We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Naga Hill Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$34
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nak Nakara(Chiang Rai)
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Patta(Chiang Rai)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Pine Resort(Chiang Rai)
US$44
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$37
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ben Guesthouse(Chiang Rai)
US$24
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$21
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
65
33
11
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
33
11
7
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had our greatest experience in Thailand at the Naga Hill Resort in Chiang Rai. The place is beautiful, with huge and well cared gardens, bamboos, all kind of tress and flowers, vegetation everywhere... The bungalows are nicely hidden in this idilic scenary and are not only comfortable, but as beatiful as the rest of the facilities of the hotel. In the night you can sleep smelling the flowers and... without mosquitos! And the outdoor bathroom... best see and try!
The staff is really friendly and helpful (they were able to cover oll our requests - which were quite lot :)
We found the Restaurant gourmet level (I still remember the salads of banana flower) and not expensive at all!! We found it even cheap! Really bit more than the street for excepcional quality of food and cooker. The pool of salty water is more than perfect for relax. We had also great thai massages. The management is always around taking care of customers.
We arranged our excursions with the Naga Hill and got the best tour guide of Chiang Rai: Lin. He thoroughly prepared the trips and we had the most lovely (and real hill tribe) excursions in Thailand. Take into account that Chiang Rai still has a exclusive North Thailand taste, quite out of crowds and out of the path of the mass turism. Thank you Lin!
We highly recomend the Naga Hill Resort for any kind of stay in Chiang Rai.
Thank all of you Guys for soooo lovely stay at the Naga Hill!

Room Tip: Any of the bungalows seems perfect!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ARANCHA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We originally booked 5 nights at Naga Hill as it looked so cute from the website. We later changed this to 3 nights due to a change in travel itinerary but left after 2 once we experienced the 'resort'.

For nature lovers this is a great place, although a little over priced. There are definitely some positive things about the resort, the swimming pool is great (huge, deep and with a nice view), the layout is designed so each 'bungalow' is hidden from sight and very private and bungalows are kept clean with a very good mosquito net and decent bed.

However there is major room for improvement. Service is lacking, it is more of a 'self service' environment. Almost every time we came to the restaurant for a drink or meal we had to get the menu ourselves after waiting a good 20 minutes and being the only guests around. The food was good but even with just 2 people dining during the course of the evening, it was not possible for food to come out even close to the same time. It was clear that they would cook one dish and then start from scratch for the next one. One lady who appeared to be the manager spoke very good english however the rest of the staff did not speak or understand a lot. Staff were all very friendly during our stay but they were not attentive and we would often have to go out of our way when we needed something.

Also we found that their website was a little bit misleading. The word bungalow is a bit of a stretch, it was more like a small, very basic hut which could be compared to a camping experience in a large tent. We definitely feel that they should lower their prices as we paid 1,200 THB for a 'medium bungalow' for which we would not pay more than 800 THB for. A man who we assume was the owner openly asked guests to give a 'good review' on trip advisor and made sure to catch us before we left to ask us in a pushy manner to do the same while we struggled with our luggage. we also tried to arrange a driver to take us to look at 3 relatively close sights in Chiang Rai, as the manager lady had seemed so friendly and helpful we thought she would ensure that we got a good deal, however she quoted us almost 3000 THB. After stating that this was very expensive she dropped the price to 1,200 THB but after deciding to take a very friendly meter taxi driver we paid just 800 THB for 4 hours of his services.

Overall nice environment but over priced and with poor service.

Room Tip: only for true nature lovers
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philipp s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We had left all the arrangements for our 2 day trip to Chiang Rai to our guide ,Na, who never disappointed us. After a wonderful day at the Thai/Burma border wandering around the most amazing street markets we'd ever seen , Na drove us to this beautiful little gem, set behind rustic gates and a winding path near a small lake.
The first surprise was our bure, a classic bamboo cabin in a secluded grove of coconut palms.
Inside was our king size mattress set upon a raised sleeping platform with mosquito net overhead. Our bathroom with flushing loo was outside,,semi roofed, and walled with a pretty tree growing in the shower space. There was even a full sized bath!
The walls of our bure were open to the elements, apart from good netting, so be warned , bring a sweater as it is chilly at night. There was no power after a certain time at night, but decent torches were supplied and there was always someone to guide us back to our bure after dinner
We had a beautifully prepared and presented meal in the outdoor restaurant that night and next morning a continental breakfast was included in the price.
This is an "Eco " Resort , so don't expect 5 *s. We loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We spend 1 week in 2011 and the service was excellent on every point (room, food and tours), the place was under a french management. We came back this year and were very disappointed, food was BAD, staff unfriendly and nobody could offer us an interesting excursion !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We did not expect much of this place (reading the previous reviewes). Our stay here was quite short (4nights in total) due to other places we wanted to visit. Staff is friendly, if you are friendly. Food is good, although a bit expensive in comparison for how much you can each in the Chiang Rai. But word expensive applies only for thai prices, comparing prices to Europe or US this is still affordable, safe and natural place!
We were the only 2 foreigners in the hotel due to a local wedding - and this was very unique experience. We were invited to the event, which is unforgetable. Our concerns about partying wedding guests were false, and seems the guests were more concerned about not disturbing us.
Accomodation is very simple, almost like sleeping in the tent. Outdoor bathrooms are separated from the nature with a simple brick-wall, you feel the nature from the rest (bugs, birds, etc). Well none of these were going after us :-)
Airco is missing, but why if the nights are chilly and you are happy having a warm blanket?
If you look for safe, check first the wooden box under the bed - which you think is the stair to get up :-)
Do not bring/store any food here if you do not want to figt with ants for it!

Make yourself ready for the nature and you will enjoy it as we did.

The "resort" is remote and signs are not very good, you have to have quite good sense of directions to find this place (even taxi drivers do not know where it is). The best is to print the simple map (drawing) they have on the Naga hill web page. Forget about any other maps, they won't bring you there!
The best is to rent a car (we did it at the airport) to see the neighbourhood by yourself and not to be dependant on organized tours or taxis. Driving in this area is simple, safe and police is friendly and helping with directions (if they know :-)

Room Tip: they are no rooms, just "cottages" from wood and grass :-)
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mxn399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews