We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improvement needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laluna Hotel and Resort
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I was unable to book at the various travel websites as it shows that the hotel was full so I went to the hotel website and managed to book a poolside view room at a higher price than what the travel websites were offering. The room was OK but housekeeping could have done a better job (lots of mosquito in the toilet/room). Since I paid a higher room rate, I was given dinner voucher for my two nights stay. The food at the restaurant was sub-standard and I guess the cooks were not committed to do their best, in fact, I would say that it is the worst Thai food I have taken in Thailand. For breakfast at the dining hall, it was terrible, the foods were served cold and there were no service crew to serve the guests. I don't understand why the buffet warming trays were not heated up. The guy at the reception was unfriendly and has a indifferent attitude, maybe because he was on duty 24-hour a day as he was always there, day or night manning the reception. It does not make sense to me that whenever I go for my breakfast or dinner, I have to stop by to pick up my dining voucher. They could have issued all vouchers upon check in so as not to cause inconvenience to the guests.

Room Tip: Don't pay more to stay in a poolside view room as all rooms are the same.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (867)
There are newer reviews for Laluna Hotel and Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 867 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

Laluna is simple, clean, comfortable and offers a lot of value for the money. We escaped from the horrible Phu Chaisai Resort and Laluna was our haven. The resort isn't fancy by any means but it offers a lot of value for money. I think we paid around $50 a night during low season for the most basic room type, including dinner for our first night and daily breakfast! If you're going to Chiang Rai you are probably off doing activities during the day, cycling, hiking, excursions to Golden Triangle so Laluna is the perfect place to get a good night sleep!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlustingyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The hotel grounds are beautiful and the large hotel entrance rather posh. The weather was too cold for us to use the pool but it looked very inviting. The reception staff had a somewhat indifferent attitude. A small group of young men hung around it at any odd time, I assumed staff but difficult to tell as they wore no hotel related clothing, The room consisted of a nicely sized bedroom and a bathroom with shower. However the quality of the bed linen, specifically the pillows were appalling. It felt like they were all stuffed with rolled up tennis socks and a folded up sweater proved
more comfortable. One of the bedside lamps was broken and the tv remote needed new batteries. I would simply have expected that these things took part of the cleaners check lists. There was a horrible smell in the room when we arrived, we liked it to drying serrano ham for some odd reason, and the solution from the staff was to give us incense to burn. We were told that the wi-fi should work in the room but if not we had to come to the reception area. It was not working. Even with the air conditioning on (partly for the smell) we could still easily hear other guests walking and talking about outside. At one point in the night there was something, it sounded like a small dog with long nails, running on our celling. Only the next morning did I realise that there is no apartment above ours, so something was obviously running on the actual roof. The breakfast was unmanned except for the person collecting your voucher (which you need to collect from the reception) at the entrance. Which meant that if you required for example salt, you needed to go and find it yourself.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fantasavestheday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed at Laluna twice now and find it very nice, staff are helpful,room spacious and clean,gardens are kept lovely,pool is very nice as well. only suggestion, at breakfast have someone cooking eggs fresh to order as they are most always cold at the buffet.
Will not stop me booking again though.
Thanks
Al&Eid

Room Tip: Book through Agoda,watch out for their special deals.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlasdairCameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Really beautiful hotel gardens full of flowers and beautiful vegetaion. To swim in a pool surrounded by such loveliness was a delight. Rooms comfortable and we had no problems at all. The breakfast room was uninspiring which was a total contrast to the rest of the hotel. The food was ok and adequate but we had had better else where. The staff were charming and helpful Get a Tuktuk into the town though. The walk is not very pleasant and of course there are no pavements. The night market was great and well worth it to eat with the locals and enjoy cooking your own meal over a little brazier whilst enjoying the dancing and music.

Room Tip: We were lucky just to have a good basic room, not sure if paying extra for pool side is worth any ex...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfeakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Great value for money, the pool and pool area is really nice, gardens are very tidy, breakfast is the best we have had in Thailand so far. Only negatives is unfortunately the aircon in our room was broken, it was either blasting freezing cold or was nothing at all, not a major, as we didn't plan to spend our holiday cooped up in a hotel room, but we didn't have any hot water either, lukewarm was the best it got, not ideal after traveling all day and all you want is a hot shower... Other than that, the rooms are really big and clean with nice soft beds.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Aliciadann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

If it wasn't for having to book and pay for this location, I would have thought that we were in a butcher shop.
Where to start?

My impression of this hotel was that we were sitting ducks waiting to get abused. We were checked in by a person that can barely speak English and we were the lucky ones. After check in, we needed to use the phone and went back to the reception where we were greeted by the English speaking "Guy". "Guy" was extremely arrogant and unwilling to help. His best proposal was to charge us around 100 baht to make a local phone call. The wifi was often defective and nobody was able to fix the problem. If you want to use a safe, you need to pay an extra 100 baht. These were the only requests we made since we lost patience dealing with the staff.

The rooms were extremely cold and perfect for meat preservation. The ventilation in the washroom acted as a window which made the washroom extremely cold. Once in the room, we were unable to do anything but to stay under the bed sheets.
The good thing about this resort was the breakfast. The hot and cold buffet was quite tasty. However, I don't understand why they had to open all the windows within the restaurant when it was cold enough. I want soup, not popsicle soup!!!

Overall, if you really want to visit Laluna, go for the breakfast and nothing else.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisng20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.2 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
753 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 109 in Chiang Rai
192 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 109 in Chiang Rai
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
12.0 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
1.8 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 109 in Chiang Rai
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laluna Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laluna Hotel and Resort

Address: 160 Moo 14 Sanambin Rd. Muang Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Rai
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Rai
#10 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range: £24 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laluna Hotel and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laluna Hotel & Resort has 79 modern Thai style bungalows that are fully equipped with international standard amenities. When you stay at Laluna Hotel & Resort you will feel like staying in a lush tropical garden. Our warm and friendly staff are always available to assist and help make your stay with us a memorable one. Our facilities include a large lagoon swimming pool, restaurant, buffet breakfast complex and conference center. Laluna Hotel & Resort with its tropical style gardens is both quiet and private perfect for that relaxing getaway and only a 5 min drive or 15 minute walk from the heart of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laluna Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laluna Hotel Chiang Rai
Laluna Resort Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing