We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“choice from basic to somewhat sophisticated but all in good taste”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Naga Hill Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Rai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Naga Hill Resort
Ranked #96 of 161 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“choice from basic to somewhat sophisticated but all in good taste”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The bungalows are inviting by their predominantly wooden design. Even in the basic version, comfort is provided where necessary: excellent bed mattress, hot water..
The gardens and the views are beautiful.
Some works in progress didn't let us enjoy the restaurant area as much as wished but they won't last long supposedly (Nov 2013). The food is somewhat pricey but its quality justifies it.
Good, dedicated service.
A good stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kermit54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    30
    11
    7
    10
See reviews for
23
64
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

I am a little upset writing this review as I have previously stayed at Naga Hill and had an amazing time.

Management has changed - after reading current reviews of change in management although, a little put off we went ahead and booked for our second stay as you just could not change our mind that it could effect the experience much.

When we arrived we walked up the stone path and after trodding through the dark (torches were not lit as like previous stay) we came across one of the workmen with a small torch. He led us to reception and lead us around a trench in the path (which if we had not come across him, we would have stepped in).

When we arrived at reception we were greeted with... Well nothing. The place was deserted. The workman who spoke very little if any English indicated to wait for the manager. After waiting for 10 minutes plus I started to fill in the paper work I found on the counter. While I was doing this we asked if we could order dinner or some drinks. Even pointing to the menu the workman did not understand (which is not his fault).

We sat down and waited another 10 minutes for anything... The workman was trying to get into contact with the manager on the phone and he eventually handed us the phone to speak to him directly. I said 'hello' to which response he said 'Hello Sir, how may I help you?' Long story short, I indicated it would be nice if he could be here so that we could check in... A request that I thought was reasonable. However, the phone seemed to disconnect during this process.

The workman recieved another call from the manager a short time later and he then tried to take us to our room. We politely refused as by now we were seriously concerned about management, the service we would receive during our stay and the lack of other guests. (I understand that the place is genuinely normally quiet but considering the walkway torches were not even lit at that time indicated there was more than likely no other guests staying and if there was how more the safety seemed to not have any warning signs or lighting on the main path the reception.

I spoke to the manager again briefly on the phone and he indicated that he was going to possibly there in 15 minutes. At this stage we asked the workman to call for a taxi, of which he didn't. He called the manager again and I was put on the phone. I told the manager we were leaving to go get some food and that we would like a taxi called. After asking over and over again for a taxi to be called, the workman walked away and we were left waiting.

At this point we did not want to tolerate such a 'mish-mash' of service, safety concerns, and sheer incompetence that we walked down the drive, down the road and order a taxi at a restaurant.

It is so disappointing that a place of beauty, uniqueness and tranquility can be turned into pit of poor management it has.

I pride myself on being an easy going and accepting traveller. To be left in a situation like this I now thoroughly agree with recsent negative comments.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Stubblebubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had our greatest experience in Thailand at the Naga Hill Resort in Chiang Rai. The place is beautiful, with huge and well cared gardens, bamboos, all kind of tress and flowers, vegetation everywhere... The bungalows are nicely hidden in this idilic scenary and are not only comfortable, but as beatiful as the rest of the facilities of the hotel. In the night you can sleep smelling the flowers and... without mosquitos! And the outdoor bathroom... best see and try!
The staff is really friendly and helpful (they were able to cover oll our requests - which were quite lot :)
We found the Restaurant gourmet level (I still remember the salads of banana flower) and not expensive at all!! We found it even cheap! Really bit more than the street for excepcional quality of food and cooker. The pool of salty water is more than perfect for relax. We had also great thai massages. The management is always around taking care of customers.
We arranged our excursions with the Naga Hill and got the best tour guide of Chiang Rai: Lin. He thoroughly prepared the trips and we had the most lovely (and real hill tribe) excursions in Thailand. Take into account that Chiang Rai still has a exclusive North Thailand taste, quite out of crowds and out of the path of the mass turism. Thank you Lin!
We highly recomend the Naga Hill Resort for any kind of stay in Chiang Rai.
Thank all of you Guys for soooo lovely stay at the Naga Hill!

Room Tip: Any of the bungalows seems perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARANCHA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schopfheim, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We originally booked 5 nights at Naga Hill as it looked so cute from the website. We later changed this to 3 nights due to a change in travel itinerary but left after 2 once we experienced the 'resort'.

For nature lovers this is a great place, although a little over priced. There are definitely some positive things about the resort, the swimming pool is great (huge, deep and with a nice view), the layout is designed so each 'bungalow' is hidden from sight and very private and bungalows are kept clean with a very good mosquito net and decent bed.

However there is major room for improvement. Service is lacking, it is more of a 'self service' environment. Almost every time we came to the restaurant for a drink or meal we had to get the menu ourselves after waiting a good 20 minutes and being the only guests around. The food was good but even with just 2 people dining during the course of the evening, it was not possible for food to come out even close to the same time. It was clear that they would cook one dish and then start from scratch for the next one. One lady who appeared to be the manager spoke very good english however the rest of the staff did not speak or understand a lot. Staff were all very friendly during our stay but they were not attentive and we would often have to go out of our way when we needed something.

Also we found that their website was a little bit misleading. The word bungalow is a bit of a stretch, it was more like a small, very basic hut which could be compared to a camping experience in a large tent. We definitely feel that they should lower their prices as we paid 1,200 THB for a 'medium bungalow' for which we would not pay more than 800 THB for. A man who we assume was the owner openly asked guests to give a 'good review' on trip advisor and made sure to catch us before we left to ask us in a pushy manner to do the same while we struggled with our luggage. we also tried to arrange a driver to take us to look at 3 relatively close sights in Chiang Rai, as the manager lady had seemed so friendly and helpful we thought she would ensure that we got a good deal, however she quoted us almost 3000 THB. After stating that this was very expensive she dropped the price to 1,200 THB but after deciding to take a very friendly meter taxi driver we paid just 800 THB for 4 hours of his services.

Overall nice environment but over priced and with poor service.

Room Tip: only for true nature lovers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philipp s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We had left all the arrangements for our 2 day trip to Chiang Rai to our guide ,Na, who never disappointed us. After a wonderful day at the Thai/Burma border wandering around the most amazing street markets we'd ever seen , Na drove us to this beautiful little gem, set behind rustic gates and a winding path near a small lake.
The first surprise was our bure, a classic bamboo cabin in a secluded grove of coconut palms.
Inside was our king size mattress set upon a raised sleeping platform with mosquito net overhead. Our bathroom with flushing loo was outside,,semi roofed, and walled with a pretty tree growing in the shower space. There was even a full sized bath!
The walls of our bure were open to the elements, apart from good netting, so be warned , bring a sweater as it is chilly at night. There was no power after a certain time at night, but decent torches were supplied and there was always someone to guide us back to our bure after dinner
We had a beautifully prepared and presented meal in the outdoor restaurant that night and next morning a continental breakfast was included in the price.
This is an "Eco " Resort , so don't expect 5 *s. We loved it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

We spend 1 week in 2011 and the service was excellent on every point (room, food and tours), the place was under a french management. We came back this year and were very disappointed, food was BAD, staff unfriendly and nobody could offer us an interesting excursion !

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

We did not expect much of this place (reading the previous reviewes). Our stay here was quite short (4nights in total) due to other places we wanted to visit. Staff is friendly, if you are friendly. Food is good, although a bit expensive in comparison for how much you can each in the Chiang Rai. But word expensive applies only for thai prices, comparing prices to Europe or US this is still affordable, safe and natural place!
We were the only 2 foreigners in the hotel due to a local wedding - and this was very unique experience. We were invited to the event, which is unforgetable. Our concerns about partying wedding guests were false, and seems the guests were more concerned about not disturbing us.
Accomodation is very simple, almost like sleeping in the tent. Outdoor bathrooms are separated from the nature with a simple brick-wall, you feel the nature from the rest (bugs, birds, etc). Well none of these were going after us :-)
Airco is missing, but why if the nights are chilly and you are happy having a warm blanket?
If you look for safe, check first the wooden box under the bed - which you think is the stair to get up :-)
Do not bring/store any food here if you do not want to figt with ants for it!

Make yourself ready for the nature and you will enjoy it as we did.

The "resort" is remote and signs are not very good, you have to have quite good sense of directions to find this place (even taxi drivers do not know where it is). The best is to print the simple map (drawing) they have on the Naga hill web page. Forget about any other maps, they won't bring you there!
The best is to rent a car (we did it at the airport) to see the neighbourhood by yourself and not to be dependant on organized tours or taxis. Driving in this area is simple, safe and police is friendly and helping with directions (if they know :-)

Room Tip: they are no rooms, just "cottages" from wood and grass :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mxn399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Rai
5.2 mi away
Ben Guesthouse
Ben Guesthouse
#21 of 108 in Chiang Rai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bambuh Boutique Homestay
Bambuh Boutique Homestay
#2 of 161 in Chiang Rai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
3.3 mi away
Phowadol Resort and Spa
Phowadol Resort and Spa
#18 of 108 in Chiang Rai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Bura Resort
Bura Resort
#4 of 161 in Chiang Rai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.2 mi away
The DORM Chiangrai
The DORM Chiangrai
#43 of 137 in Chiang Rai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
2.2 mi away
Be One Resort
Be One Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Du
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naga Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naga Hill Resort

Property: Naga Hill Resort
Address: M. 8 Baan Pha-oo Tambon Bandou, Chiang Rai 57100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Naga Hill Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing