of the hotel there is a small massage place that seemed to be run by a family. We had a foot massage there every day and we even had an oil massage each. They were all great. The breakfast in the hotel was o.k. and like many in Thailand. Overall the hotel was very good and clean with good house- keepers and wonderful gardeners.The reception staff, with their antiquated safety deposit boxes, were also friendly and attentive whenever we walked by. A very nice hotel.

Room Tip: The poolside rooms are the furtherest away from reception but the walk is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malcolm d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We are puzzled by one of the reviews her. Our bungalow was by the pool and it was excellent, Very well appointed, equipped and large. Very quiet at night and we never heard any door bang despite there being guests in the bungalow next door (they are attached).
The pool was stunning and great for relaxing after a day sight seeing.
True it is out of the centre and so we decided to use the hotel restaurant (which we never normally do) The restaurant staff were brilliant - they even let me have the remote for the air con! Food was fine and very reasonably priced for a hotel restaurant (Western food was more expensive)
There was a lot of building work going on at the front and the restaurant was being extended, we think, but it didn't cause us any problems.
We would happily have stayed longer at the hotel.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are great if you plan to use the pool, If you are not a pool person you might be bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Copley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Rooms spacious, gardens and pool area lovely, nice choice of breakfast. A little way from the centre but this not a problem. It is walkable or get the hotel to arrange transport. Centre is only 5 minutes.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank meanderstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Pros:- The gardens and the pool are glorious.
Cons:- The rooms are tiny, empty and NOISY. The air con, toilet extraction fan & the fridge all make the room RUMBLE. When all three are on together it's like being inside a Bangkok Industrial Laundry. Every front door and bathroom door in this venue SLAMS, so there are constant sonic booms reverberating throughout the entire venue. The place is an acoustic nightmare! As the room has one small cupboard with two unusable drawers, your suitcases have to be left open on the floor = room untidy and awkward. No-where for clothes to dry so everyone is forced to put chairs out on the little front verandah and drape their clothing. You get a voucher for a free dinner at their Restaurant. You'll notice people don't eat there. This is because the food is dreadful. (Surprisingly their buffet breakfast was bearable). The only bigger rip-off than their Tourist desk is the tuk-tuks waiting at the end of the driveway. Avoid both. As others have said before me - it's too far out of town, reception staff friendly but only speak Thai. Our 3 days there was 2 days too long. I am rarely moved to submit such a negative review, but La Luna does not make the grade.

Room Tip: Rm 125 and 217 are the ONLY 'pool view' rooms with a view. All the other 'pool view'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard-and-Craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.2 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
700 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 109 in Chiang Rai
174 reviews
2.6 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 109 in Chiang Rai
491 reviews
11.9 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
1.8 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 109 in Chiang Rai
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laluna Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laluna Hotel and Resort

Property: Laluna Hotel and Resort
Address: 160 Moo 14 Sanambin Rd. Muang Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Rai
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laluna Hotel and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laluna Hotel & Resort has 79 modern Thai style bungalows that are fully equipped with international standard amenities. When you stay at Laluna Hotel & Resort you will feel like staying in a lush tropical garden. Our warm and friendly staff are always available to assist and help make your stay with us a memorable one. Our facilities include a large lagoon swimming pool, restaurant, buffet breakfast complex and conference center. Laluna Hotel & Resort with its tropical style gardens is both quiet and private perfect for that relaxing getaway and only a 5 min drive or 15 minute walk from the heart of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laluna Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laluna Hotel Chiang Rai
Laluna Resort Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing