We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax after 25 hours of travel from Toronto”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Laluna Hotel and Resort
Ranked #8 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relax after 25 hours of travel from Toronto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Had a much needed night of sleep, then lazed around the very nice pool for the day, to prepare or a 17 day tour into Laos. A quiet location and truly an oasis. Friendly restaurant. Rooms were comfortable and private.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlecToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    406
    157
    42
    17
See reviews for
131
406
51
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
438 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Although we only stayed one night at Laluna as part of an organised tour we wished we'd stayed much, much longer. The hotel is bungalow based in a lovely 'tropical' garden. Our room was huge with a massive bed, a refrigerator was larger that the one we have at home, there was also free WiFi and a big flat screen TV. The wet room was excellent (although water did tend to leak across through an opening in the wall into the bathroom sink area).
One strange arrangement seemed to be the bar that was located some 50 yards away from the main part of the Hotel. When we ordered drinks we realised that we could have used a discount voucher so our server very kindly got on her bike to get one for us from Reception. When we paid for the drinks, she again got on the bike to return to Reception to get the change- strange.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobBonHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is the place you go to get quiet comfort in a beautiful tropical garden setting in the northern Thailand city of Chiang Rai. Spacious and tastefully decorated individual bungalows include all of the amenities and most notably a truly comfortable king bed.

Room Tip: The hotel restaurant is nice but over-priced. Much better value is available in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed here just a couple of nights following our river trip from Laos. The check in was efficient and we were shown to our room by the bell boy. It was a Pool View Room and we were surrounded by lovely plants and shrubs. The location was great. However the room standard was only average. The bedding was poor, as mentioned in an earlier revue the bed linen was thin and there was no mattress cover, the sheet was directly on to the mattress, not that comfortable.
As we arrived around 7pm we decided that we would shower and change and then eat in the hotel restaurant. This was a big disappointment. They appear to have a franchised bar/restaurant in the courtyard of the hotel which had a very large menu but it was more like a café menu. I do not like spiced food and asked specifically if the chosen dish of Sweet and sour chicken was spicy, having been told this was not spicy I ordered it but was unable to eat it due to the chilli. I had to order something else so chose stir fried vegetables. My husband enjoyed his curry but for a large hotel resort the restaurant did not match up.
Breakfast the next morning was better but if you wanted a latte coffee you had to pay extra.
I know the hotel is building a new restaurant so perhaps things will improve when they finish building and open it.
The rooms are in such lovely garden surroundings but they are in need of a bit of tender loving care and upgrading.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BroadieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed at Laluna hotel & resort for 7 nights. All rooms are separate bungalow – very spacious with clean bathroom.

Good location – not right in the downtown (noisy) but close enough that you can walk (about 15-20 mins) – we did end up hiring a motorbike in the town though, it’s easier and cheap.

Nice swimming pool – quite big and very quiet.

Restaurant – They are building the new restaurant but existing one is still good. A little pricey but good food with excellent service. You get 10% discount for a meal a day if you are staying at the hotel.

Breakfast – Lots of selections. Good breakfast. We ate a lot every morning!!

Overall, we had a very relaxing and comfortable stay at Laluna. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pekopoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed here just for one night. The computers where not working and the wifi was kind of slow, that could be a trouble if you need to comunicate with your family. And there is also not much to do in the area, that was disapointing. At the time, the hotel was under construction so just one part of the restaurant was working, not so happy about that either.
I was impressed by the room quality and the garden.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danidonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We spent one night in this hotel on a trip from Chiang Mai. It was really positive experience: the room in a bungalow was spacious, hotel star was really helpful & evening at the swimming pool was a good time for resting after the whole day of travelling.

If you like walking - you can reach the night market on foot (25-35 minutes of walk), otherwise take a taxi.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artur Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.4 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
12.0 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
0.9 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laluna Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laluna Hotel and Resort

Property: Laluna Hotel and Resort
Address: 160 Moo 14 Sanambin Rd. Muang Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Rai
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Rai
#8 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laluna Hotel and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laluna Hotel & Resort serves you with the 79 modern Thai style houses that are fully equipped with international standard amenities. When you stay at Laluna Hotel & Resort you will feel like staying at your home. A warm and friendly family management will make your stay in Chiangrai more memorable. With its neatly selected facilities, Laluna Hotel & Resort will ensure that you will get the utmost in comfort and privacy during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laluna Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laluna Hotel Chiang Rai
Laluna Resort Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing